Bergensbanen In Norway

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by elatn, May 26, 2024.

  1. elatn

    elatn Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    172
    This thread is about the terrain graphics colour on the Bergensbanen route in the game, if you want to go to The Bergen Line/Bergensbanen route in Train Simulator for download, please go to the Swedish train sim forums here instead:
    Bergensbanen download: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/4zhdadfdx0rsu7n/AADwnkWn2Wqjbr4YiIgfGFaxa?e=1&dl=0)
    Swedish train sim forums Bergensbanen thread: http://www.e-buzz.se/forum/showthread.php?t=35239

    20240401111822_1.jpg

    Hello.
    I just wonder if someone know how I can change the distant shadows/graphics from brown to blue, because this brown "fog" doesn't look natural. This color only appears while using original Dovetail Games 3D weather.
    20240526100918_1.jpg
    20220521104632_1.jpg

    20240608221814_1.jpg

    Best regards,
    "Elatn"
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2024 at 5:29 PM
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Spikee1975

    Spikee1975 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2023
    Messages:
    4,291
    Likes Received:
    6,232
    Don't use 3D weather in that case. This is no fog, it's just the terrain colour. You can paint the terrain if you like to. Or adjust / make new SL weather blueprints and add fog.

    And TSC is a driver's eye simulator - not really a flightsim to view terrain from above :)

    Use AP Sky & Weather Enhancement Pack for the best experience.
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2024
  3. elatn

    elatn Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    172
    It looks like this while driving. Maybe it is possible to change the color in the blueprint? I will check out AP weather mod.
    20240526110447_1.jpg
     
  4. Spikee1975

    Spikee1975 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2023
    Messages:
    4,291
    Likes Received:
    6,232
    Not that easy. This simulates clear weather with fair clouds, without fog. All it does is expose the untextured terrain. It's "3D 2. Cloudy". Disable Dynamic Clouds in the menu and see if the difference suits you better.

    What you are seeing is simple untextured terrain. Add textures, trees, etc. Or use a 2D weather with fog.

    Again, I can only suggest to install the AP sky pack, it's taking the old sim to a new level.

    Where is that exactly? Bernina?

    AP High Clouds
    2024-05-26 11_17_51-Train Simulator (x64).png
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2024
  5. elatn

    elatn Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    172
    I forgot to mention that I set the scenario weather at "3D 2. Cloudy". There is no fog, just the distant terrain colour. However, the terrain is actually painted/coloured by the route maker. But this color appears on all routes in TSC. The route goes over a mountain plateau, and that is why you don't see any trees along the line.

    This route is the Bergen Line/Bergensbanen in Norway from Bergen to Hønefoss. This picture is from Myrdal station on the Bergensbanen where the famous Flåm Railway is located. I repainted the Re 460 locomotive from TrainworX to a Norwegian EL18 locomotive. 20240526111528_1.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Spikee1975

    Spikee1975 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2023
    Messages:
    4,291
    Likes Received:
    6,232
    Bra! I've travelled there often (car and tent :D )

    AP solves your issues, by adding nice distant mist/fog.

    The 3D weather relies on well textured terrain. It's advantage is the sun is correct in relation to the scenario date and latitude, and you'll have midnight sun in Norway. Only 3D weather can do this.

    If you want to stick with it, open a SL blueprint and make changes, it's pretty much self explaining. (Though I have not fiddled with it, only looked at the blueprints. You can copy one (Kuju\RailSimulatorCore\Weather\SL_xyz.bin), give it a new filename and DisplayName, and adjust fog parameters).

    AP Fair Cloud
    2024-05-26 11_25_10-Train Simulator (x64).png
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2024
  7. triznya.andras

    triznya.andras Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2019
    Messages:
    1,956
    Likes Received:
    2,312
    To generalize what Spikee said...
    • Most 2D weathers have some level of haze or fog, which does paint distant scenery. Both default and AP.
      That's why he suggested to turn off Dynamic Clouds, QD will then fall back to one of those weathers.
      But it's not necessary as you can change the weather in a scenario (by editing it), too.
    • I agree that 3D weather should ideally include some haze as well.
      I suppose the idea is to show off distant mountain peaks (covered by snow or other color transition), but it doesn't actually.
      Or, at least, I have never seen it. Distant scenery is simply drawn using a fixed color.
      I mean, at least it's not black! :D
     
  8. Spikee1975

    Spikee1975 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2023
    Messages:
    4,291
    Likes Received:
    6,232
    Incidentally, Bergensbanen is the only route I'm having trouble with. It freezes my sim sometimes. As it's using an awful lot of Providers, needs some tracking...

    elatn Can you point me to a download link for the route? My version I got years ago just doesn't seem to work. I can fly around in World Editor - but not enter a scenario. I am also missing the route markers.
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2024
  9. elatn

    elatn Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    172
    Spikee1975 Bergensbanen is made by the Swedish user "Totte", and yes, there is a lot of assets you need. Here is he's Dropbox where Bergensbanen route and assets are located.

    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/4zhdadfdx0rsu7n/AAAbS7c65jo6idLNp5BCSZbEa/Bergensbanen 4?dl=0&subfolder_nav_tracking=1

    You need to download both the route and the assets, Bergensbanen240227.rwp and Bergensbanen_Assets.rwp files. These two files should make the route work. However, the route only works in 32 bit Train Simulator.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. Spikee1975

    Spikee1975 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2023
    Messages:
    4,291
    Likes Received:
    6,232
    That is due to signal scripts then. One thing I found and do not like is that the shapes and script folders are named @shapes, @scripts. It's always a good thing to avoid any special characters in folders or filenames. Stuff like that might bite you in the back years later. Stick to UNIX 7-bit ASCII for game files.

    Thank you!
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2024
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Spikee1975

    Spikee1975 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2023
    Messages:
    4,291
    Likes Received:
    6,232
    This is weird. This way, the model can't be loaded.
    1.png
     
  12. Spikee1975

    Spikee1975 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2023
    Messages:
    4,291
    Likes Received:
    6,232
    Finally. Velkommen til Myrdal

    2024-05-26 13_45_51-Train Simulator.png
    2024-05-26 13_48_34-Train Simulator.png

    AP High Cloud (Mist Medium)
    2024-05-26 13_50_03-Train Simulator.png

    So if you can bear with the fact that 2D / AP weather cannot handle midnight sun (sunset is always exactly in the west, you'll never have it in the North as IRL...) for daylight scenarios, the AP misty weather is quite good for covering up the bare low res terrain - which should have vegetation!

    RL:
    111.jpg

    I will make a custom 3D weather blueprint that's has cumulus clouds and a bit of distant fog. Put that into Kuju\RailSimulatorCore\Weather and it's available for all routes. Try different fogEnd values so it looks nicely.
    2024-05-26 14_53_03-.png
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2024
    • Like Like x 1
  13. BeenTrain

    BeenTrain Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    74
    Works only 32bit? That explaines that I could not get it to work!
    Will give it another go in 32bit!
     
  14. Spikee1975

    Spikee1975 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2023
    Messages:
    4,291
    Likes Received:
    6,232
    It works in 32bit. Hard to pinpoint which script is responsible due to the mass of providers. Some script fails to Initialise, the same way as Rick Grout's BNSF scripts which were patched.

    We have some script debugging command line parameters, but I've not the time (or full Lua knowledge) to do that now. Unfortunately, the devs kept quiet what actually was the mistake in the Luas so they failed in 64bit.

    But then - if it works in 32bit that's fine by me!

    Though my ambition is to get it fixed someday (and enhance vegetation using VP pack). By moving it to an empty installation - adding each required asset pack step by step and check - until I find the one that crashes / freezes. Then find a replacement or repair that asset.

    I know this area well in real life, many bright nights spent at nearby Tvindefoss (a bit north of Voss) camping, so the route is a gift for me :). So I'm trying to make a good 3D weather blueprint for proper midnight sun experience :D Tuning in to NRK P13 or Urørt while doing so. P3 had that great show "Tinnitus" years ago... its target audience has shifted now, almost playing A, B and C-list all day.
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2024
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Spikee1975

    Spikee1975 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2023
    Messages:
    4,291
    Likes Received:
    6,232
    This is the beginning of my test.

    A separate installation (which starts quickly) with only core assets (ELAP+USLAP). Will add asset folders one after another.

    Initially, route works in 64bit.
    2024-05-26 15_38_19-Train Simulator (x64).png

    Added newS and Acorn, no freeze yet
    2024-05-26 15_48_44-Train Simulator (x64).png
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2024
  16. Spikee1975

    Spikee1975 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2023
    Messages:
    4,291
    Likes Received:
    6,232
    Still working so far, these assets already tested
    123.png
    2024-05-26 15_54_45-Steam.png

    elatn Could you change the thread title to "Bergensbanen"? Thx
     
    • Like Like x 3
  17. BeenTrain

    BeenTrain Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    74
    upload_2024-5-26_16-17-30.png

    Yes it is working for me in 32bit!
    Spikee1975 Thanks for your effort figuring out the issue on 64 bit!
     
  18. Spikee1975

    Spikee1975 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2023
    Messages:
    4,291
    Likes Received:
    6,232
    So this is with everything installed from the asset pack. No crash. These assets that are provided with the route seem to be fine. (Except for the pawerybs assets, only xml. I had these anyway)

    Now adding the other requirements. I see Brendan\IrishRail. Got these.

    2024-05-26 16_17_17-Steam.png
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2024
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Spikee1975

    Spikee1975 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2023
    Messages:
    4,291
    Likes Received:
    6,232
    Does anyone have a link to this?

    dodowvogel\Stationsobjekten

    OK. There's assets that are not defined in the RouteProperties. For example StevensPass. Not preloading assets (not ticked in World Editor) could crash the game. Getting closer.
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2024
  20. elatn

    elatn Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    172
  21. BeenTrain

    BeenTrain Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    74
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  22. Spikee1975

    Spikee1975 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2023
    Messages:
    4,291
    Likes Received:
    6,232
    What the? Is this a closed community?

    2024-05-26 17_15_43-Sorry, you do not have permission for that! – Mozilla Firefox.png

    Any other source?
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2024
  23. BeenTrain

    BeenTrain Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    74
    Strange, is not a closed community.
     
  24. Spikee1975

    Spikee1975 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2023
    Messages:
    4,291
    Likes Received:
    6,232
    So - it runs in 64bit on a separate build, all req'd assets installed. (apart from dodowvogel and SJEF that I don't have)

    Now figure out why it won't run on my full install. (which has additional assets in some of the used freeware folders, so we need to find the bad guy.)

    The route itself is NOT the problem

    2024-05-26 17_44_03-Steam.png
     
    • Like Like x 1
  25. triznya.andras

    triznya.andras Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2019
    Messages:
    1,956
    Likes Received:
    2,312
    Either those additional assets, or...
    We had this discussion about Rascal & Cottonwood, disagreeing on which weather it uses and why...
    Might be similar to that. Might be worth setting up a file access monitor and logging the reads. (Windows Resource Monitor shows them but it's not trivial, especially to copy out.) Heck, if you can log, you can compare what the two installs do.
    Passive debugging technique. :)

    Of course triaging - copying stuff over and waiting for the crash - works, too, if that's faster.
     
  26. Spikee1975

    Spikee1975 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2023
    Messages:
    4,291
    Likes Received:
    6,232
    I will find out.

    My strategy now is to rename all Asset folders on my main installation except for the ones the route is using (just putting an underscore in front of the folders). Then I can find out if there's a baddie that gets loaded from somewhere else.
     
  27. Oystein

    Oystein Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    293
  28. Spikee1975

    Spikee1975 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2023
    Messages:
    4,291
    Likes Received:
    6,232
    Hmm. Like I have elaborated above, I've got it running on a clean install using only the required assets.

    I've found TSTools reporting some providers which were not active, and have added them. I suspect there's still more to find. Something that is not present on my test installation, and not declared in the RouteProperties.

    Runs in 64bit
    1.png
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2024
  29. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    8,660
    Likes Received:
    2,778
    Just needs a train
    IMG_5242.JPG July 2009

    But we don't have an EL17 in TSC
    So - May 2015
    IMG_1484.JPG
     
    • Like Like x 2
  30. SummerADDE

    SummerADDE New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2023
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    13
    Hi! It would be nice if you could take a closer look at Trollhättan too, since that also is only limited to 32-bit.
     
  31. Spikee1975

    Spikee1975 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2023
    Messages:
    4,291
    Likes Received:
    6,232
    Finding the exact cause will probably solve the Trollhättan issues at the same time.

    At the moment, I enjoy playing and taking a break from bugfixing.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  32. USRailFan

    USRailFan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    132
    The bottom one isn't actually a Flåmsbanen train though... While they did switch to silver-liveried El18s (and still operate those) they still use the green-liveried coaches from the photo with the El17s
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2024
  33. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    8,660
    Likes Received:
    2,778
    The thread is about the Bergensbanen and the EL18 2258 in the lower picture is a train from Oslo to Bergen.
    Spikee1975's picture in post #12 is at Myrdal and my Flamsbanen train is also at MyrdaL

    When I visited in 2009 the EL17s were still in service with 4 on the branch top and tail with 6 coaches each
    https://peter749.piwigo.com/index?/category/42-norwegian_railways_2009_2015
    By the time I visited again in 2015 the EL17s had been replaced by EL18s.

    I have no idea if any EL17s are still in service.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  34. pasictarik10

    pasictarik10 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    21
    Hi sorry if this is off-topic but where did you get this Vy repaint, is it your own work? :) I've been trying for months to get someone to do this repaint.
     
  35. USRailFan

    USRailFan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    132
    They are not, they were kept as spares for a few years, but retired in 2016.
    (The El17 was meant to be a pretty much identical copy of the German BR120, but the weight had to be reduced so much, that other/lighter components had to be used, and as such the locos never were as successful as they possibly could have been)
     
  36. USRailFan

    USRailFan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    132
    Last edited: May 30, 2024
  37. pasictarik10

    pasictarik10 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    21
    It's a matter of angle and lighting, it's still well done regardless and I'd like to know where he got it.
     
  38. triznya.andras

    triznya.andras Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2019
    Messages:
    1,956
    Likes Received:
    2,312
    You even quoted that it's done by himself :)
    There is a habit in TSC to model gray stuff a few levels brighter, for - default shaders at least - aren't particularly reflective, and that plays a big role in real life. Most obvious with Amfleets and a few other stainless steel stock which is in reality mid-gray, but when someone models so - an Australian guy recently - it feels odd. You can observe the same with PRR, NS and SP engine paints.
     
  39. pasictarik10

    pasictarik10 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    21
    I don't know who did the repaint, that's what I want to know and whether it will be made public or not.
     
  40. triznya.andras

    triznya.andras Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2019
    Messages:
    1,956
    Likes Received:
    2,312
    The answer:
    The part still open:
     
  41. elatn

    elatn Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    172
    I will release the repaints at Trainsimcommunity, waiting for approval. Will leave a link as soon as it is approved.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  42. elatn

    elatn Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    172
    • Like Like x 3
  43. elatn

    elatn Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    172
    • Like Like x 3
  44. pasictarik10

    pasictarik10 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    21
    Thank you so much!!! Looking forward to trying out the new green Vy coaches too. Good luck with your issues and thank you for your interest in Norwegian railways :)
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2024
  45. USRailFan

    USRailFan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    132
    He is Norwegian ;)
     
  46. pasictarik10

    pasictarik10 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    21
    Ah well either way this is appreciated, Norway has a lot of potential when it comes to being including in TSC yet there is barely any content from there.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  47. FallenFlags

    FallenFlags New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2023
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    5
    Last edited: May 31, 2024
  48. FallenFlags

    FallenFlags New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2023
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    5
    Flåm 2009
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  49. USRailFan

    USRailFan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    132
    That would've been the Norwegian Railway Club's charter train. Likely one of the El11s that was upgraded specifically for the Flåmsbana in the 80s? Can't recall if they used an El18 on the rear as well
     
  50. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    8,660
    Likes Received:
    2,778
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page