1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Outside Sounds In Cab At Random?

Discussion in 'Known Issues & Bug Reports' started by J van E, Sep 26, 2017.

  1. J van E

    J van E Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    47
    Frequently I suddenly hear the outside sound of the train I am driving while in the cab. Switching to an outside view and back again solves this. Bug...?
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  2. rwaday

    rwaday Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    49
    Same here, reproducible.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  3. Hellomynameis

    Hellomynameis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    8
    It can't always be solved. It's been the case for me several times now that switching between inside and outside views does nothing, no matter how often you do it.

    It once solved itself when driving under a bridge, though; but that could be coincidental. To me it would appear that, if the sound changes while driving, it can be solved by switching between inside and outside views, while if it changes while waiting in a large station (at least at the beginning of a game), it can't be solved (or in any case I haven't found a way to do so).
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 3
  4. BailsBach

    BailsBach New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Same here.
     
  5. pschlik

    pschlik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Sounds like a bug with the reverb effects, I have also had it fix itself when going under a bridge/somewhere where you would expect the game to do echoing. It's an interesting correlation, probably does mean something is up with the system at large.
     
  6. keksman

    keksman Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    130
    Same issue. I also have another problem with the sound. If you walk into the train as a passenger the Sound of the Train gets quiet immediatly as if the doors were closed after doing one step into the train.
    To be honest I dont know if you can consider this a Sound feature that should be added or a Bug.
     
  7. J van E

    J van E Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    47
    There is a bug with the sound: in the cab you usually also can't hear the engine and other sounds. Seems that as soon as you are inside the sounds are being cut off. When this will be fixed the problem you are describing will probably also be fixed automatically. I hope. ;)
     
  8. class350

    class350 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    7
    I second the reverb thing. Kind of. On the GWE route, the issue does not occur (no matter how hard I try to make it happen) at Reading. (Plz try yourself to confirm this) but it does happen at the London end. This makes me think it is maybe not reverb, but some ambient sound issue? Maybe the London "city sounds" corrupt the coding for the train sounds. Just my thoughts.
     
  9. Darthtool

    Darthtool New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    4
    just registered to comment here, i have this problem too.. i lose the quieter cab sounds towards the london end of the GWR line.

    Looking at the date this first was posted i guess dovetail are not concerned with fixing anything, just pumping out the Dlc's. will bear this in mind when deciding whether to purchase anything else from this developer.
     
  10. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    352
    Having never experienced this so-called "bug", except, of course, while driving with a cab window or door open, -- well, there's nothing more to add.
     
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  11. londonmidland

    londonmidland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    475
    It happens occasionally after you return to the cab after activating the outside cam. Also sounds can randomly get louder and quieter in the cab once you’ve reached a certain speed.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  12. class350

    class350 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    7
    Dtg have confirmed the issue lies within Unreal Engine 4, and the way it handles sound with your compiter's hardware. Basically if it is too strained, the cpu bottlenecks and the sound is what goes first. Because of this, dtg can not do anything. However, they should have realised this when building the game originally. It seems a particular combination of PC components must be 'fatal' for the game when dealing with cpu and performance, so people at the top end of the recommended spec likely will not experience this.
     
  13. Darthtool

    Darthtool New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    4
    This is how it is for me too, only at the London end of the line does it occur with me, but not at all if i stay in cab view and not touch any of the doors/windows.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  14. class350

    class350 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    7
    I reckon we have similar hardware then. Nothing can be done really. With the exception of customer care, I love this game though. I'm considering upgrading my cpu, as I am really missing being abke to drive in tsw. I only made 2 successful runs on GWE in all the time it has been released. If you love the game, I'm afraid that's what you're all gonna have to do too. If anyone has this bug and meets or exceeds the recommended hardware set for TSW, please let me know.
     
  15. Puffing Nora

    Puffing Nora Guest

    I have an i5 cpu, 16gb ram, gtx1060 and get the same issue. No idea why.
     
  16. 333talgo

    333talgo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    290
    I do not think the problem is related to the specifications of the computers. It usually happens when you put an external camera, or when you open a window or a door, leaving the external sound in the internal camera as well. Also, it seems that it does not happen in all the locomotives. For example, in my case I notice that the DB BR143 and the 185 works very well, while in the NTP I experience the problem again with the 47, 45 and the 101.

    I hope the problem can be solved as it is quite annoying
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  17. Darthtool

    Darthtool New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    4
    i7 8700k (4.9 ghz)
    16gb ram
    gtx 1080 ftw
    x-fi extreme (pci ex)

    if this is too low, what kind of computer where they aiming this release at exactly? the sound is glitchy as hell, but it all seems to be tied into broken Reverberation effects in the engine.. the same thing happened when i tried my onboard audio and a newer Sound blaster card on a second pc.
     
  18. Darthtool

    Darthtool New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    4
    I am certain its a bug in the game, if i switch to outside then back to inside on the trans penine route around the manchester or leeds hub i get the problem, there 100%.. if i reload the save it goes away until i change views again or leave the station, if hardware was an issue it would be there all the time regardless.
     
  19. londonmidland

    londonmidland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    475
    This is definitely a software problem and *not* a hardware problem. More specifically it’s one of quite a few problems with the Unreal Engine sound software.

    I don’t think Unreal Engine was designed to deal with multiple sound sources at once, hence why sometimes we get sounds not playing correctly or not at all in some cases.

    The only way DTG can fix this issue is to purchase a separate sound system for UE4, and not use the default one.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  20. SamYeager270

    SamYeager270 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    248
    UE have a new audio system in UE4.20 and according to the write-up there's some sort of reverb option in UE4.21. How much better it is than the current sound system is another matter altogether.

    Since DTG are currently using UE4.16 they would need to migrate to one of these later engines to make use of this functionality. The last article about the editor explicitly mentioned using 4.16.3 so I have my doubts that they will migrate any time soon,excluding testing, but happy to be proved wrong.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  21. Darthtool

    Darthtool New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    4
    the "Driving rain" scenario on the trans-penine route has the bug right from the start 100% re-producable.. frankly its starting to become irritating.

    so without any sort of update to the Unreal engine there will be no fix? will DTG even acknowledge the issue?
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  22. class350

    class350 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    7
    This is odd. About your hardware, I mean. You should contact dtg, making it clear you have more than sufficient hardware, and asking why, with the recommended hardware, you are experiencing a major bug that was not picked up during testing. And mwybe ask why others, quite possibly with hardware less then yours, are not experiencing this. I was almost willing to semi-forgive dtg if it was my computer that was incapable, but from what you say, I reckon this game is ridiculously unstable.
     
  23. class350

    class350 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    7
    By the way dtg worded their response, there will not be a fix for this unless unreal update their stuff. I can't see them doing that though, just for a developer worth such a small percentage of their market. I also planned on upgrading my desktop to reccomended specs, but If you (darthtool) with hardware much better than mine are also experiencing this, then I'll definitely save my money for the moment. I wouldn' know what to think if I splashed out several hundred dollars on new components, just to find out it made 0 difference.
     
  24. class350

    class350 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    7
    Can I ask what hardware you have? And would you mind doing a run on the GWE route, constantly opening and shutting doors, windows, and constantly swapping between inside and external views, especially on detailed and busy areas on the route? Just to see if you notice anything like what we have said, even if it is omly brief or temporary.
     

Share This Page