1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Increase Performance & Fps For Tsw 2 *windows 10 Only*

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by londonmidland, Aug 30, 2020.

  1. londonmidland

    londonmidland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    2,946
    Hey guys.

    I've gained an additional 15-30FPS on top of my current in-game FPS by doing this simple command for TSW 2.
    *Only works with Windows 10.*

    For some reason, TSW 2 defaults to using the older DX11. You can force it to use DX12.

    Instructions:
    1.) Going into Steam, go into your library and find TSW 2.
    2.) Right click on it and press properties.
    3.) Go to 'Set Launch Options' and put in the following command:
    -DX12
    4.) Press okay, close the dialog box and launch the game to see the improvements.

    *NOTE: THIS IS EXPERIMENTAL AND RESULTS WILL VARY WIDELY BASED ON YOUR SPECS*

    instructions.png
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2020
    • Like Like x 7
    • Helpful Helpful x 4
  2. David Kolář

    David Kolář New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    • Helpful Helpful x 5
  3. fabristunt

    fabristunt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2019
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    36
    I tried the DX12 thing and I see no difference. The random stutters are still there. The FPS briefly drop to 50-ish when it stutters.
    16 gb of RAM, 1070 TI and I7 4790K @ 4.00 GHz. Settings on High.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  4. Bassarnis

    Bassarnis Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2020
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    23
    I just tried it and it's worse for me by about 5 fps average. Running 4k on Ultra settings , AA and Motion blur off. I guess it varies depending on your setup and settings. I don't think DX12 is fully implemented yet.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  5. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    1,505
  6. Jinoss17

    Jinoss17 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    41
    Still stutters. The problem is not about the number of frames in my case (which in most of the time are locked at 60), but the annoying stutters which decrease the frame as low as 30fps for a couple of seconds.
     
  7. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    127
    since 2007 and Train simulator :D

    Train stutter Simulator
     
    • Like Like x 3
  8. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    1,505
    The stuttering thing was apparent when TSW first came out, and if you remember was really bad when GWE was first released. They got rid of it not long after and I can’t say I’ve noticed it for a long time, until now.

    It’s disappointing to see it back so obviously with TSW2. Hopefully they’re working on a fix ASAP.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2020
    • Like Like x 3
  9. jackthom

    jackthom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2020
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    22
    The stutter seems worse when I go back to TSW2020 but certainly I still see it in TSW2.

    Although I only have a 4 core CPU I will still try running it under DX12 later today.
     
  10. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    127
    I have 4 cores than you but also have some stutter.
    I will try the dx12 on Aachen Line and give some feedback
     
  11. Inkar

    Inkar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    313
    Tried the --DX12 option on the Köln-Aachen route. The game feels a bit better and I would say I got like 10-15fps more.
    My spec:
    I9-7940X OC 4.6Ghz
    64 Gb RAM
    2Tb m.2 SSD
    1080Ti
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2020
  12. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    1,505
    Are you getting this flickering across the ICE 3 windscreen (not the motion blur at the bottom)
     
  13. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    2,634
    Likes Received:
    3,098
    That's a reflection.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    1,505
    No it isn’t, there’s something else going on there.

    Interestingly disabling and enabling motion blur seems to have cured it.
     
  15. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    2,634
    Likes Received:
    3,098
    But you said it wasn't motion blur.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  16. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    1,505
    I think you’ve misinterpreted what I meant. I said it wasn’t the motion blur at the bottom of the windscreen, which is clearly a bug. That’s the white blurred flickering around the edge of the screen. I’m talking about something more substantial right in the centre of the windscreen. As I said though, disabling and enabling motion blur seems to have solved it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2020
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  17. Michael Newbury

    Michael Newbury Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,981
    Likes Received:
    1,777
    Actually it is a reflection Matt even said it was when they did the game play stream
     
    • Like Like x 3
  18. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    1,505
    Look, it wasn’t.

    I changed the DX version the game was running on which caused an odd flickering across the windscreen that hadn’t been there previously. I limited the FPS to match the refresh rate of my monitor, then turned motion blur off then on again. That got rid of it.

    It wasn’t the reflection you’re talking about!
     
  19. Scorpion71

    Scorpion71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    451
    I had a go at setting it to DX12 but switched back again as I was getting random on/off blurring effects on all textures and the stuttering seemed worse although I do think my SSD is starting to wane a little anyway, it's been heavily used in it's 4yrs.
     
  20. elatn

    elatn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    86
    Unfortunately the game crashes for me. I get this error message:
    Assertion failed: [File:Unknown] [Line: 263] CommandList->Close() failed at F:/Dev/TSW2_SUBPC/Engine/Source/Runtime/D3D12RHI/Private/D3D12CommandList.cpp:126 with error E_INVALIDARG

    TS2Prototype_Win64_Shipping
    TS2Prototype_Win64_Shipping
    TS2Prototype_Win64_Shipping
    TS2Prototype_Win64_Shipping
    TS2Prototype_Win64_Shipping
    TS2Prototype_Win64_Shipping
    TS2Prototype_Win64_Shipping
    TS2Prototype_Win64_Shipping
    TS2Prototype_Win64_Shipping
    TS2Prototype_Win64_Shipping
    TS2Prototype_Win64_Shipping
    TS2Prototype_Win64_Shipping
    TS2Prototype_Win64_Shipping
    kernel32
    ntdll
     
  21. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    1,505
    What CPU / GPU do you have?
     
  22. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    1,484
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Following LondonMidland's instructions, this is what I see:
    upload_2020-8-31_9-26-57.png
    Where's "Set Launch Options" located? Am I in the wrong place?
     
  23. elatn

    elatn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    86
    I have Intel Core i7-7700 3.6 GHz Quad Core and Asus GTX 1060 6GB Turbo.
     
  24. Trenomarcus

    Trenomarcus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    515
    You should set it inside steam, right-clicking on TSW2.
     
  25. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    2,634
    Likes Received:
    3,098
    Do that in Steam.
     
  26. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    1,484
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    This old dog needs more detailed instructions -- including screen captures, please, like the one I provided.
     
  27. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    1,484
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    This old dog isn't learning this new trick. Will someone please provide an image of where to find this "Set Launch Options" box similar to the one I provided?
     
  28. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    1,505
    David’s post (2nd in this thread) has a link to a guide with just that.
     
  29. jackthom

    jackthom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2020
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    22
    Tried DX12 on ECW route and getting a pretty steady 60fps whereas with DX11 it was all over the place, often well down below 50.
    I've had Vsync turned on for a while now as this stops visible tearing on passing trains so I'm assuming that sets the 60fps limit?
    Everything very smooth with no judder but still a micro stutter every now and then as a frame or two are dropped.
    Running at High quality 2560 x 1440
    CPU is running around the 50% mark much of the time and GPU around 80% but with an occasional graphics peak close to 100%.
    No overclocking in use for either.

    DX12 is staying for now.

    CPU I5-4670K
    GPU 1070TI
    16gb RAM
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2020
  30. Inkar

    Inkar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    313
    DX12.png

    Remember: You do this in Steam, not the windows file explorer.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2020
    • Helpful Helpful x 2
  31. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    127
    So just tested the dx12 but I have the impression that the stuttering became worse :D
    So I'm glad to see that my graphic card works really but the old problems are still here + impression that there are some white shadows sometime on the screen.
    What a poor optimization from DTG, once again
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2020
  32. Michael Newbury

    Michael Newbury Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,981
    Likes Received:
    1,777
    If you're using a AMD GPU you will need to roll back your drivers to 20-4-2 and this will not happen again. Not sure what it would be for NVIDA GPU's.
     
  33. Schnauzahpowahz

    Schnauzahpowahz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    1,386
    This
    Works.

    I got 20fps in Koln on a good day

    Popped the launch line in - bam 60fps same spot (high settings 150% screen)

    30fps ultra 200% screen

    You're my hero londonmidland



    Fwiw, cards will matter, its gotta make use of dx12

    I for example have a 1660ti



    DTG, whatever you do PLEASE dont foul this up
    Please
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 2
  34. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    127
    Nobody has some lighting problems / shadows after this tweak ?
    How are your electric lines ? Some flickering on background ?
     
  35. Callum B.

    Callum B. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    283
    Yes I can confirm, but disabling texture streaming in the Engine.ini fixed that.
     
  36. Callum B.

    Callum B. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    283
    Apart from the texture streaming issue I have not noticed any graphical anomalies. Overhead wires are still as flickery as in DX11 but I only play at 1080p so take that with discretion.
     
  37. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    1,505
    No different in 4K. It’s a long standing issue sadly.
     
  38. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    127
    I am gonna give a try
     
  39. davidh0501

    davidh0501 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2020
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    284
    Thanks for this DX12 tip Londonmidland.
    Normally I'm sceptical about these hints, but it was simple to do, and actually worked.

    Win10 64bit with Nvidia RTX2060 card.
    FPS with no other changes went from 53 to 62.
     
  40. TheShotte

    TheShotte Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    158
    I know what you mean, I get the same. Every x amount of seconds, there will be a flash of white on the windscreen, it's about 15% from the bottom, and it's like another 15% or so in width (hard to describe), but it stops at about the middle of the windshield from the bottom. It's so damn annoying.

    In regards to DX12 - the crashes on me randomly. I can't start certain scenarios. I'm pretty sure DX12 is not really taken advantage of anyway (the shaders are DX10/11), and you're just forcing Unreal Engine to run with DX12 renderer.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2020
  41. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    2,634
    Likes Received:
    3,098
    Yes. That's the reflection of the dashboard. If you go in a shadow, it disappears, hence why it appears to flicker.
     
  42. CC Johnson

    CC Johnson Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    182
    I really wish there was an option to disable that. This is annoying the hell outa me. But even with everything on low, it's still there.
     
  43. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    127
    Exactly the same problem with the dx12 tip
    All highest settings
     
  44. CC Johnson

    CC Johnson Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    182
    I don't get what you're saying.
    It is very, very annoying, but it's working as intended. It's supposed to be a reflection of the dashboard onto the windshield.
    Changing dx version has nothing to do with that.
    I was just trying to say that it even doesn't go away when you lower all the graphics options way down.
     
  45. maxipolo12

    maxipolo12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    127
    By me I have this bug by enabling dx12 ^^
     
  46. Callum B.

    Callum B. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    283
    I believe that it is related to TAA as I experience the flickering reflection in both DX11 and DX12 with TAA turned on and it disappears when TAA is turned off. TAA significantly affects screen-space reflections at speed which can also be observed by looking at the parallel reflections on the side of the train. Why it has such an effect in the BR406 cab is likely due to an unfortunate camera angle.
    It certainly has for me by nearly doubling my framerate. Whatever is going in in the backend, using DX12 eliminated some CPU overhead allowing for much better performance on my system and pegging my GPU.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2020
  47. airstares

    airstares New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see the random stutters frequently on the Steam/PC platform, and I've seen them on essentially every YT video of TSW2 I've watched so far, even DTG's own streams on their "Train Simulator" YT channel (console play). They and almost everybody else just let it pass without comment. Some say the game is butter smooth even as these stutters are appearing in their videos. I'm confused as to whether this is an issue recognized by DTG or not. ??? I've looked at the "road map" and don't see it on the list of stuff to be fixed.
     
  48. fabristunt

    fabristunt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2019
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    36
    Ah so it's not only me... It the pre release streams they said the stuttering was due to it being still in production, but they kinda abused that excuse.
     
  49. Schnauzahpowahz

    Schnauzahpowahz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    1,386
    I personally haven't noticed any of these random stutters with dx12 on. No more than the default setting anyway.

    The whole argument ive seen elsewhere about "id rather have less fps and less stutter" i dont understand... makes no sense

    In Koln, which is one of the heavier areas, if you got low fps to begin with... thats going to be stuttery anyway???

    This is deffo a per system per taste basis. But a simple fact, it does increase fps if your hardware can use it.

    Sure this game may not be optimized for it (PC anyway), but plenty of titles use it just fine, including unreal.
    https://www.pcgamingwiki.com/wiki/List_of_DirectX_12_games
     
  50. BAZ

    BAZ Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    50
    It seems that DX12 just isn't a good idea for TSW. It hasn't been tested by DTG and it just has too many issues. I have had several Unreal crashes and the extra FPS isn't worth it with all the crashes. Will sitck with DX11 for now.
     

Share This Page