1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Helped Need With Scenarios

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Armardar, Jul 15, 2018.

  1. Armardar

    Armardar Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hi

    I am not new to train simulation but I very rarely use community created content.

    I just bought south Wales Bristol Swansea route with arriva DMU train pack. There are no scenarios for the 143 or the 158 as the scenarios were made for Bristol to Cardiff and I bought the Swansea add on.

    However I've been looking for custom scenarios for the 143 and 158 but everything I try says I need so much more dlc than I have. Is there anyway to search for scenarios that only shows results that are based on the dlc I own. Or can anyone recommend dlc for the 143 or the 158 that only requires the south Wales route and DMU add on ?

    Would really appreciate assistance as haven't been able to try these great locos and route in a objective scenario.

    Thanks :)

    Arm
     
  2. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    615
    Alas, folks who have the dough to buy lots of DLC want to force others to do so as well -- or do the makers of all that stuff also make the scenarios that require it?
    Alas and alack, there is no way (that I know of, anyway) to search for DLC requirements. They are usually (but not always) listed on the scenario's download page, but that requires searching for the haystack without needles.
    I apologize for being the bearer of bad news.
     
  3. ProfCreeptonius

    ProfCreeptonius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    380
    Hello Armardar!
    I would make some scenarios for you if I had the DLC. Unfortunately... I don't.
    However, did you know you could get away with playing scenarios that have DLC you don't yet own? If the player train you own, then, upon starting the scenario and receiving the error message 'Cannot load...' Press Ctrl+Q. Then, press 'no'. Voila!
    The trains you don't yet have will be missing, yes, but at least you can play with the ones you already have.
    If there are any other scenarios you'd like made, tell me, I'll try to do it once I get back home.
    Hope I helped,
    ProfCreeptonius.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  4. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    748
    And if you get RWTools (free), you can swop our stock you don’t own with stock you do. The internet is awash with tutorials on how to do it.
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2018
  5. iAspex

    iAspex Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    198
    I could make you some scenarios if you want, utilising whatever packs you like :)
     
  6. Armardar

    Armardar Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    11
    This is great info I'll try tonight!!! :)
     
  7. Armardar

    Armardar Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    11
    I have south Wales to Swansea and the arrival DMUs 158 143 :)
     
  8. LeadCatcher

    LeadCatcher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    688
    I don’t think the first part of that statement is accurate - Most of the scenarios in the workshop are made by people for their own enjoyment and they are willing to share their work with others for free. The use what they have for realism and their enjoyment and do not have an hidden agenda to force others to buy anything.

    It is relatively easy to use RWtools to swap out AÍ trains for stock you own, or as long as the missing DLC is not the players train to run the scenario with out the stock. Again no one is forcing anyone to buy anything buy sharing their hard work via the workshop. It is up to the individual to decide either to procure, replace or ignore the missing DLC.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  9. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    615
    What? "Accuracy" counts? Since when?????????
     
  10. iAspex

    iAspex Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    198
    It's a saying..
     
  11. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    615
    No, Sherlock, it's satire.
     
  12. iAspex

    iAspex Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    198
    Don't get cocky with me.
     
  13. Lord Bickerstaff

    Lord Bickerstaff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2018
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    79
    I don't think forcing is the correct terminology, I've never put a gun to someones head and made someone buy DLC. Me like many others create our scenarios with X amount of stock because it's appropriate for that situation/era/operating company, I've plenty of other scenarios that use very little in the way of DLC and I'm sure a lot of others do to.

    You have a point regarding sim experience vs money to spend, you've just worded it wrong
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1

Share This Page