1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New York Penn Tunnel Bug

Discussion in 'Technical Reports' started by DB628, Aug 16, 2019.

  1. DB628

    DB628 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    343
    This Bug happen always at the same Place when you’re driving near New York Penn on LIRR and NEC since 1 year D3EC07F7-AED7-4969-BD42-DBC1747A5321.jpeg
     
    • Like Like x 3
  2. TinTin_57

    TinTin_57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    1,123
    Oh still doing it? Haven’t tried again since the update but I’m sure I saw that was fixed in the release notes
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. DB628

    DB628 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    343
    I’ve tried it just after the update, and it’s still available as Bug, so it’s not fixed
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Vinnie

    Vinnie Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    137
    Yep, unfortunately the bug persists. At the exact same spot (2 spots btw)
    It's not something happening randomly or hard to be fixed
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. ildario77

    ildario77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    173
    I confirm. Still there. Please, fix it!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Disintegration7

    Disintegration7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    267
    That's disappointing. It was listed as fixed in the patch notes.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Dagrynn

    Dagrynn Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    17
    Yep, still there. *sigh*
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. ildario77

    ildario77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    173
    Did anybody submit a ticket for this? I just submitted one. I love this game, but is not acceptable that such a big issue is still unfixed after months. It totally kills the experience. That's why I put LIRR and NEC on hold, despite my love for urban sceneries...
     
    • Like Like x 3
  9. dac634

    dac634 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Saw this today as well...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. DB628

    DB628 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    343
    TrainSim-Matt TrainSim-Dmitri please fix this Bug in the Next weeks, it’s disappointed to see a One Year Bug still included, it makes no fun to play in the New York Tunnel, because there two parts, the second is when you drive on NEC New York in Destination to Newark.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. ren007nix

    ren007nix New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    10
    I also have this bug. Everytime at the same spot.
     
  12. LIRRGuy

    LIRRGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2019
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    269
    do the services to and from Atlantic Terminal.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. UnlimitedMagic

    UnlimitedMagic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    860
    True but I want to do it from penn too
     
  14. ildario77

    ildario77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    173
    I completed the scenario Maintenance Maneuver last night and everything was fine. Maybe the tunnel disappears just in timetable mode...
     
  15. Crochunter1970

    Crochunter1970 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    131
    Yep, it still happens on the xbox version. Sadly, its not fixed as tge patch notes promised.
     
  16. synthetic.angel

    synthetic.angel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2019
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    1,311
    Oh wow..... I had just posted...waxing lyrical about how wonderful TSW is on the PS4:
    https://forums.dovetailgames.com/threads/lirr-jamaica-journey-fails-at-start.17742/#post-93051

    Then I thought I would test out this Penn Tunnel issue - expecting to have no problem. But there is a problem here. If you head down the tunnel at over 50mph, the sim can't draw the wall textures fast enough. Even if you are pinned to the driver's seat. This is weird, because the sim design for the tunnel could have been done with quite few resources - the wall textures are mostly duplicated, so they can be ready in memory for recall and display, faster than the swish of a cat's tail (and even faster....).

    So I stopped the train and had a look at the build, expecting to see outrageously high definition wall textures. Nope - actually, they are really low definition. Poor quality even (and this is not a big problem for me - as they don't really need to be high quality). These textures really should not be lagging when loading. Especially since outside the tunnel there is absolutely nothing to draw to soak up resources.

    Then I saw the construction of the prims. Oh wow. This was done in some hurry, in a totally slap-dash way. The concrete blocks actually massively overlap each other, which would make drawing them over and over again extremely resource intensive (the structure becomes overly complex to render).

    To fix this issue the entire tunnel would need to be rebuilt, from scratch, by someone capable of building and joining prims with some precision, without overlaps or misaligned seams. It would probably take about ten to fifteen hours, maybe a bit more to clean up the ends. Then you could upgrade the textures and also have a really nice looking wall, that didn't lag.

    The thing that disappointed me the most, however, is that the tunnel doesn't have a floor, or a continuous floor. (Yes, you fall into the nether world....). It's really incredibly bad design - because it is possible to stop the LIRR train, open the front door, and drop down to the tracks. This is foreseeable. It might even be desirable. So - the world, in the tunnel, must be designed with a physical floor. It isn't. Truly shocking.

    EDITED TO NOTE: In this post I said "outside the tunnel there is absolutely nothing to draw to soak up resources". This is potentially incorrect. After the "Change at Jamaica" scenario was fixed, I realised that Long Island City (LIC) is built above these tunnels, and these LIC artefacts are being drawn (but hidden from normal view), while you are in the tunnel, soaking up processing resources - I will revisit this. There is a problem with just one of the four tunnels - so this is fixable.
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2019
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Vinnie

    Vinnie Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    137
    The other tunnels stream correctly, I don't think it's a memory issue or something like this. So basically they forgot to render this particular tunnel correctly IMO.
     
  18. ildario77

    ildario77 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    173
    I beg you: apply for a job at DTG :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2019

Share This Page