1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Driving With No Hud

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by amt976, Dec 1, 2019 at 8:47 PM.

  1. amt976

    amt976 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    Is there any way to drive with no HUD aids?

    I can understand a bit signals but I struggle to see how far I am from stations by looking at them, therefore I need to revert to HUD, even if I find it not so realistic.

    Any help?

    PS I'm running german scenarios now.
     
  2. DeanO55

    DeanO55 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    36
    If I recall it is the F3 and F4 buttons that control the on-off and min-max hud.
     
  3. amt976

    amt976 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    tks, however I would like to know if you can drive with no HUD aids, especially how can you know how far you are from stations without looking at HUD?
     
  4. DeanO55

    DeanO55 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    36
    To drive with no hud aids turn it off.
    To know where you are you must learn the route as a real driver has to do.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  5. amt976

    amt976 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. BeenTrain

    BeenTrain New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    15
    ThirdRails is ideal for HUD less driving and route learning. Know your whereabouts.

    https://thirdrails.org
     
  7. 749006

    749006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    402
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  8. BeenTrain

    BeenTrain New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    15
    Well ThirdRails actualy supports use of OpenRailwayMap Speed and signal layers.
    You can use them to forsee upcoming speed changes along the line. These are not available in all areas, although speed is pretty common.

    As alternative you can place your own POI's down the route for junctions, descents, places of interest etc. , which will support you to learn the route.
     
  9. Wolf

    Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    15
    BeenTrain The difference is that on certain loco addons like those from Virtual Railroads you can actually show a version of that Buchfahrplan on the correct screen of the locomotive ingame.
    Look at the screenshots here: https://rail-sim.de/forum/wsif/index.php/Entry/4632-EBuLa-Fahrpläne-für-Münster-Bremen/#description

    Also there are the PTG Rail route Learner videos:
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcKw2-yDQBfYxVBrrRwVY2g/playlists

    amt976 on some of the more advanced Steam locos driving without the F4 huds is a must and some of the older ones profit from it as well. In that case press F5 to show the "F5 Hud" and again to show it fully.
    That one is kinda necessary for some of the older kettles where not all the indicators work, like the boiler pressure one, or in some cases the water glass.
     
  10. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    1,025
    How do you drive without the HUD? Route learning
    In other words you drive WITH the driving aids in place but make notes on landmarks and specific junctions so you can find out where you are by keeping track of them
    When you can drive and know where you are by looking at your surroundings, signal numbers etc etc then you can drive without the aid of the HUD. Then cut your notes down and repeat

    A lot of the learning a driver undergoes isn't about the trains and how to get them moving or stopping, but route knowledge and being able to know where they are at any time, along with stopping points in various conditions and even where over and under bridges are in case they need to stop to offload in an emergency
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  11. Wolf

    Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    15
    ARuscoe True, and on a kettle you also need to know when to fire and how much, so that you have enough steam going up a hill and are not constantly blowing off going down a hill. Or get in trouble with Blowback in the tunnels.
    Although IRL that is the fireman's job.

    And given the lack of brightness of british steam era, as well as BR Green and early Br Blue headlamps, you really need to know the route to drive at night......
     

Share This Page