Class 314 - Poor Internal Sound Mixing?

Discussion in 'TSW General Discussion' started by londonmidland, Jun 20, 2021.

?
  1. Yes

59 vote(s)
    81.9%
  2. No

13 vote(s)
    18.1%
  1. londonmidland

londonmidland Well-Known Member

Hi all,

I’m currently having a lot of fun playing Glasgow Cathcart Circle and driving the 314, however does anyone think the interior and cab sounds are really poorly set up?

When the cab window is closed, the 314 is literally silent. Now I’m no train engineer, however a unit of that age would not be that well insulted, especially at speed. Opening the window partially resolves that issue, but you are then faced with the wind noise, which drowns the motor sounds out.

Another issue when in the cab is that the wipers are ridiculously loud, on both slow and fast settings. This makes it near impossible for me to enjoy a run in the rain, as all I can hear is the squeaky wipers.

Finally, like with most trains in TSW, why does the horn sound so flat, with no echo? It sounds brilliant when in Glasgow Central, with the reverb and echo, but why wasn’t the horn set up like this outside of the station? I’m pretty sure UE4 provides the option for you, so you don’t have to edit it manually?

The external sounds are nicely done, but these sounds should really be audible from the cab and interior. Both are far too well insulated, with the sounds muffled too much.

• Like Like x 12
  2. Tonto62

Tonto62 Well-Known Member

The horns on just about everything would benefit from a bit of reverb. The 101 for example sounds pretty bad but in the trainshed at Paddington, the reverb actually makes it sound almost decent.

• Like Like x 5
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  3. Cyklisten

Cyklisten Well-Known Member

My favorite horn is probably TGV and F7 at second place. Agree that the sounds inside 314 could be louder, the same with Bakerloo...

Last edited: Jun 20, 2021
    • Like Like x 1
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  4. tschlossjohnson