Route Edinburgh - Glasgow - Feedback Thread

Discussion in 'Player Feedback' started by TimTri, Aug 10, 2023.

  1. TSW Nathan

    TSW Nathan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2022
    Messages:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    3,598
    Concidering there are 4 depots (possibly more) that you can almost always spot a class 385 at. I don't understand why they weren't able to get acsess to one.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Bravo2six

    Bravo2six Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2021
    Messages:
    1,254
    Likes Received:
    1,911
    I guess it's more of a "depot visits are only allowed at X depot" Or the individual depot managers aren't willing to commit to having the process of letting people in.

    Also depends on whether the trains being stored there are have a operational purpose, I.e. being cleaned, testing, inspections, driver training and so forth. So while appearing idle, actually aren't

    It could also be a terms of licencing agreement. If government owned Scotrail are open to DTG, but are unable (or unwilling) to promote a less green image of Scotrail (or even of First/ Abellio version) then they could revoke/ not sign off on that product
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  3. AVeryFatElf

    AVeryFatElf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2021
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    799
    100% - it would definitely give more variety at least. If we see a TSW Fife circle, hopefully we might get them then as the class 68 is no longer used by Scotrail. Would mean both turbostars and class 158s would make an appearance on the Edinburgh - Glasgow route, probably via the community.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. 390001

    390001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    1,938
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    Because it’s not a case of turning up and accessing a train restrictions need to be followed access granted and the train may not be available to be used for such thing sit could be a spare unit that must be readily available. Amazing how people think it’s just a case tocs have trains sitting waiting for such things to be done.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  5. jack#9468

    jack#9468 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2023
    Messages:
    3,571
    Likes Received:
    3,786
    I clean trains. Mostly at the station but if they go to the depot before they're cleaned, I have to go there and clean them sometimes.

    Even then, I can only do that if they allow me, and that's with me being employed by the same company. So just imagine how hard it is to access a depot for sound recordings for a game.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  6. stujoy

    stujoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2019
    Messages:
    6,527
    Likes Received:
    17,501
    Right lads, tonight we break into the depot, set up microphones and take a 385 for a joyride. They will just leave them lying around in the depot so we may as well take advantage. Sandra will keep the nightwatchman busy.
     
    • Like Like x 6
  7. Jay1986

    Jay1986 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2021
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    719
    Before working as a civil servant, that’s what I used to do. (2011-2014) Loved it. One of the best jobs I ever had tbh. I used to work for a company called Wettons before they lost the contract with Southeastern. I worked At Orpington station, mostly at the sidings and occasionally in the station. Started at 10pm, finished by 1am, then I’d be sleeping in the 465 until 4.15am and catch the 4.29am bus home. Paid till 6am :)
    Miss that job.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  8. TSW Nathan

    TSW Nathan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2022
    Messages:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    3,598
    I'm not saying there aren't protocols and whatnot that needs to be followed. I'm just surprised, that's all.
     
  9. TSW Nathan

    TSW Nathan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2022
    Messages:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    3,598
    Gotta be careful with that. I heard some horrid folk stick razor blades down the side of seats. Wouldn't want to get hurt with that while your cleaning. :o :(
     
  10. jack#9468

    jack#9468 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2023
    Messages:
    3,571
    Likes Received:
    3,786
    Its the bins that attack :D
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    10,393
    Kind of off topic, but today I broke down and bought the E-G bundle as it was heavily discounted on Steam. When the bundle had downloaded, Steam decided it would also reinstall my entire TSW3 installation ( all 267GB ) which I had uninstalled back when I purchased TSW4.

    I managed to stop that download, but I'm still wondering why Steam thought it was necessary.

    I was able to play the route normally in TSW4.

    Anyone enlighten me?
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2024
  12. 390001

    390001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    1,938
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    Why do you still have TSW 3 installed if you have TSW 4 there is no need to have 3 installed as all 3 content ported over to TSW 4 ???
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    10,393
    Read my post again, please
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2024
    • Like Like x 1
  14. rennekton#1349

    rennekton#1349 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2022
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    4,144
    Could it possibly be because there's legacy content in it which works in both 3 and 4 so steam thought tsw3 should be installed. I'm not sure since I've not bought preserved content before.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    10,393
    That's probably right. When Steam began reinstalling TSW3 I simply paused it and then uninstalled it and Steam gave up. And the route plays fine as a TSW4 compatible.

    I wonder what Steam would do if you purchased SPG which is a TSW2 route. Which iteration would it try to download?

    Well, it's kind of a moot point since there are no other legacy routes I'm likely to buy.

    And this is way off-topic so I'll leave it there. But I appreciate your reply.
     
  16. OldVern

    OldVern Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2020
    Messages:
    12,312
    Likes Received:
    24,760
    Steam does try this for some reason, just hit cancel when the download box pops up, it will still shadow download to your TSW4 install in the background.
     
  17. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    10,393
    Yes, not to belabor it, but the strange thing was that Steam wanted to re- download my entire TSW3 library which didn't even include E-G! :D
     
  18. 390001

    390001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    1,938
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    Easy fix for future issues. In steam right click TSW 3 select properties then DLC in the box that pops up. Untick everything in the TsW 3 dlc pop up this will stop it trying to redownload TSW3 files when you have TSW4 installed.
     
  19. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    10,393
    Sorry, but once again you misunderstood the issue. But thanks anyway for your responses.
    Have a nice evening.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2024
  20. 390001

    390001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    1,938
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    Dont think i did you complained TSW 4 purchases caused TSW 3 to redownload as well. The fix i provided above will solve that.

    Have a nice evening.
     
  21. richardg#8232

    richardg#8232 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2024
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    45
    Query for the Group who have this add-on

    Is it just me? Or does it look like the trains are going slower than they are like I’m doing 50 into stations but it looks like I’m doing about 20 so without the hud I think I can stop in time until I glance at the speedometer.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  22. 390001

    390001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    1,938
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    Looks fine to me your “field of view” irl can reflect this irl as well
     
  23. CK95

    CK95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    9,285
    Yeah, the sounds are quite bad for me on the 385 but the biggest issue that stops me from using this route is whatever is going on with the motion blur?

    There is just no sensation of movement.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  24. richardg#8232

    richardg#8232 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2024
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    45
    I think the sounds are Good TBF I live in Scotland and they sound okay to me It’s just the Fact doing 100 feels like 50 and 50 feels like 20 not really good for doing station approaches without the hud then you catch a glance and see your definitely overshooting it
     
  25. OldVern

    OldVern Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2020
    Messages:
    12,312
    Likes Received:
    24,760
    Picked it up in the sale but not that impressed so far. First scenario which should showcase the route has you running ECS in heavy fog. 10 mins crawling around Eastfield Depot at 5 MPH then loop to loop towards Edinburgh. And while I know it’s not Rivet’s fault, that 385 front view is awful. Even with the sound mod the audio side still seems a bit flat and what is it with one of the horn tones seeming to stick on?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  26. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    10,393
    Yes I got it in the previous sale ( for less than half price thank goodness ) and had the same reaction. That prison cell view coupled with the very strange acceleration sounds were a real turn off and the route, though fairly well- modeled, was rather mundane with the familiar empty terminus. Then you have those sudden power drops that come out of nowhere. I played a few rounds but haven't been back to it.
     
  27. OldVern

    OldVern Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2020
    Messages:
    12,312
    Likes Received:
    24,760
    Currently toying whether to keep it and run some classic diesels on it, but there are better venues for those anyway. And I haven't got the patience or time/skill to fire up the editor and create a loco hauled timetable, particularly as we lack a Class 27 to do the earlier push pull formations, or the later Class 47/7 with the aircon push pull sets.
     
  28. SteveRail

    SteveRail Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2022
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    981
    I now use this line 3 times a week so have noticed things in real life I hadn’t previously noticed. I have to say it’s a very well modelled route, the scenery is almost faultless tbh. Shows Rivet are capable of modelling routes well, please get the Fife Circle to the same standard!

    Would make all the difference if Rivet revisited this, fixed the rain on windscreens & neutral sections as a must. Add the 170/801s as ai & get that sound recording!

    Then if you really want a top route, fix the remaining issues such as the missing services, rush hour stopping patterns & outstanding TMS issues.

    It’s really not outwith reach to rescue the view a lot of us have! Polish this and Fife Circle!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  29. samuelpower2001

    samuelpower2001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2020
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    30
    I enjoy it but needs some fixes
     
  30. jack#9468

    jack#9468 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2023
    Messages:
    3,571
    Likes Received:
    3,786
    You're going to need to be more specific.

    Nothing can be fixed if no one knows what needs fixing.
     
  31. Midnight

    Midnight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2018
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    427
    Not too bothered about the actual route, but could we please get the class 385 fixed?

    1. BILs don't work half of the time when does open.

    2. Still no rain on the windscreen.

    3. Sounds are still pretty bad.
     
  32. rennekton#1349

    rennekton#1349 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2022
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    4,144
    Rivet still need to get sounds from the 385. They had some recordings but they had to get more but I don't think they've made much progress on that end
     
    • Like Like x 2
  33. samuelpower2001

    samuelpower2001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2020
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    30
    Playing service 1R06 on PS5 and despite having turned on all safety systems and the loco in forward etc don't get any alerts coming through at all.
     
  34. samuelpower2001

    samuelpower2001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2020
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    30
  35. samuelpower2001

    samuelpower2001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2020
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trying to upload a video to support such statement but it's odd regardless.. never had this issue before
     
  36. SteveRail

    SteveRail Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2022
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    981
    Btw another bug to add, the rain whilst failing ti land on windscreens does appear ti penetrate street level and hit the train in the tunnel leaving Queen Street & Haymarket . Service 1R96
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2024
  37. Phil567

    Phil567 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2022
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    17
    Would also be good if they could add automatic announcements like apparently fife circle has . I also think the scenery is quite well done . Would like to see more trains at Edinburgh ( class 800 maybe on other platforms etc ) , still seems very quiet often. And of course better sounds for the 385 would be good .
     

Share This Page