1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Class 221 Throttle

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by chuckmiddleton, Feb 3, 2019.

  1. chuckmiddleton

    chuckmiddleton New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good Morning,

    I have recently purchased this game and have been driving on the North Wales Coastal route.

    In this game the throttle in the class 221 is notched. Whenever I try to maintain a specific speed I keep having to alternate between idle and notch 1 which is very tiresome.

    I could not believe the real units work in this way. Indeed, I have done lengthy trips on the class 220 and 221 and I never observed the engines alternating between idle and a power setting. Once at cruising speed the engines do seem to stay at the same RPM.

    I happened across a driver of a class 221 the other day and questioned them on this topic. They informed me that the throttle is not notched in real life. It has notch markings to allow the driver to select an equivalent of e.g. notch 2 for starting in specific conditions. However, there are no actual notches which allow a precise power setting to be set and will most certainly avoid what I mentioned above whereby I need to alternate between idle and notch 1 continuously.

    At present I feel that this game is unplayable with using the class 221.

    I welcome your thoughts on this matter.

    Kind regards.
     
  2. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    877
    There are a great many units where "feathering" between power notches is a requirement in game, but the 221 is quite annoying for this. I am sure I've seen a patch for it somewhere but not sure if it was the DTG version or the JT version
     
  3. chuckmiddleton

    chuckmiddleton New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Indeed. I cannot believe this factor was "missed" during development.

    I've done a quick google search for the patch but did not find anything conclusive.

    I would be grateful if you have any more information on this.

    Kind regards.
     
  4. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    803
    Likes Received:
    336
    Various functions that are available on a real world train are not always available in the game.
    The Developers have to make a decision as to what features to include.

    German rolling stock generally have Speed set Controls but not all UK Trains do.

    Peter
     
  5. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    877
    I can... I would imagine the unit cab was copied from something else and this bit was then missed over time
     
  6. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    803
    Likes Received:
    336
    Why, which other train do you think the cab was copied from that Had a speed set?
    Even the Just Trains version does not have Speed set

    Just because DTG did not include it does not mean it was there to include

    Peter
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  7. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    877
    I was talking about notched power, hence not quoting you
     
  8. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    803
    Likes Received:
    336
    My Bad - Sorry.
     
  9. chuckmiddleton

    chuckmiddleton New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I have stopped playing the game for now due to this problem.
    I bought this game on the premise of driving the class 221 on the North Wales coastal route.
    I guess there is no guarantee that it should be accurately modelled, but the throttle is such a central part of driving the train I think it's reasonable to expect that this is correct.
    It is just way too annoying to try and maintain speeds by changing between idle and notch 1.
     
  10. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    803
    Likes Received:
    336
    You mean like a Real Train Driver?
     

Share This Page