1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Difference Between Ts2019 32 Bit And 64 Bit

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ethan TX, Mar 16, 2019.

  1. Ethan TX

    Ethan TX New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi;
    I'm running TS2019 on a Windows 7 x64 box. I would assume that I should always be running the 64 bit version of TS, but I think I read somewhere that some features on some routes may not function properly in the 64 bit version. So far I have yet to experience any such problems.
    Is there any reason I would want to run the 32 bit version?
    Thanks
    ET
     
  2. pdxmark77

    pdxmark77 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    99
    Some mods may not work correctly with the 32bit version and the editor worked better although they have since fixed that.

    Other then that, If you have a 64 bit system there is no valid reasons to run 32
     
  3. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    496
    I've had no issues running the main game in 64 bit, and only a couple of issues with track editting in the editor
    64bit should be your default
     
  4. RailWorkshop

    RailWorkshop Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    31
    64bit is a good choice for more complex scenario more AI trains and high quality assets.
    64 bit Editor have been fixed by DTG and it should now not have much issues with editing old routes.
     
  5. dontee1447

    dontee1447 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    How do you get 64 bit, do you have to buy new software?
     
  6. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    454
    If you already owned TS 2018, DTG has updated it to TS 2109, including both 32 and 64 bit versions (but not the added DLC that comes with a purchased version of TS2019. If you had a desktop icon that launched TS2018, I think that TS 2019 32-bit's launch icon replaced it; unfortunately, I've forgotten how to place a desktop launch icon for the 64 bit version, but I do know that doing so is possible.
     
  7. dontee1447

    dontee1447 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for that.
     
  8. dontee1447

    dontee1447 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    I now know how to run the game in 64 bit. On the community page - Library - games - double click on train simulator - a pop-up appears select 64 bit, this opens the game.
    Haven't found a short cut, but I managed to pin it to the task bar. To open I still have to sign in on first use, then it opens the game until I shut down the computer.
     
  9. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    496
    To create a shortcut...
    Go to your steam library, right click Train Simulator, select Properties
    In the properties dialogue box open the LOCAL FILES tab at the top and then click BROWSE LOCAL FILES
    A file explorer window will open at the railworks folder. Find railworks64.exe and right click it
    On the menu select "Send To" and then "Desktop (Create Shortcut)"
    Close the explorer window and go back to your desktop. You will have a shortcut called railworks64, right click it, select rename and change it to Train Simulator (or a wording of your choice)
    Double clicking this will automatically start TSx in 64bit
     
  10. dontee1447

    dontee1447 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
     
  11. dontee1447

    dontee1447 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes that works thanks
     

Share This Page