1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Introducing Mastery For Train Sim World

Discussion in 'Dovetail Live Article Discussion' started by TrainSim-James, Oct 28, 2019.

  1. DB628

    DB628 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    261
    I have the update on PS4 but there is no Info’s about the new system and don’t saw any stuff about after my drive on Main Spessart
     
  2. Jez

    Jez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    358
    For real bruv? Oh my days.
     
  3. xD 2Bad4You

    xD 2Bad4You Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    713
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2019
  4. palme111100

    palme111100 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    67
    Wow, really? Do we really have to do those boring tutorials... again?:| Well...
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2019
    • Upvote Upvote x 3
  5. Jez

    Jez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    358
    I can't either. Maybe restart the game?
     
  6. Mikey_9835

    Mikey_9835 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2019
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    129
    Instead of completing tutorials for the millionth time can the challenge be changed to complete a scenario instead? Seriously I think everyone in these forums knows how to drive the trains by now!
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  7. TrainSim-Dmitri

    TrainSim-Dmitri Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    2,523
    Yes bruv
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 5
  8. xD 2Bad4You

    xD 2Bad4You Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    713
    You can see them on Dovetail Live (Link posted in my reply above) and yeah when you restart the game aswell.
    It just seems odd that you cant just press a button ingame to show them and really need to restart the game.

    Also i completed a Tutorial successful right now and its still showing 0/0. How long do they need to update, do you need a specific tutorial or is it just not working? TrainSim-Dmitri
    Looks odd that it shows 0/0 aswell. Shouldnt it show: 0/1 or for the 10 Services 0/10 and so on?
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2019
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  9. Jez

    Jez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    358
    Yes. Odd is the word. So it's a gimmick that no one wanted and it doesn't work very well and is not retrospective. That is so DTG! Hilarious!
     
    • Downvote Downvote x 2
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  10. TrainSim-Dmitri

    TrainSim-Dmitri Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    2,523
    Lemme check...
     
  11. TrainSim-Dmitri

    TrainSim-Dmitri Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    2,523
    For those who have skipped DTL previously, to log into it again you need to access the settings and then hit the hot key (F1 if I'm not mistaken, should be on the bottom part of the screen) and then restart the game.
     
  12. TinTin_57

    TinTin_57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Messages:
    933
    Likes Received:
    782
    Does the stats tab via the above link show all your progress? I mean not just your progress towards the mastery
     
  13. xD 2Bad4You

    xD 2Bad4You Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    713
    There´s no data in the Stats tab on that page for me. Its all 0 or "No Data", while i´m logged always into my DTL Account while playing
     
  14. Factor41

    Factor41 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2019
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    288
    Awww, maaaaan! I'm already on level 39 on the M7 having done the 700 mile trophy, now I need to increase it by another five levels?! :o
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  15. TinTin_57

    TinTin_57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Messages:
    933
    Likes Received:
    782
    Yeah mine showing 0 via the link but I haven’t logged into the game since the update so wondering if it would populate first time I launch
     
  16. Mkdog45

    Mkdog45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2018
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    339
  17. xD 2Bad4You

    xD 2Bad4You Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    713
    Since i dont even seem to get progression towards the Mastery Objects at the moment it looks like its just not working or they havent activated something in the backend
     
  18. GothicMatt

    GothicMatt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    32
    You should be all be happy they are adding new stuff to the Game. Stop complaining and have patience, Rome wasn't built in a day you know
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  19. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    1,022
    Which baffles the hell out of me. Given that the level 1 challenges are all things which get recorded for achievements, sure they could be checked against and used to complete these immediately. It'll be much harder for someone who is a level 15 101 driver to get to a level 20 driver than it will someone just starting out...
    If you're level 15 you've obviously done 5 levels already...
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 3
  20. DB628

    DB628 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    261
    The bugged Train from DB 422 on the S5 is still not fixed on Hagen after the update, what the hell is going on TrainSim-Dmitri ? Remove finally this crap 3 coaches 422 for the S5
     
  21. Scotrail156467

    Scotrail156467 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    115
    What's the list of bug fixes and optimization?
     
  22. Jez

    Jez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    358
    It looks like the Tier 1 stuff is just about doing things, not necessarily doing them well. Isn't "mastery" about doing things to a high standard?
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  23. Mikey_9835

    Mikey_9835 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2019
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    129
    I just did a tutorial on GWE and it tracked on DTL.
     
  24. Factor41

    Factor41 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2019
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    288
    Tier 1 is probably like GCSEs. Wouldn't consider myself a master of most of the subjects I have GCSEs in! Tier 2 would be A-Levels, where you have to do stuff better; Tier 3 is degree level, where you need to use train safety systems.
     
  25. DB628

    DB628 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    261
    It’s not working on PS4
     

    Attached Files:

  26. byeo

    byeo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    295
    On PS4? I’ll happily be proven wrong and will double check once I’m home.
     
  27. byeo

    byeo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    295
    Professional..
     
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  28. Mikey_9835

    Mikey_9835 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2019
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    129
    It hasn't. I think he meant the report that appears after you do a service.
     
  29. Jez

    Jez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    358
    It was a joke to be fair.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 3
  30. byeo

    byeo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    295
    I just can’t see the appeal for this update unless you’re a new TSW player. I’ve no interest in replying old services and tutorials just to obtain a diorama or a new scene tile for the route. The fact you have to log into DTL to view your progress over viewing it in game is also questionable (you can see your progress if you restart the game, but why you would want to do that, I’ll never know).

    I’ve just done a service in the 43 HST, completed it and then restarted my game to see the progress, both on DTL via a browser and at the start of the game my progress for both Western High Speed - Beat 120mph and Great Western Driver - Complete 10 services are still at 0/1 & 0/10 respectively.

    So even if I wanted to do it, I can’t because it’s bugged.

    Great work guys.

    I know it hasn’t which is why I was confident to be proven wrong once I checked.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 4
  31. d_stevanov

    d_stevanov Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    117
    Lulz, so not only it's not retroactive, but higher your level is, harder it gets to achieve these goals, because "gain 5 levels" gets harder as you are higher level. Can you please, please, for the love of god, stop adding these features no one asked for and actually fix things we did ask for. Please?
    All good routes are added to TS, it feels like more effort goes to that, and TSW is given to junior team members to practice their coding skills with some pointless new features.
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2019
    • Upvote Upvote x 11
  32. TrainSim-Dmitri

    TrainSim-Dmitri Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    2,523
    The DTL team will be looking very closely at all the issues reported to us in the following days. Could you please specify the platform you are using? Thank you.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  33. TrainSim-Dmitri

    TrainSim-Dmitri Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    2,523
    The retroactivity is something for the team to consider, so I will pass your feedback to them.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 6
    • Downvote Downvote x 2
  34. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,567
    Likes Received:
    1,695
    It doesn’t say “get to level 5”. It means increase 5 levels from where you are now.
     
    • Downvote Downvote x 3
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  35. Factor41

    Factor41 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2019
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    288
    I think he realised that. The point being that getting from level 0 to 5 is a much simpler process than getting from level 25 to 30, so perversely, the longer you've been playing, the harder it is to "master". I'm going to have to get the M7 up to level 42 in order to pass the Tier 1 on LIRR!
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2019
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  36. thearkerportian

    thearkerportian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    1,560
    Yes. Some things haven't been well thought out here it seems.
     
  37. Jez

    Jez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    358
    Maybe Level 42 will be playing at the music festival.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 3
  38. Doomotron

    Doomotron Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    118
    And that's the problem. As has been said previously, getting from level 1 to 5 is much easier than getting from 25 to 30.
     
  39. Sgtpanda

    Sgtpanda New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just did an NTP tutorial and then a service in the Class 45, the tutorial counted, and the service counted, but I didn't seem to gain anything under the "Gain 5 levels" for the Class 45 even though I went up a level. Can anyone confirm?
     
  40. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    1,022
    I understood perfectly, and personally I don't think it's fair to have someone achieving level 1 mastery by reaching level 45 when someone else can do it by reaching level 6. AND that it can't be done by having already done it (they do like not harvesting their own stats)
    At the time I also didn't realise that there were only two levels per route, which is also "a bit poor"
    Hopefully many more levels will swiftly follow
     
  41. Dynamite Andy

    Dynamite Andy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    39
    Really hope its a joke that this is not retroactive with all current ingame levels, feels like a joke - having played hard for my stats for them to be totally disregarded at the first point they may be useful for something.

    I was really avoiding the hater band wagon as I do like this concept, but for all my previous hours to be disregarded... :/
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 4
  42. Ross

    Ross New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the idea is to encourage players to play, then having you gain 5 levels seems to make more sense than instantly attributing those mastery levels to you.
     
  43. Jez

    Jez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    358
    Playing devil's advocate here but isn't the difficulty relatively the same if you don't have the experience gained from those previous levels?
     
  44. londonmidland

    londonmidland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1,154
    The first five levels from level 1 to 5 are much easier to get to than say from level 30 to level 35, as it goes up at a much slower pace.

    You could just make a new account but that’s all your time and effort on previous journeys wasted. Good for new players but pretty useless for existing players.

    There needs to be some integration between your Train Sim World player account and Dovetail Live account, as both are currently completely independent of themselves.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  45. Factor41

    Factor41 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2019
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    288
    This is definitely the first step I think. The DTL account is also currently only tracking those routes with mastery - do anything on RRO and it won't show up in your favourite trains list on DTL, so should we stop playing those routes, knowing that when mastery comes, we'll have already snookered ourselves by making the Tier 1 tasks harder?

    That stats page could also become really useful as an addition to the whole game if it told us everything, rather than just some of the things we've done recently.
     
  46. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    1,022
    No, because the amount of time and distance to travel to get higher XP levels is much greater, even if driving gets easier because you're more used to it.

    Personally I think it should be things like keeping to time, stopping within certain meters of the right place, braking percentages etc etc
    Ie MASTERING how to drive the train rather than "take this tutorial", "drive at this speed"...
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  47. Jez

    Jez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    358
    But the amount of action points given does depend on skill that is learned by experience. Stopping accuracy, keeping to the speed limit etc. So an experienced driver is likely to get more points which offsets the increased requirements to move up higher levels.

    But I tend to agree, it's not a proportional relationship as the penalty for poor stopping accuracy and speeding is not that severe.
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2019
  48. xD 2Bad4You

    xD 2Bad4You Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    713
    24 hours after doing stuff for the new "Mastery" the progress still hasnt tracked.
    Platform: Xbox One.

    So i have to rate this update 0/10. There isnt one bug in it, the whole systems and the updates only purpose isnt even working a tiny bit. On top of that nobody thought on adding a tab for the stats to the UI where you have the Articles and stuff? Website only and restarting the game to view them?
    Thanks for testing features prior to release … oh wait

    Edit:
    Just did a tutorial on GWE again and now it counted. So they might have adjusted something in the Backend
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2019
  49. TinTin_57

    TinTin_57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Messages:
    933
    Likes Received:
    782
    So what I have found TrainSim-Dmitri TrainSim-Matt and all, is that anything I did on GWE with the HST has tracked, did 1 service and the reach 120mph. I did 2 services today with the 166 though and that did not track, nor did levelling up the 166. The GWE Tutorial I did in the 66 also tracked

    Tutorial on NTP registered (Class 101), services did not with the 45

    Tutorial on MSB registered (BR185.2), not done anything else there

    Tutorial on LIRR registered (M7 Tutorial), not done anything else there

    So is it an issue with certain locos not fully tracking?
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2019
  50. Trenomarcus

    Trenomarcus Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    126
    No retroactivity, heavy penalization of long-time players (so hard to get new levels if you start from level 50, for example), no ability to ignore the feature (you need to see and skip the mastery screen each time). That's probably the best new addition DTG made to any of their games ever :love:
     

Share This Page