Help For A Noob, S&d Battered And Bruised, Wheelslip Issues

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by pieman6930, Feb 13, 2021.

1. pieman6930

pieman6930 New Member

Hi, I'm rather new to the game ( 6 hours total) and i'm having a problem that i'm hoping somebody can help me with. The crux of the problem is when trying to do the Battered and Bruised scenario on the Somerset and Dorset DLC, i get that it is set after a storm and that the rails are wet thus there is less traction, however the moment i hit the gradient, once the line becomes single track, i get a wheelslip warning, the wheels will then 'lock up' and are no longer slipping but simply refusing to move, applying breaks at any point does nothing and eventually I slide backwards till flat ground. I'm already running with sand and have got up to about 30mph before i 'hit' the grade, I've tried all the tricks i know. 'Pumping' the regulator does nothing, it doesn't seem to matter what the cut-off is set too sand has no impact. A few times when replaying the scenario the game loads and the wheelslip warning is already on despite not having touched the controls yet and the engine being stationary, when this happens there is nothing i can do that gets any form of motion from the loco. I've removed and re-downloaded the DLC and nothing changes.

I've tried to include as much detail as possible, i'm sure there is something obvious i am missing, any help anyone can give me would be much appreciated. (Sorry i'm not sure what tags to use, i only joined the forum about 5 mins ago and don't know my way around yet.)

2. ntypeman

ntypeman Well-Known Member

Hi pieman... (not from Wigan are you???:cool:)...

I was reading your post with interest, however when I realised that you're driving a kettle I stopped reading...