1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1972 Stock Safety Functions

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by olsbyn, Aug 27, 2020.

  1. olsbyn

    olsbyn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    47
    I'm wondering if there are any safety functions on the 1972 stock and how to enable them, something like DVD/Sifa or similar ?
     
  2. Northerner

    Northerner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    297
    There aren't any safety systems on them other than the dead man's handle. London Underground trains have tripcocks which stop the train if they pass a red signal which means other safety systems aren't needed.
     
  3. lewisthomas22

    lewisthomas22 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    52
    I believe there are draw up signals. Where you have to approach them at a certain speeds or the turn red. (something like that) But this is not simulated in TSW2 at the moment.
     
  4. Northerner

    Northerner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    297
    Yeah sorry I oversimplified the systems in place. At terminus stations there's also 'Moorgate protection' that prevent the train from going too fast into the platform by activating the tripcock on the train. Essentially the tripcock system prevents a train coming into contact with another train.
     
  5. lewisthomas22

    lewisthomas22 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    52
    Shame their not in the game
     
  6. Northerner

    Northerner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    297
    It is, I suppose they might be hard to simulate. I have noticed that tripcocks are modelled next to signals though.
     
  7. olsbyn

    olsbyn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    47
    And this has no function in the game, I have seen you can press it, but there is nothing that prompts you to press it every so often ?
     
  8. matjamca

    matjamca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Messages:
    1,489
    Likes Received:
    1,951
    Unless you specifically press it to disengage the dead mans handle, the game automatically assumes you are keeping the handle pressed down.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. olsbyn

    olsbyn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    47
    Ah right, now I follow, in some TS locomotives it's called a deadman's switch even if you use it with DVD or equivalents, if I understand correct this one is kept pressed down, and if it's not then the train will brake, in RL that is ?
     
  10. Northerner

    Northerner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    297
    Yeah, in real life, the driver needs to keep constant pressure on the handle otherwise the brakes will apply.
     
  11. HappyBasher

    HappyBasher Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    42
    When you "look at" the controller handle, you also sometimes see "Deadmans handle", and if you click then the emergency brakes apply. So I guess the original intention was to have an option that you do have to drive holding down a certain key or button for the duration of the trip (or at least between the stations!) but this didn't make it into the final cut!

    You do notice when you stop in brake step (ep min) or whatever the first one is, that the handle lifts and it beeps at you!
     

Share This Page