1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Concerns About 4.26 Unreal Engine/rush Hour Upgrade.

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by daveking8, Jun 30, 2021.

  1. daveking8

    daveking8 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    11
    Having watched last nights Roadmap, I am rather concerned about the size of the download. I have 180Gb of DLC for Train Sim World 2. Will the 'tens of Gigabytes' for each route be additional to the current local files, because I could be running out of hard disc space. Adam stated 'expect a big downlosd, leave your PC on overnight !' Thanks.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  2. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    4,454
    Likes Received:
    6,345
    Basically, your existing files will be replaced top to bottom. So your storage will not actually change- but you will have to survive a 180GB download.
     
    • Like Like x 6
  3. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    5,628
    Likes Received:
    4,889
    Your existing files will be replaced, but the new files may be bigger or smaller (and we won't know until day of release)
    Either way your machine will download the new TSW program version and each DLC individually so will need space to download, unpack and then install them
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 2
  4. daveking8

    daveking8 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    11
    Thanks for your replies, I hope this procedure will be smooth for everyone.
     
  5. Quentin

    Quentin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    152
    This could be tricky for me, as my SSD has less than 100GB free. I wonder if I can persuade/trick Steam into downloading to my HDD and then installing on (over my existing) SSD? OTOH this may be the push I need to upgrade my SSD :).
     
  6. Callum B.

    Callum B. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    1,601
    What I plan to do is just before the update is pushed out is to go through my DLC list and untick all of them so that they are uninstalled and space is freed up for the new versions. I plan to keep the base game downloaded to preserve any configurations and savegames, as uninstalling the game can make that finicky.

    Cheers
     
    • Like Like x 6
    • Helpful Helpful x 3
  7. Quentin

    Quentin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    152
    Good idea, Callum - sounds like a plan!
     
  8. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Are you making the assumption that all the files for the dlc's will be replaced without exception, rather than just updated? I suppose you can verify the files after the download to make sure.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  9. Callum B.

    Callum B. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    1,601
    Yes, the .pak files will need to be replaced in their entirety. I am not sure what you mean by "updated" as opposed to being replaced, unless you believe that it is possible for Steam to append or make changes to existing .pak files like a hex editor. It is not. That, and because each piece of DLC is self-contained inside one large .pak file, is the reason why update sizes are so large (compared to other games whose content is made up of several smaller asset files rather than being packed up into one large file).

    Cheers
     
  10. Inkar

    Inkar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    You do not need to keep the base game. All your config files are at C:\Users\<Your User Name>\Documents\My Games\TrainSimWorld2

    I suggest everyone makes a backup of that folder before the update, just in case.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Ah, yes, right. I was thinking of the file system for TS20XX rather than TSW2. My mistake.
     
  12. Callum B.

    Callum B. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    1,601
    I do know this factually, and do make backups of that folder regularly (WHY does the game still not use the Steam Cloud?!), however on one occasion when reinstalling my computer, for whatever reason the game reset my progress even after I copied over my old save folder. I suspect there was an error on my part somewhere but now I am more cautious just in case.

    Oh, how I wish the files could be written in a decompiled state like TS2021's .ap archives! It would make modding so much easier.

    Cheers
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Modding, consist editing, scenario creation and editing, repaints.....Oh boy!
     
  14. Cael

    Cael Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    676
    Another solution could be copying the folder to your HDD, updating there, and then copying it back onto the SSD.
    Steam has the option under Properties -> Local files -> Move install folder

    But Callum's idea might be a more elegant solution.
     
  15. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    1,129
    180gb…. Hmm, 3 hrs or so
     
  16. antony.henley

    antony.henley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2019
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    887
    You know what, this is just an observation and I'm not having a go at anyone here. Bit of background info first. I have two ps4 pros and a pc. The PS4s are what I really play and stream my games on. Last year I bought a pc that was the dogs danglies in what it could do. Mainly for playing train sim on, photography intensive programs and recording and creating video etc etc. Awesome now I can expand my TS collection of routes and rolling stock. Now regarding my observation. There is a certain breed of people that will frown on me for having a console which I play and stream TSW on). Now my installation for TSW on each console is about 88gigs. I have all the routes and rollingstock. But from reading some posts in this thread updating through a PC for some of you is a damn nightmare. For those PC only people on the PS4 when I get an update it will tell me and then start downloading tell me how big the size is and how long to download etc etc.
    The only thing that annoys the hell out of me during the PS4 updating procedure is when it copies itself over. Anything upto an hour on some games. Not all games mind. Obviously I know that pS4 and pc file structure are totally different (I just sat through a 7.5 hour installation of Microsoft Flight sim, I started that at 7pm last night >yawns< I still have the 85 gb update to download and install (I'll do that over the weekend).
    My point being you get so many pc only people dissing console only players about console limitations but look further into the turmoil that goes with updating any game for the PC which sounds such a pain in the arse compared to a console which is pretty much straightforward.
    From someone who just sat through installing 10 discs (Microsoft flight sim) I'd prefer the consoles way to be honest.
    Incidentally i think for me Red Dead Redemption 2 was the longest installation I had to do on my ps4.
    Anyhow I hope you / we all have a smooth transition to 4.26 in a month or so's time.

    Regards

    Hentis
     
  17. Cotax

    Cotax Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    215
    I have every DLC and the game is around 280GB. Fun fun fun! :) We will make it thought, i will just leave the computer on while i am at work.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Callum B.

    Callum B. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    1,601
    It is straightforward for PC too. The gripes are only with regards to the available disk space for the download and installation of the update. At least with Steam, a lot of space is used during installation (much more than the resulting files themselves) because Steam makes backup copies of files while it unpacks so that it can resume installation from where it left off if it is interrupted. I'm not sure if the consoles also have this feature but it means that a 5GB download may actually require 20GB during the installation process, and then the extra 15GB is freed up as expected in the post-installation cleanup.

    Also, you have everything and it only takes up 88GB of storage? Wow! I wonder how that could be.

    Cheers
     
  19. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Likely the result of Sony implementing some kind of compression/decompression algorithm. I don't know if it's possible to compress TSW2 on PC.
     
  20. Ravi

    Ravi Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2021
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    189
    I guess it's time to install a 1TB SSD for TSW2 alone. I have 500 gig one that I only have TSW2 on and it might get tricky, sounds like.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  21. Wolfovizer

    Wolfovizer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    318
    What's your internet speed? Based on my internet I'm looking at around 2-3 days for 133GB, It's going to be horrible :( also i can only download at night as other people need to use the internet so probably 4-6 days :(
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2021
  22. Inkar

    Inkar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    I suggest you uninstall all DLC except RH just before the update. That way the game will only install the base game and the Rush Hour DLC, which is what you are going to want to play the first day. You can then add some more DLC to download each day in your order of preference, instead of having Steam try to download all in 1 go.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  23. stujoy

    stujoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2019
    Messages:
    3,872
    Likes Received:
    9,464
    I mention it a lot on the forums. Most textures are a much lower resolution on the console versions. Some are very pixelly indeed. Lower resolution textures = lower file sizes. That’s why the game takes up less storage on PS4. We’ll see if we get higher resolution for PS5 when the dedicated version is released and that will have bigger files, close to the PC size, if it happens.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  24. Wolfovizer

    Wolfovizer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    318
    Thanks for the suggestion, I'm normally quite busy so don't always get time to play, thinking about it I might be ably to get sole use of the second router, that would speed things up a bit. (For context I live in the middle of nowhere in Scotland and need 2 4G routers to use the internet, can't wait for Starlink, the joys of remoteness) :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  25. Yerolo

    Yerolo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    1,497
    This is the approach I'll be taking as well. Just keep around 2 or 3 of my most played routes before the update and gradually add back the others.....I'll mostly just be playing the RH routes anyway for the first few weeks
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  26. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Do we actually know the size of this download? I think all this anxiety is a little premature. I don't recall any major problems during last year's major upgrade and route download. Unless you have a very tight space issue, I wouldn't panic.
     
  27. Snek

    Snek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    888
    There was no update last year, but a new game with only 3 routes and everything else was spread over multiple smaller preservation updates. Now, you'll have to download everything at the same time.
    It's going to take a very long with my download speeds.
     
  28. matjamca

    matjamca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Messages:
    3,308
    Likes Received:
    6,171
    I’m lucky to have a 350 Mbps connection with Virgin Media. Lightening fast downloads.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  29. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    4,454
    Likes Received:
    6,345
    It's still big. The XBox version of RDR2 was ~100GB for the initial install, and it took some 2 hours over a fast connection.
     
  30. Perks390

    Perks390 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    112
    Don't forget that's 133GB for the files without compression. The download won't be that big as they'll compress the files for download. I recently reinstalled TSW 2 with a lot of DLC after a fresh windows install and I'm pretty sure the download was only something like 20-30GB. It'll be the extraction of the files which will most likely take the longest.
     
  31. Inkar

    Inkar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    Just made a quick check and you are right. Somehow steam manages to reduce the download size considerably (I tried with NTP and it took 3gb download for 12gb unpack, so it is a really good ratio). I was almost certain that could not be possible since PAK files are compressed already.
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2021
  32. conniethunder

    conniethunder Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    172
    If you watch this folder - C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\downloading during an update, you will see that it downloads 'small' patch files and applies them to one DLC at a time before moving that 'fixed' file back to your DLC folder here - C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Train Sim World 2\WindowsNoEditor\TS2Prototype\Content\DLC

    Obviously, your drive and folder locations may vary.
    So you shouldn't need more than about 20GB of free space for the files to get patched/updated :)
     
  33. Inkar

    Inkar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    OK, I found the explanation in the Unreal Engine documentation:

    Guess what, DTG is not compressing the PAKs.
     
  34. Sheldon1000

    Sheldon1000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2020
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    220
    Broadband Fibre is on its way. Aberdeen is full if roadworks at the moment because of the Fibre being installed. Haha
     
  35. martschuffing

    martschuffing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2020
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    394
    And if anyone wants a less "glitchy" train simming experience I recommend taking ones games out of the program files folder, windows security loves to throw spanners into that system folder from time to time and give strange errors when playing, (used to happen to me a lot) that was a tip from a specialist, all my games are on a separate drive now and now no more "erm what just happened moments"!
     
    • Like Like x 2
  36. conniethunder

    conniethunder Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    172
    Thanks for the tip.
    I have a separate HDD for my games but recently swapped my old boot drive for an SSD. I had space left so I moved TSW2 to c: for the huge increase in loading times.
    A new PC is in the works, but it's pointless without a new GPU :(
     
    • Like Like x 1
  37. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Exactly how I feel. I need and would love to invest in a new PC but the prices have been boosted into space by the cost of high-end GPU's and the semiconductor shortage.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  38. Wolfovizer

    Wolfovizer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    318
    Annoyingly I have fibre optics at the end of my drive. £23,000 to bring it up the drive and connect it to my house, that includes the £3,500 grant I can get so actually £26,500 (no chance that's happening) whereas Starlink dish is £499 just have to wait for it to be available in my area, much better but still a lot.
     
  39. martschuffing

    martschuffing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2020
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    394
    Blimey! :o Had cable outside my property for years, virgin media said I hadn't! Took a long time to persuade them to make a survey, did eventually, and now no more smallband.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  40. Quentin

    Quentin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    152
    Do you live in Windsor Castle with a 3-mile drive? I can just about understand £2,300 for an FTTP connection, but £23,000 is enormous. Perhaps they're quoting for the cost of putting in a link back to the local exchange?
     
  41. Rudolf

    Rudolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    1,884
    What you can do is deactivate all DLC in steam. Then you get the Rush Hour and later you add the DLC you like to play gradually to your system. It saves a long wait before you can play Rush Hour ...
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  42. Cael

    Cael Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    676
    I'm thinking of doing a backup of my profile, mods, etc., and doing a full reinstall rather than update. UE 4 updates always take forever to complete on HDD.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  43. Wolfovizer

    Wolfovizer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    318
    Not Windsor Castle but a local estate and the drive is just under 1km long and due to local rules the cable has to be buried.
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2021
    • Helpful Helpful x 2

Share This Page