1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tsw 2020 Game Constant Crashing

Discussion in 'Technical Reports' started by nberneck99, Jun 28, 2020.

  1. nberneck99

    nberneck99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I recently bought TSW 2020 to play on a surface book 3 13.5".
    Here are the specs:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-1065G7 CPU @ 1.30GHz (8 CPUs), ~1.5GHz
    Memory: 32768MB RAM
    Display: 13.5" ยท 3000 x 2000p (267 ppi)
    Graphics: Intel Iris Plus Graphics, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650

    Whenever I launch the game, I am able to get around the main menus no problem, I can launch the scenarios and everything, walk around, interact, and set the trains up to run. The problems start whenever I try to move the trains, the game crashes to desktop. I can sometimes move 50 yards slowly but then it crashes, and I can run single locomotives without much issues for a short time. I have gone through the dovetail 10 step checklist but nothing helped, even running at 30fps, and the lowest graphic settings both in game and on the computer the issues still occur. I submitted a support ticket but I have yet to hear back, I was wondering if anyone on here might be able to help me find a solution?
     
  2. DTG Protagonist

    DTG Protagonist Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2020
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    1,033
    I'm moving your post over to the support forum, but please be aware that the support team are currently working through a backlog (we've been short-handed while recruiting a new support rep) so it may take a few days to get a response.
     
  3. Sintbert

    Sintbert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    287
    That CPU has a TDP of just 15 watt, the game might simply overheat it as soon as it has to do some real work.
    The games minimum required CPUs are all desktop CPUs that have 80 watt TDP or more.

    What you can try:
    - Update to newest Nvidia drivers.
    - Set the games resolution to 1920*1080 or less
    - Go down to minimum grafics settings in the game

    If that runs reliably, then you can step up the grafics piece by piece
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  4. nberneck99

    nberneck99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately even after doing all of that the game still crashes:/ drivers are updated, and the lowest resolution for the computer and game.
     
  5. longo239

    longo239 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2020
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    547
    I updated my nvidia drivers recently to the latest version and started getting random crashes which I had never had before. I've rolled them back to the previous version and not had a crash yet.

    Might be worth a try.
     
  6. nberneck99

    nberneck99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Turns out my drivers were not updated, but still no dice when I try to move any trains:/
     
  7. Tomas9970

    Tomas9970 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    480
    I think that the problem is your CPU clock speed. While the CPU is still pretty respectable in terms of all-core performance and it should be able to run the game just fine (I was playing with much worse and never had a problem other than framerate), the game surely needs some power on a single core, which your CPU can't provide.

    source:
    https://asteroidsathome.net/boinc/cpu_list.php

    You can also try physically cleaning your computer on the inside to see if that helps.
     
  8. nberneck99

    nberneck99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you, is there anything I can do to perhaps lower the speed or something to be able to make it run?
     
  9. Tomas9970

    Tomas9970 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    480
    I don't think you can lower the in-game speed but that's a good thought.
     
  10. nberneck99

    nberneck99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried lowering the clock speed to no avail, but I did locate the crash report. Every entry is the same:
    [CrashReportClient]
    bHideLogFilesOption=false
    bIsAllowedToCloseWithoutSending=true
    CrashConfigPurgeDays=2

    Does anyone know what this means?
     
  11. Tomas9970

    Tomas9970 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    480
    That's a config file. Not a log.

    Lowering the clock speed will only make the problem worse. I thought you were talking about the game speed.
     
  12. Sintbert

    Sintbert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    287
    That CPU clock of 1.30 GHz in your spec is the average speed your CPU can maintain with its cooling solution. That's massively below the required minimum of 3.50 GHz from the games spec.
    I see no solution to get this to work on your device.
     

Share This Page