1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How Are The Preserved Collection Routes Added To Tsw2?

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by QNS Chris, Sep 11, 2020.

  1. QNS Chris

    QNS Chris Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    177
    To preface this - if this has already been answered / covered, please disregard the thread. Also, this question is out of sheer curiosity and a desire to understand how the Preserved routes are ported to TSW2.

    Given the fact that the Preserved Collection routes require development time and resources (by virtue of their inclusion in the Roadmap), what, generally speaking, goes into the development effort to add a Preserved Route to TSW2?

    The Preserved Routes released thus far are beautiful (minus a few bugs here and there), and I'm impressed with what I perceive to be marginal improvements in both performance and graphics.

    Thank you for taking the time to look at this - again, if this has already been addressed, please disregard and, if possible, provide a link to where the discussion occurred.

    Best,
    Chris
     
  2. Inkar

    Inkar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    313
    The Unreal engine used in TSW2 is different from TSW1, plus DTG added some new things to their simulation engine, Simugraph. What happens is that you can't just load a TSW1 DLC and make it work in TSW2. DTG is not adding new features or improvements to preserved content, they are just making the necessary changes to make it work in TSW2.

    A simple example: TSW2 train adhesion physics system is different than the system used in TSW1. If you just copied a TSW1 loco to TSW2 it would just wheel slip like forever. Changes need to be done so it works in TSW2 and the loco brakes as expected.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  3. breblimator

    breblimator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    569
    Preserved content is poorly ported in terms of sound and bugs. But it is working. Don't worry - fully playable! :)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. QNS Chris

    QNS Chris Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    177
    Thanks for the color, Inkar - that makes sense. It's impressive to me that DTG is able to incorporate the new features - i.e., adhesion, Simugraph, dynamic skies, etc - into the legacy routes.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. QNS Chris

    QNS Chris Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    177
    I've found certain routes to be a bit buggy, but my experience with it - at least with the LIRR and Caltrain routes - have proven to be what I perceive as an increase in the quality of graphics, performance, and overall gameplay. There are certainly areas for improvement - LIRR tunnel ambience, to cite just one - but I've run Caltrain into the ground on TSW2, and have enjoyed it more on the new game than on TS1.

    Which routes / elements did you find that were poorly ported?
     
  6. breblimator

    breblimator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    569
    Not true. Not included into Preserved routes. * new features

    Badly ported:
    Sound quality.
    Bugs.
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2020
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Inkar

    Inkar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    313
    Yep, unfortunately the preserved content has some bugs. For example, the UI has no alerter icon for the BR 425 in HRR. Now I'm noticing that I can't get gold in the scenarios / services I have tried in RSN, even when I do it perfect. Also noticed in the BR 185.2 that sometimes you get 55 in the in-cab panel when using PZB mode M (should be 70). The game UI correctly says 70, but not the in-cab indicator.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. LucasLCC

    LucasLCC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2020
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    1,047
    Caltrain seems to have ported across well for the most part. It's probably the route that has had the fewest new bugs introduced.

    My only gripe is the fact the sounds in the locos have become non existent. You'd think you were driving a modern EMU, not this huge diesel locomotive.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. 7orenz

    7orenz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2018
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    535
    Probably this is true.

    But in the past I made the mistake to activate the PZB switch (back panel) and then select the PZB mode (under-desk panel) to 55 or 85. In this case the PZB will set up as default mode (in 185.2 the default mode is set to 70) because my sequence was wrong. The right sequence is to setup firstly the PZB mode to 55, 70, 85 and then activate the PZB switch on the back panel.
    I realized that, cause the DB BR 182 (EuroSprinter64 aka Taurus) has the PZB defaul mode set to 85.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  10. Inkar

    Inkar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    313
    I don't think I changed the mode, just activated PZB with the mode that was selected by default when I started the scenario.
    In any case, I will remember to do it in the order you said in case I manually change the mode in the future.
    Thanks.
     

Share This Page