The Bnsf Situation?

Discussion in 'TSW General Discussion' started by Monder, Dec 1, 2020.

1. Monder

Monder Well-Known Member

A recent discussion in a different thread (ironically one about TGV) has brought back the topic of BNSF and their licensing policy. It is known that this company isn't providing licences outside the US (and Canada if I'm not mistaken), therefore their routes are not happening in TSW2.
    [​IMG]
    This also applies to all routes merged into what now is BNSF. It has however been discussed that the reason for this is actually the fact BNSF does not own right for their own trademark outside the US meaning people shouldn't in any way be punished for use of the logos outside the US (bear in mind I am no lawyer, so don't just run out and create your own railroad company with these logos in Asia :D ).

This made me think what exactly is the problem with BNSF licensing. It has always been mentioned they only license products sold in the US... well... that's all they CAN license. Outside it supposedly can just be made no problem if this is true. Here's where I'd like to get someone from DTG to give us a more detailed insight than normally. Tell us what the situation is with these products. There are many amazing routes being simply ruled out because of the license problem, that according to this information might not even be a problem. Granted BNSF could just walk in saying "oh you want to sell this worldwide? No US license for you then" blocking probably the biggest customer base for such DLCs. That's why I'd like to know from someone close to the discussion. In the end, it would still be advertising even for them with very little effort, and many fans would be more than thrilled seeing Tehachapi or Racetrack in TSW.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

• Like Like x 6
  2. Mattty May

Mattty May Guest

I would suspect this is privileged information and not something that DTG can openly discuss in a public forum.

• Like Like x 10
    • Helpful Helpful x 1