Ai Of Train Sim World 3

Discussion in 'TSW General Discussion' started by Funky Driver, Nov 8, 2022.

1. Funky Driver

Funky Driver New Member

I started playing Train Sim World 3 a couple of weeks ago, and the game looks amazing. However, my enthusiasm somewhat faded when I started making my own scenarios via the Creator facility and found some shortcomings, to the point that I am wondering if the "AI" is just a script followed by services that are not controlled by users.

For example, I tried to build a scenario on the Koln-Aachen route (very interesting as it includes a long stretch of PZB-only signalling with several stations that have bypassing tracks) and the first thing I noticed is that eastbound (Aachen-Koln) user-created services at one point take a turn into a platform. This causes the maximum permitted speed to drop to 80km/h and shows an issue with the built-in planner.

The most concerning factor however is that the game doesn't seem to use any decision-making capabilities. For example, when an autonomous stopping passenger service precedes a user-controlled non-stopping passenger service and the former pulls into a station, the latter finds a red signal and is required to give priority to the stopping service, which will then create a similar situation again down the line.

In another scenario that I was trying to create in the Kassel high-speed route, I realised that any trains scheduled to depart before a user-controlled service are not spawned in the game. Also, in one of my experiments I found myself stuck at a red signal just before a junction between Wurzburg and Fulda while another system-controlled service was stuck at the other end of the junction. Prior to reaching the red signal, the LZB limited the speed of my train to 200km/h (instead of the typical 250km/h), which I wonder if it was caused by some "ghost" trains scheduled to depart earlier than the time of departure of my user-controlled service.