Tsw2 - Coal Loading With C40-8w - Shaw Mine

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by fr740385, Dec 10, 2020.

  1. fr740385

    fr740385 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello!
    This part is not well documented.
    Please tell me the parameters to apply (speed and power) to allow the C40-8W to load the carriages correctly?
    Thanks
     
  2. Callum B.

    Callum B. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    1,995
    About 2 mph, so around notch 1 or 2 depending on the train weight and motive power.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Lamplight

    Lamplight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    2,327
    Likes Received:
    3,744
    The coal loading tutorial for SPG with the AC4400CW tells you that you should go around 2mph.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Matto140

    Matto140 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2017
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    785
    According to my experience coal loading work well (100%) up to 1,7mph.
    In higher speed you load 99% and less, (92% at 2,7mph).
    Instruction is done when you load at least 75% so in gameplay you can pass requirement even in higher speed (guess up to 5mph).
     
  5. padgett737

    padgett737 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    I would like to add a comment about the level of coal needed in the hopper to count towards the goal. When they fixed N542-A to work, it changed the level of coal required in the goal to 100% full on each car. I know that the run I'm talking about is different than the original post was referring to, but I thought it was worth a mention.
     
  6. fr740385

    fr740385 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thank you for your feedback
    If I understood you correctly, the success of the mission depends on the filling rate of the hoppers. Ideally 100% obtained with a speed of 1.7 mph (+ - 2.7 km / h)
    On the AC4400CW there is an automatic cruise control but not on the C40-8W. So this must be regulated manually using the independent brake, which is not easy.
    Is there another more suitable way to achieve this?
     
  7. Lamplight

    Lamplight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    2,327
    Likes Received:
    3,744
    Gentle throttle and dynamic break application worked just fine for me. I even followed the 10 sec rule and it worked fine so I‘d suggest that.
     
  8. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    3,505
    Likes Received:
    4,097
    10 second rule?
     
  9. LeadCatcher

    LeadCatcher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    3,132
    Not to be confused with the 5 sec rule for dropped food. (Sorry, early morning - couldn’t resist.....:) )
     
    • Like Like x 3
  10. ht-57

    ht-57 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2018
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    53
    @Antony
    IRL when going from throttle to dyno's your supposed to leave in "setup" mode for 10 sec to allow the circuitry to switch your traction motors to generators- IE become brakes.
    IRL dyno's wouldn't be used in this situation as the speed is to low.
    For myself in this situation an effective method is lite throttle when needed + tapping independent to cntrl speed as there is no delay in braking and you don't have to worry about wearing brake shoes.
    But I digress an in tsw2 land whatever gets the job done for you!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. geloxo

    geloxo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2018
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    1,340
    You can also use the independent brake (locomotive brake) in these cases to fine tune the speed as it´s very fast to apply/release. Can be used in combination with train brakes, with dynamic brake or alone. But remember it´s only applied on the locomotive so don´t force it to much, specially on heavy loaded trains, as it´s only intended to get a small reduction on the speed.

    Cheers
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2020
  12. Lamplight

    Lamplight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    2,327
    Likes Received:
    3,744
    Thanks for explaining. That‘s exactly what I ment.
    Would you happen to know whether the independent brake would be used for this in real life? I thought it might be problematic in terms of slack which is why I didn‘t use it. I‘d obviously like to play as realistically as possible so this would be useful to know.
     
  13. ht-57

    ht-57 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2018
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    53
    Lamplight
    So I asked the question "If you do not have an engine that has "speed control", How do you control the speed while loading at a coal tipple?" to actual engineers and this is the response I received-
    -Air it up and shove that sucker (or pull, as the case may be). Or just set enough hand brakes to keep the speed down-

    So I will be trying that for sure as you can set a few handbrakes for sure. But, don't recall if you can make a 3 or five pound set in the CW44-8 as
    "I thought" in TSW2 a minimum set on that unit was 10 pounds on the train brake. which may be a bit much to shove against, especially after it starts getting deep into the consist. I will have to go home and check that one out later and see how it works in the sim.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  14. Lamplight

    Lamplight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    2,327
    Likes Received:
    3,744
    Thanks for your dedication. It‘s always interesting to learn what‘s done in real life from real engineers.
     

Share This Page