1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dra On Class 377

Discussion in 'PS4' started by Samo1, Dec 14, 2019.

  1. Samo1

    Samo1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    94
    What’s it for and how do you use it properly, I know you can’t add power when it’s pressed but how and when would I use this? Is it simulated properly on this train?

    Thanks
     
  2. Rob39

    Rob39 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,023
    Likes Received:
    797
    I think, from what Ive seen and use it for, switch it on at stations or stops. Its there to remind the driver to check signals before proceeding? Sure someone will correct me if Im wrong. Note on the 377 you need to unisolate it at on the aws dsd vigilance panel (top right of the cab). In order to be able to use it.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  3. Samo1

    Samo1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    94
    so it’s used as a reminder as opposed to actually needing to be used?
    Yes, I have un isolated from the panel, it not used when the train is in motion, just when stopped?
     
  4. Rob39

    Rob39 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,023
    Likes Received:
    797
    Yes, I believe so (stopped)
     
  5. -PjM-

    -PjM- Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    464
    The DRA (Drivers Reminder Appliance) prevents power from being applied when switched on. It should be activated when stopping at a danger (red) signal, usually at a station, and should only be deactivated when the driver has seen/checked the signal has changed to proceed (green/yellow). It should also be used when you pass a yellow signal but then have to stop prior to the next signal, again usually at a station, as a reminder that the next signal may be at red - so not to accelerate to quickly.

    It's basically an extra layer of safety system that hopes to prevent SPADs. All the GWE locos have it too I believe.

    It is a real life requirement that it should be used at all times. In game... It depends how realistic you want to be.
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2019
    • Like Like x 3
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  6. Samo1

    Samo1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    94
    Interesting, thanks, I will try and use it properly now
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Zammy Martínez

    Zammy Martínez Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    80
    Oh i love being realistic.
     
  8. Zammy Martínez

    Zammy Martínez Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    80
    Up the Arsenal btw
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Samo1

    Samo1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    94
    onwards and upwards, it’s been a long season
     
  10. Olaf the Snowman

    Olaf the Snowman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2019
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    35
    Plenty of the old locomotives don’t have DRA fitted such as Class 66s. When East Coast (Virgin Trains East Coast at the time) hired in the class 90s from Freightliner for the class 91 shortage, they had to have DRA fitted ones. Whether DRA is a necessity for passenger stock, I’m not sure but obviously all new stock will have DRA built in.

    Spot on post although I will add that the DRA should also be used when immobilising the cab or even if you’re being relieved. By default, the DRA should always be set in inactive cabs as the driver would have set the DRA when immobilising it.
    Unfortunately, this probably is the only reason you are going to use the DRA because seeing cautionary aspects/red on TSW is extremely rare due to very little traffic.
     

Share This Page