1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is Dpu Operation Supported In Caltrain Or Oakville

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Stockton Rails, Mar 27, 2020.

  1. Stockton Rails

    Stockton Rails Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2020
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    35
    Can anyone tell me if DPU operation is supported (i.e. confirmed working) in either the Caltrain or Oakville routes? I’ve got a working 4-loco MU’d consist up and running no problem in Oakville, using the Hamilton Explorer as my test bed for checking things out. Now I’m trying to get a DPU config up and running there as well, and so far have not been able to do that.

    I was using only two locos in my initial DPU attempt- 1 loco (configured as lead) up front, and another (also configured as lead) halfway back in the train- with both banking radios on between them. Do I need to be running 2 MU’d pairs for DPU to work in the sim- 1 MU pair up front and another MU pair further back- with the lead units in each MU pair syncing to each other over the banking radios? Any help on all of this is appreciated... if some appropriate DTG folks can also chime-in on this, that would be great too.
     
  2. deans.ma

    deans.ma New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2020
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    16
    I would imagine it would work, at least on the Peninsula (not too confident about Oak Sub), let me know if it works or not!

    -Dean
     
  3. Stockton Rails

    Stockton Rails Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2020
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    35
    Thanks for the response, Dean. I will keep everyone posted... I can only assume (hope), that since they already have the Banking Comm radios used with DPU in Oakville Sub, that distributed power operation was supposed to be supported in that route. As to whether they actually got that up and running- I have no idea.

    (DTG-Matt, DTG-Dimitri- can one of you guys please chime-in on whether DPU operation is supported in any routes on the PS4? The banking radios for it are already there in Oakville Sub- is it supported anywhere in that?)
     
  4. Stockton Rails

    Stockton Rails Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2020
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    35
    Well, as luck (and some hard work) would have it- I actually got my first DPU train up and running last night using the Hamilton Explorer scenario in Oakville Sub! It is verified working- have confirmed that the remote consist (1 x MU’d lead/trail pair) located mid-train throttles up and down in sync with the lead consist up front (another MU’d lead/trail pair). Note the banking radios are NOT all on... only the banking radio in the lead unit in the lead consist needs to be turned on- and we only do that once all of the other units have been properly set up (or ‘conditioned’ as they call it) for DPU operation.

    Will supply the details on all of the loco configs later... want to document all of this in this thread so that we have a record of it should anyone else want to try this out. And we also now know it’s possible to do this in Oakville Sub... though unsure if DPU ops is supported in other routes where the banking radios are in place. Pretty exciting.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. matthewbguilford

    matthewbguilford Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    814
    Hi! I have tried to do this as well following the instructions from the manuals that include multiple units but didn’t seem to have any luck.
     
  6. Stockton Rails

    Stockton Rails Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2020
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    35
    First, thanks for responding to this thread... are you having trouble with getting multiple locos, all at the front of the train (directly connected), working properly? Or are you having trouble with getting a DPU (Distributed Power Units) train up and running (with loco pairs in the middle or even rear of the train)? And which routes and engines are we talking about?

    My DPU work so far has been limited to the Hamilton Explorer scenario in Oakville Sub, and I definitely have a DPU train fully up and running there (based on GP9RM and GP38-2 engines). I suspect the UP engines in the Caltrain route, and the CSX engines in the NEC route *might* also support DPU operation as well, since they all have Banking COMM radios in them... but that’s a guess at this point and I haven’t tested either of them yet.
     
  7. Stockton Rails

    Stockton Rails Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2020
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    35
    Well, gang... here’s that info I promised you on how to get a fully functional DPU (Distributed Power Units) train configured in Oakville Sub using the GP9RM and GP38-2 locos. I built and tested this using the Hamilton Explorer in Oakville as a sort of proving ground, and the train works as it should (note I used a set of 4 tankers as a test load between the two consists).

    Hope you guys try this out for yourself when you have some time, and enjoy seeing a functional DPU freight train work in TSW 2020 as much as I do... it was a little tedious for sure, but definitely worth the effort.

    P.S. Be sure to check out the notes section at the end for some add’l info related to this work... will try to get answers to some of those soon.

    Procedure:
    • Configure the remote (mid-train) consist first per the settings below, leave both Banking radios off
    • Configure the leading consist next per the settings listed below... once the leading consist is complete, then turn on the Banking radio only in the lead unit of this consist
    • Verify proper operation of the remote consist: it should now throttle up and down in sync with the lead consist (can verify this using in-game cameras near the remote consist)
    Initial Settings:

    >> Remote consist (MU’d pair, located mid-train), Leading engine (CN GP9RM, facing forward):

    Engine Run: On
    Generator Field: On
    Control & Fuel Pump: On
    Throttle: Idle
    Reverser Handle: In (inserted)
    Reverser Setting: Neutral
    Automatic Brake: Handle Off (brakes controlled by lead consist)
    Cut-Out Valve: Cut-Out
    Independent Brake: Release
    MU-2A Valve: Lead or Dead
    Banking Radio: Off (verify the ‘Radio’ circuit breaker is On)

    >> Remote consist (MU’d pair, located mid-train), Trailing engine (CN GP38-2, facing rear of train):

    Engine Run: On
    Generator Field: Off
    Control & Fuel Pump: On
    Throttle: Idle
    Reverser Handle: Out (removed)
    Reverser Setting: Neutral
    Automatic Brake: Handle Off
    Cut-Out Valve: Cut-Out
    Independent Brake: Release
    MU-2A Valve: Trail 6 or 26
    Banking Radio: Off

    >> Lead consist (MU’d pair, located at head of train), Leading engine (CN GP9RM, facing forward):

    Engine Run: On
    Generator Field: On
    Control & Fuel Pump: On
    Throttle: Idle
    Reverser Handle: In (inserted)
    Reverser Setting: Neutral
    Automatic Brake: Full Service
    Cut-Out Valve: Freight
    Independent Brake: Release
    MU-2A Valve: Lead or Dead
    Banking Radio: Off (verify the ‘Radio’ circuit breaker is On)

    >> Lead consist (MU’d pair, located at head of train), Trailing engine (CN GP38-2, facing rear of train):

    Engine Run: On
    Generator Field: Off
    Control & Fuel Pump: On
    Throttle: Idle
    Reverser Handle: Out (removed)
    Reverser Setting: Neutral
    Automatic Brake: Handle Off
    Cut-Out Valve: Cut-Out
    Independent Brake: Release
    MU-2A Valve: Trail 6 or 26
    Banking Radio: Off

    Add’l notes:

    The locomotives participating in Banking communication must be the same type- i.e. GP9RM communicating with another GP9RM, GP38-2 with a GP38-2, etc. (I’ll try to confirm this with DTG tech support... will keep you posted)

    It looks like all CN locos in the Oakville Sub have Banking radios in them- as do the UP locos in the Caltrain route and CSX locos in the NEC route. I suspect working Distributed Power trains could be built using any of the freight engines in any of these routes... but again, I haven’t tested any of that out just yet.

    I’m also assuming that this DPU config can be used on the other TSW 2020 supported platforms as well (PC, Xbox)... but I have no way to test that out.
     

Share This Page