1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie Question

Discussion in 'PC' started by Lightwalker, Mar 20, 2019.

  1. Lightwalker

    Lightwalker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I'm new to train sims and know almost nothing abaut trains. But I'm enjoying this game as a starter.

    My problem is when I play the tutorial for Amtrack for example I'm learning to handle the battery, pantograph, MCB, headlights etc. But when I start the first scenario in New York I don't get to control these. I'm only allowed to drive the train with throttle and brakes. Starting the train in a complicated manner is not the case.

    I see people on youtube doing those things and I want that. How do they do that?
     
  2. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    812
    Depends on the scenario and how the unit is set up when you start, so look for scenarios where you're cold starting rather than taking over a live unit
     
  3. Lightwalker

    Lightwalker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, is there any DLC that contains this kind of cold starting scenarios? The New York Amtrak scenarios for example seemed rather few to me.
     
  4. PlatChap

    PlatChap Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    271
    It's been a while since I have played the route but IIRC Heavy Haul may have one cold start scenario
     
  5. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    812
    Not that I'm aware of. There isn't much DLC for this game as yet
     
  6. Lightwalker

    Lightwalker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't find it on steam page
     
  7. PlatChap

    PlatChap Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    271
    It comes with the base version of the game now. You should already have it
     
  8. Lightwalker

    Lightwalker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    ah ok, thanks
     
  9. Lightwalker

    Lightwalker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know why DTG made it this way. I think every scenario should start with cold starting the train for a full simulation experience.
     
  10. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    812
    Not sure it would be realistic in every instance. Maybe if the scenario starts in the depot this would be true, but from my experience in the UK at least any train that pulls into a station which is going to pull out again doesn't shut down completely
     
  11. Lightwalker

    Lightwalker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, that makes sense but I don't think it's fun that way :D
     
  12. Lightwalker

    Lightwalker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    I quickly searched and went thru the Amtrack scenarios in NEC (there was only 3) and none of them starts cold.I just don't get it. There is a tutorial on how to start the train but you can't apply it in a so called "train simulator". Ridiculous and very disappointing. Way to go DTG.
     
  13. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    812
    Well you can, in the tutorial. If there are no scenarios (yet) with it included that's something else.
     
  14. Michael Newbury

    Michael Newbury Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    594
    You could always spawn yourself into the the rail yard where the trains are stored and climb aboard one and preform the cold starts.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  15. Lightwalker

    Lightwalker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    The tutorial lasts a few minutes at most
     
  16. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    812
    Starting an engine lasts a few minutes at most (steam engines aside)
     
  17. Lightwalker

    Lightwalker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    The tutorial tells you everything you should do and ends in a few minutes, where is the fun in that? I want to do it myself without being told.
     
  18. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    812
    Which you can do as per Michael Newbury above.
    I'm not disagreeing with you that there could (should) be the possibility of doing the complete "start in the canteen, walk through the yard, start the damn thing, couple up and run a service" scenario, in fact my first workshop scenario in TSx was similar to that in forming a consist and moving it to the start point of a run
     
  19. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,409
    Likes Received:
    1,512
    You can shut it down and then start it again.
     
  20. Lightwalker

    Lightwalker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK I'm gonna try that
     

Share This Page