Lzb Sticking To 200km/h - Inconsistencies In Speed Limit On Same Services

Discussion in 'TSW3 Launch Feedback' started by redrev1917, Sep 8, 2022.

  1. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    2,593
    Likes Received:
    5,507
    Dont know what Im doing something wrong but often when I start a service on SKW in either the ICE1 or ICE3 the LZB will stick to 200km/h even when the line speed changes. But if I restart the same service 2 or 3 times I can get finally get LZB to follow the track speed.

    I run with PZB LZB, SIFA and AFB all turned on.
    upload_2022-9-8_11-37-53.png
     
    • Like Like x 4
  2. breblimator

    breblimator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    4,119
    Likes Received:
    4,623
    Weather - wind dependent / it could be the reason, what was mentioned by Matt during one of the streams but I am not 100% sure this is exactly your 'case'. BR o7
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  3. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    2,593
    Likes Received:
    5,507
    Im running in journey mode so in theory no dynamic weather and I arent returning back to the main menu to restart - just restarting the run from the options menu so I think we can discount that theory but thanks for trying to help :)
     
  4. Luke8899

    Luke8899 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2020
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    1,340
    In the image you have posted, your AFB lever appears to be set to 200kmph (the blue marker and outline), so your train will not go faster than this.

    LZB will increase and decrease the speed whilst under LZB but only within the maximum speed you set with the AFB lever, so if you have the lever at 200kmph, the train will not exceed that to reach the speed LZB allows (the red marker).
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    2,593
    Likes Received:
    5,507
    AFB is set to maximum

    upload_2022-9-8_11-49-45.png
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  6. breblimator

    breblimator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    4,119
    Likes Received:
    4,623
    The weather in Journey is dynamic but you just can't choose the starting conditions, from what I know. However, this could be a bug too :)
     
  7. breblimator

    breblimator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    4,119
    Likes Received:
    4,623
    Worth mention it happens to me as well!
     
  8. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    2,593
    Likes Received:
    5,507
    That makes me feel better thats its not just me, DTG JD did say dynamic weather isnt in journey mode at all however.and Ive certainly not experienced any changes in my travels.
     
  9. YASUKE

    YASUKE Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2021
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    32
    It’s not a bug, when I made the last ICE run to Kassel at night, LZB won’t let me go above 200km/h maybe because of safety, plus why would you want to go faster since you will still have to wait a 6min at a station
     
  10. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    2,593
    Likes Received:
    5,507
    I think Ive worked it out... if you leave the orginiating station just 1 second early you get line speed otherwise it seems to stick you to 200km/h.
    I assume the services Ive noted it on are limited to 200km/h but by leaving early you are tricking the game into thinking youre running a different service so lets you run line speed. Well thats my current theory on the subject any way.

    Edit - scratch that just started again leaving on time and its let me run at line speed. Im really at a lose here.
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2022
    • Like Like x 3
  11. dangerousdave

    dangerousdave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2020
    Messages:
    1,622
    Likes Received:
    1,540
    Your not the only one. I've followed the tutorials and still struggle. I'm starting to wonder if piloting a space shuttle is as complicated?
     
  12. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    5,617
    Just to confirm I'm seeing the same. I've tried various resets of the systems and leaving bang on time. Still doesn't seem to be hitting vmax. Service we're doing perhaps?
     
  13. Yerolo

    Yerolo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Messages:
    1,003
    Likes Received:
    2,021
    With the AFB lever on max, you should be getting 330km/h max (not 280km/h). Check that afb is set to VSoll (a button on back wall in ICE 1 or in the MFD in ICE 3)
     
  14. CowBoyWolf

    CowBoyWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    2,150
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    330 km/h is the ICE 3 top speed 280 km/h is the ICE 1 top speed
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  15. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    8,723
    Likes Received:
    12,682
    LZB may be keeping you a set distance behind a train ahead, or keeping you to schedule (ie it wastes energy to go full throttle and arrive 10 minutes early, or blast up to a red signal and stop.)
     
    • Like Like x 3
  16. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    2,593
    Likes Received:
    5,507
    None of that explains why the same service randomly has different speed limits depending on some unknown factor
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Luk396-e464

    Luk396-e464 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    27
    I had the same problem. I played a service ICE 3 (switched on: LZB, AFB set at 330 Km/h, Pzb and SIFA) from Fulda to Kassel and the maximum speed limit always was 200 km/h, even if the route is 250 km/h. The weather was clear (not dynamic) without wind.
     
  18. breblimator

    breblimator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    4,119
    Likes Received:
    4,623
    Maybe this is because of the traffic ahead? Just theory. Some of the services I played were not limited this way.
     
  19. Luk396-e464

    Luk396-e464 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    27
    I had seen if there were trains next to me, but the nearest train was stop at kassel
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Choo choo

    Choo choo Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    223
    Quoting this post from DTG Lukas in this thread:

    https://forums.dovetailgames.com/threads/curious-about-lzb-on-skw.58161/
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 3
  21. Choo choo

    Choo choo Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    223
    If there was traffic ahead you wouldn't just be limited to 200. Your allowed speed would jump up and down as the distance between your train and the train ahead increases/decreases.
     
  22. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    2,593
    Likes Received:
    5,507
  23. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    5,617
    I've had this in journey and service made.
    Vsoll button is hit and all safety systems on. I'm fairly confident there's something untoward here as it's not every service
     
    • Like Like x 2
  24. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    2,593
    Likes Received:
    5,507
    Ive just done the NJ which is limited to 160km/h (presumably because of the motorail carriages at the rear) and the Speed Limit reads 160km/h which matches the LZB maximum rather than showing higher, I am now convinced that the random 200km/h maximum for the ICE1 & ICE3 is a bug and not working as intended.
     
  25. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    5,617
    ICE793 chapter 1.
    Clear weather
    Limited to 200kph
    LZB on
    AZB on and Vsoll hit]
    Sifa Off
    Playing on PC.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  26. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    5,617
    Now, I am wondering after running ICE793 whether or not this is intentional or not with what the train is doing. It's interesting because the game is showing line speed was a lot higher however allowing LZB to do its thing I'm bang on time

    TrainSim-Matt are you able to provide any clarity as to whether it's user error on our part or as it should be at all please?

    upload_2022-9-9_15-55-13.png
     
  27. Dath Vater 208

    Dath Vater 208 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2021
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    165
    Blue marker is LZB max speed (Or some system that reduces loco's/unit's max speed, like in br Class 08) Red marker is for line speed. Blue outline shows to what speed AFB is set to
     
  28. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    5,617
    Just to further add to this. I've run another service and it's absolutely fine so perhaps it is service specific redrev1917 ?
     
  29. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    2,593
    Likes Received:
    5,507
    My gripe is that if you restart the same service in the same conditions then you get differing speeds, perhaps it intentional and controlled by wind speed as been suggested or something.

    I just dont like knowing why something does something lol
     
    • Like Like x 1
  30. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    5,617
    Equally perplexed/curious here.
     
  31. March Hare

    March Hare Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2022
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    261
    Journey mode may not include dynamic weather, i.e. clear skies to cloudy, etc. But it's possible that the new wind physics are separate from that dynamic weather engine and are active in non-dynamic weather modes... That's just my theory.

    Yes, it would be nice to get official confirmation from DTG. It should be a quick answer.
     
  32. Gurkonier

    Gurkonier New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2022
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have the same problem with the ICE 1 at Köln-Aachen. Stuck at 200 km/h on a track, which allows 250 km/h.

    On Kassel-Würzburg it works fine.
     
  33. Train Sim 9723

    Train Sim 9723 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    844
    I’ve also been wondering how I can travel only at 250km in ICE1 but hud says an upcoming of 280, but when it goes into effect, i get no speed up with LZB despite AFB set to maximum with Vsoll

    haven’t noticed any train ahead, and neither am I seeming to get slowed on the LZB monitor that looks ahead
     
  34. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    5,617
    Just done another run ICE630 service and this was my graph. Anyone at DTG confirm whether there is something at playing locking these services to 200kph. I'm running to time but It seems weird as there doesn't appear to be anything else on the line. DTG JD is this something you could put on your radar if possible please? This is with LZB in control.

    upload_2022-9-13_16-19-25.png
     
  35. thomastl59374

    thomastl59374 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2020
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    603
    I've managed to have LZB set to 250 kmh with both the ICE 1 and ICE 3. Sometimes it drops me down to 200 at certain points but then puts be back up again. I've left both late and on time and been able to get to 250 and sometimes set to 280 but not been able to reach it. It's different everytime so it must be weather dependent or due to other traffic
     
  36. DTG JD

    DTG JD Director of Community Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2021
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    6,732
  37. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    2,593
    Likes Received:
    5,507
    JD that doesn't explain why when in none dynamic weather the same service in the same weather gives differing speed limits on different runs.
     
  38. stujoy

    stujoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2019
    Messages:
    5,382
    Likes Received:
    14,100
    I haven’t been limited to 200 yet but have done runs in the same clear calm weather situation where some services have been limited to 250 and some free to go to 280 and I couldn’t tell what was different, certainly not wind as that was set to zero on all runs.

    I’m sure Lukas has answered with what is supposed to happen but is it also just randomly restricting the speed at times when it shouldn’t because of a bug? I can’t tell what’s going on.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  39. DTG JD

    DTG JD Director of Community Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2021
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    6,732
    Lukas is just testing this now. Will report back when I know more (may not be until tomorrow).
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 4
    • Like Like x 1
  40. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    2,593
    Likes Received:
    5,507
    Thanks JD, I think we all appreicate that these random bugs are the hardest to diagnosis and even recognise, so if I can assist in any way please let me know?
     
  41. bljohansson#4171

    bljohansson#4171 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2022
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    28
    Journey mode, my 15th ICE run on KWG, ICE 90. I restarted the service after LZB limited me to 200 and was then allowed to go faster than 250 for the very first time.
     
  42. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    2,593
    Likes Received:
    5,507
    Managed to get 2 runs back to back on ICE90 service showing the difference in speed limits on video.

     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2022
    • Like Like x 2
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  43. redrev1917

    redrev1917 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2021
    Messages:
    2,593
    Likes Received:
    5,507
    If we compare chieflongshin graphs to my graph below for service ICE 1580 (which I believe is timetabled to run at 200km/h), we can see mine shows the limit as 200km/h whereas his shows a higher limit. Clearly some inconsistencies here, which coupled with my video above points to an issue IMO

    upload_2022-9-13_21-55-23.png
     
    • Like Like x 1
  44. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    5,617
    Good video to illustrate there's definitely some coded witchcraft playing silly devils
     
    • Like Like x 1
  45. CowBoyWolf

    CowBoyWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    2,150
    Likes Received:
    1,454
  46. DTG JD

    DTG JD Director of Community Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2021
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    6,732
    Lukas is testing at the moment and it appears this isn't as intended. We're investigating.
     
    • Like Like x 4
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  47. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    5,617
    Ice1285 ran ok today. All as ordered
     
  48. raretrack

    raretrack Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2020
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    207
    I've just encountered my first 200kmh max in an ICE3 in Journey Mode (IC1590). LZB / SIFA enabled, AFB enabled and set to V soll Freigabe and 330kmh, but ICE3 won't go over 200kmh. Frustrating!
     
  49. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    5,617
    Morning JD, any further update on this at all? I've tried ICE796 in journey mode on PC and it's locking me out at 160km (LZB and AZB are set to highest speed). I've looked on the map and cannot see any freight or slow moving services ahead.

    Screenshot (369).png
     
  50. Scott295

    Scott295 Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    15
    The picture shows you are under PZB (mode O) which has a maximum speed of 160kmh so the speed limit is correct in this case. Only LZB would allow you to go above that speed, or you could just switch off PZB but that would not be realistic.
     

Share This Page