Answers For Matt (editor Tools)

Discussion in 'TSW General Discussion' started by Rudolf, Dec 26, 2018.

1. Rudolf

Rudolf Well-Known Member

During the twitch preview demo of the editor, Matt asked for feedback and had a lot of questions for us. I did not see much discussion on this topic yet. Maybe because it was not formally announced and maybe the subject is a bit tough to watch a 2 hour video.

1. General comment.

One word: Awesome. It's word that is much abused, but I rarely use it.
    Being an experienced scenario developer, I was not not really surprised by what I have seen. Much of it has been done in game already.

2. Service mode.
    I am happy Matt told us work will be done to allow more than one service mode for a specific route. I think Service mode is one of the major innovations in TSW. I can imagine separate services for different days in game, e.g. for WSR we may just now create a real Diesel day, using assets from the Trans Pennine route, or a very dull day with one train running. The best example of using service mode are the freight services in the NEC route, because they tell something like a continuous story where you can enter or leave as you like, or just find a nice place and time and watch the activities.

I think, users asking for this lightly under estimate the planning it requires to create a really good service mode. Let's not talk about the testing effort. I hope there will be a tutorial based on the DTG experience with this subject. I believe a planning tool may be helpful here and I will consider creating such a tool.
    A last comment, there is no need to let service mode span the full 24 hours, a service mode covering one or two hours can be nice as well.

Note, maybe we cannot add service modes, but it may be possible to replace a service mode, just in the we now can replace liveries. I am not sure about the impact this may have on total gameplay, but I definitely will try and see if I can get this working.