1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Incorrect Mapping On Xbox Controller On Pc - Throttle And Brakes

Discussion in 'Known Issues & Bug Reports' started by Rogge, Aug 27, 2018.

  1. Rogge

    Rogge New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    In the cab of the locos in the Ruhr-Sieg route the throttle is located to the left in the cab and the brakes are located to the right in the cab. When driving with a PC keyboard the throttle is located to the left (A+D) and the brakes are located to the right, in my case Ä+Ö and ,+..

    However, when i use my Xbox controller on my PC the throttle is mapped to the RB and RT buttons and the brakes are mapped to LB and LT buttons. (RB/RT=to the Right, LB/LT=to the Left.) This makes no sense, to have the throttle mapped to the right buttons rather than the left buttons and the brakes mapped to the left buttons rather than the right buttons.

    In TS2018 the buttons are mapped correctly on the same Xbox controller, iow throttle to the left and brakes to the right.
    • Why this odd and confusing logic in TSW?
    • Why does not TS2018 and TSW the same logic when the come from the same developer?
    • Is there a convinent way to remap the RB/RT and LB/LT buttons?
    • If DTG reads this, please respond and describe why you choosed this odd logic for TSW.
    This is the Xbox controller i use: https://www.xbox.com/en-US/xbox-one/accessories/controllers/xbox-black-wireless-controller
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2018
  2. Jeannot41

    Jeannot41 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    137
    I have already raised this problem.
    In virtually all TSW DLCs, the brakes are on the right and the engine control on the left.
    We will be lucky if DTG answers.
     
  3. Rogge

    Rogge New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    I did test the Microsoft app to switch buttons but i never got it to work. However, i tested reWASD and got it to work! :)

    The feature to re-map buttons is disabled in the trial version so i bought the license to unlock it and it worked as a charm. So now i have the throttle on the right and the brakes to the left. It seems that reWASD can save profiles for individual apps so one can avoid to fiddle with it´s settings when going from TSW to TS2018 or vice versa. Well worth it after several years with TS2018. Those command have become hard wired during the years... (https://www.rewasd.com)

    But, this should be corrected in TSW or at least give the end user the ability to remap commands in game.

    This is how i remapped the keys on my controller:
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Sintbert

    Sintbert Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    195
    It is mapped that way because most of the driving/racing games nowadays use right for acceleration and left for brakes.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  5. pschlik

    pschlik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    1,515
    As Sintbert has said, this choice of layout is entirely about consistency with other games (that the average console player will be used to), and I bet if the layout changed to be 'more accurate' with each train you would see a lot more complaints than the couple I’ve seen about the way it is now.

    I honestly don’t really get what the big deal is either. It’s not like the controller or keyboard replicates the train control stand in any way at all (seriously, you are using buttons to control levers...come on) yet you are harping on about which side you use? If you want your controller to replicate the real thing, ask for raildriver support.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 3
  6. DANNYBOY2487

    DANNYBOY2487 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    92
    i don't bother with controller i use keyboard
     

Share This Page