1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

End Of Session: Walking Out Of The Represented Area

Discussion in 'PlayStation Discussion' started by vmeck, Jun 20, 2020.

  1. vmeck

    vmeck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Tees valley line: Class 20. Stopped at Grangetown and walked out of the represented area.

     
    • Helpful Helpful x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Tonto62

    Tonto62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2019
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    349
    That's ridiculous. They encourage you to explore fixing lights etc. and you get booted out. There should be an invisible wall at locations like that to prevent it happening.
     
    • Like Like x 5
  3. Gilly

    Gilly Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    183
    Ouch that's a kick in the chuddlies!
    As Tonto62 says at least a wall!
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Zammy Martínez

    Zammy Martínez Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    121
    Thats happened to Me once or twice, most frustrating thing after going past a signal at a station, and having your route denied because you had to reverse. come to think of it, if i wasnt tryna be so realistic, i should just open the doors there and continue that way I wouldn’t get caught by the red
     
    • Like Like x 3
  5. Plastic Pal

    Plastic Pal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2020
    Messages:
    1,003
    Likes Received:
    1,332
    That should be reported as a bug. That is a very severe bug - it's basically one of the worst kinds of bugs that you can get. Securing the boundaries to the game area is a fairly basic requirement in any game design. It's also a module-ending bug. I think it counts as a "Must Fix" bug.....

    Question is.... would fixing it now be considered as "development" (and therefore it won't be fixed), or would such activity be considered to be...um.... "bug-fixing"....... (.....in which case it will/should be fixed)....? You need to ask yourself the question - is this bug actually a feature? If the bug was fixed... say... with an invisble wall.... would that be a bug-fix..... or would it be a newly developed feature....?

    Maybe DTG Protagonist can help answer this. This is just the sort of extremely severe bug that I would (personally) expect to be fixed after 6th August, if it was reported after 6th August, and if TVL (or any of the TVL DLCs) continued to be on sale.....

    A clear steer from DTG on this would be immensely helpful.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2020
    • Like Like x 7
  6. Tonto62

    Tonto62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2019
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    349
    The same thing happened to me at Lackenby steelworks. I borrowed the shunter from Redcar, drove it over to Lackenby to explore but without warning, out of represented area, back to the menu. If these sidings are shown on the map with working points, they should be accessible. Absolutely loads of sidings and yards on Tees Valley which are on the map but can't be accessed. Anyway, that's not going to change now. Even if the new scenario editor allowed it, Tees Valley is a scrapped route and we won't be able to use the editor on it.
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2020
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Slemcer

    Slemcer Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    47
    That should have been a technical report, and it's exactly that area I described in my thread from May 18th.
    I doubt that we'll see any kind of bugfix soon, maybe none at all.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Zammy Martínez

    Zammy Martínez Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    121
    What does the quote button do?
     
  9. Turbojugend

    Turbojugend New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yes, I've had this happen in Tees Valley as well.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Slemcer

    Slemcer Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    47
    I'm very sorry, but I won't use full quotes, not within a thread and never across different threads.
    Maybe you missed the link in my post, although it should be easy to detect. ;-)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Stockton Rails

    Stockton Rails Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2020
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    325
    ...you hit the nail on the head with this post. What if you had just spent an hour putting a train together in a free-roam scenario, had not saved your game yet, and then accidentally stepped out of bounds which kicks you out of your session. Are you supposed to be happy about investing another hour just getting back to where you were before you were booted? This type of issue/bug/poor design that costs players valuable time is unacceptable IMO, and DTG really should be doing something about this. Thanks for the post, Tonto62... just my $0.02.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2020
    • Like Like x 3

Share This Page