Why No Atp?

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by Scorpion71, Feb 8, 2022.

  1. Scorpion71

    Scorpion71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    1,244
    Simple question.

    Why can't we have ATP (Automatic Train Protection) scripted for the HST in the future preservation update of GWE? The German loco's have most of their safety systems simulated which are a joy to drive with but why are we not getting one more safety system added to the HST?
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2022
    • Like Like x 2
  2. meridian#2659

    meridian#2659 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2021
    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    1,950
    In my opinion instead now "ductape" a primitive ATP together, it would be better as a separate developed system in a loco dlc as the cl.370 or another atp prototype.

    This way it could still ported over to the hst when its ready.
     
  3. Clumsy Pacer

    Clumsy Pacer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2,928
    Likes Received:
    3,910
    To add ATP (which actually stands for Automatic Train Protection) would likely require significant reworking of the signalling of GWE, and development of the ATP system - it's really not comparable to them retrofitting LZB to the older German trains, where the tech is already there - I think in all cases it doesn't even work anyway.
     
  4. Scorpion71

    Scorpion71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    1,244
    Edited my post, got my 'A' in APT and ATP mixed a bit. :D

    Where you say it would require significant reworking of signalling and development of ATP system, fair enough, however, I do remember when they originally previewed GWE release, Matt did say on stream "ATP just missed release"
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2022
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Clumsy Pacer

    Clumsy Pacer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2,928
    Likes Received:
    3,910
    The 370 was never fitted with ATP. The Chiltern Main Line and the GWML to Bristol are the only railways that were fitted with ATP, and thus only the trains that run on them (ie GWR's Turbos, Electrostars, HSTs and IETs; and all of Chiltern's units). I think the ATP systems are different between the CML and GWML as well.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. meridian#2659

    meridian#2659 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2021
    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    1,950
    Might be, so they ment apt as the advanced passenger train with the tilting in case of the 370. It was mentioned many times that passengers got sick because of that.
     
  7. roysto25

    roysto25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    285
    As a note, AP expanded pack for the HST in TS does have a version of ATP - however, only speed control was implemented because of issues with integration with the signal system in TS. Nevertheless, even the limited version increases immersion - no reason why DTG cannot implement the same limited version in TSW2 - of course, it will generate the usual howls about inaccuracies in implementation from the usual suspects - you know who you are!
     
  8. Scorpion71

    Scorpion71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    1,244
    Yep, even a limited version as per AP's version would be enough to be getting on with. I'd be happy with that
     
  9. RobSkip

    RobSkip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    488
    Only HST, IET and some Chiltern units have ATP.
     
  10. jamesthepershing

    jamesthepershing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2019
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    169
    Class 370s didn't have ATP. Only AWS and C-APT.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  11. meridian#2659

    meridian#2659 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2021
    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    1,950
    Somebody else mentioned it already. Confused it with advanced passenger train
     
  12. Matthew Wilson

    Matthew Wilson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    278
    All Chiltern units have ATP, now that Chiltern have dispensed with the Class 172s via a sub-lease. I'm not sure personally if it's worth implementing in TS, for two main reasons - 1. Two different trial systems of ATP exist. 2. It would require a huge amount of writing of scripts and possibly signalling to be compatible, which would mean a route edit etc. When Chiltern are on the way to removing and replacing with TPWSv4 it just seems a waste of time versus the resultant feature(s).
     
  13. Clumsy Pacer

    Clumsy Pacer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2,928
    Likes Received:
    3,910
    Is ATP on the Aylesbury line as well or is it just the mainline?
     
  14. RobSkip

    RobSkip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    488
    Thought the 168/3s didn't have it?
     
  15. Matthew Wilson

    Matthew Wilson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    278
    Apologies, yes, as the 168/3s are TPWSv4 fitted they didn't need a retrofit of the ATP. It's been a tiring month :-D
     
  16. Matthew Wilson

    Matthew Wilson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    278
    No, mainly on account of it being shared with the Met Line LUL lines. ATP fitment is Marylebone to Aynho Junction only.
     

Share This Page