1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Class 52 And Notched Throttle + Derailing.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Pad, May 2, 2019.

  1. Pad

    Pad New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi,
    Any news on having a throttle that does not have notches? It's all a bit "My First Train by Fisher Price" at the moment.
    Also, the only time I've ever had a derailment was a game engine fail. I would like to fall off the rails and fail for going too fast please. What is the use of "simulating" a train if there is no penalty for diving at 300% of the line speed?
    MS Train Sim had a max speed of the slowest wagon in the consist. It had physics that handled the couplers on wagons. Driving a train "felt" like you were pulling a few thousand tons of wagons. That was 17 years ago. TSW is like a Scalextric version of formula one.
     
    • Downvote Downvote x 5
  2. TrainSim-Matt

    TrainSim-Matt Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    617
    I just double checked on a PS4 here - The 52 doesn't have a notched throttle, it's infinitely variable. It is expressed on the HUD in tenth's but in fact if you look at the indicators showing up on the top right (assuming you have hud visible) you'll see you are controlling its percentage directly.

    Matt.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  3. LeadCatcher

    LeadCatcher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    708
    Many British diesels have throttles - not notched controllers -- there is a big difference - controllers has set steps where as throttles have free movement over the full range. So if you are going to complain about something not being realistic please ensure you know what the feature is suppose to be.

    As has been discussed in many threads, most licensees do not want to see their brands depicted in an unfavorable light so depictions of wrecks and or damage is not implemented -- what they should do is just pop-up a screen stated you exceed the limit and end the scenario or service. of course that wouldn't satisfy many, but would show the adherence to the physics.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 3
  4. Schnauzahpowahz

    Schnauzahpowahz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    779
    Some locos will absolutely derail approching a junction or switch too fast - I believe there's an option in menu

    Ive also ran into a trash car by accident in a gp38 on NEC and it pushed the car aside and the gp38 got smacked on its side next to the track
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  5. KiwiLE

    KiwiLE Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    162
    Why would you even want to derail? That just shows you aren't capable of ever driving a train.
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2019
    • Downvote Downvote x 2
    • Upvote Upvote x 1

Share This Page