1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Questions : Köln - Aachen

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by DTG Protagonist, Jul 14, 2020.

  1. Cael

    Cael Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    411
    Are the timetables going to reflect real running times to provide a comfortable drive?
    Or are we going to be forced to be fashionably late at every stop, same as HHR?
     
    • Like Like x 5
  2. LucasLCC

    LucasLCC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2020
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    1,047
    I guess there's also that country called Canada.

    However, it would be nice to know if Train Sim World will actually cover more of the world!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Monder

    Monder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    430
    The 422/423 interior at 0:17 and Dostos at 0:35 have already been mentioned, so I hope there will be some commentary on that.

    As for my questions:
    - We know the maximum allowed speed is 250 km/h, but ICE3M can reach 320 with ease. Can the game handle it?
    - After talking about ICE3M and R9 services the article says "In addition to these services you will have a variety of other scenarios and services for you to enjoy as you play." What "other services" can we expect?
    - It might be just a trailer sound design, but what is the actual sound of the ICE door closing? Along with a characteristic beeping, they usually close with a proper smack to shut properly and then you can hear air getting sucked from the gap, so they stick to the frame at high speeds. Are these elements represented?

    (also DTG Protagonist - you still owe me the dual speed limit answer from last time :D )
     
    • Like Like x 4
  4. Rob Jansen

    Rob Jansen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    977
    In the trailer they are:
    upload_2020-7-14_19-36-45.png

    More clearly here:
    upload_2020-7-14_19-38-14.png

    The wheel flange is on the wrong side, when going over a curve you always derail in this position.
    On the promo screenshot it is fine:

    upload_2020-7-14_19-39-18.png
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 5
  5. Higgybaby90

    Higgybaby90 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    99
    Köln Hbf has a very special signalisation in real life. All platforms use "Deckungssignale" to seperate the track into Shorter sections, and drivers are advised to drive up to a red Signal (even if the scheduled stop position is further ahead) and depending on the clear path Speed restrictions vary from 30 to 20 km/h. Additional, the Station is not equipped with distant Signals (from entrance to Exit), that means Trains are not allowed to run through the Station without a stop.
    Is this Special signalisation simulated in any case?
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2020
    • Like Like x 3
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  6. stujoy

    stujoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2019
    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    3,416
    The wheels are the correct way, the flanges are on the inside. What you can see is that the wheels are sunk slightly into the rails, an issue which is being looked into.
     
    • Like Like x 5
    • Helpful Helpful x 3
  7. Scotrail156467

    Scotrail156467 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    241
    Not to be rude myself but the only trains mentioned was the db 442 and the ice 3m

    The 422 wasn't mentioned in any article and in tralier there is a shot of what looks like a 422
     
  8. Scotrail156467

    Scotrail156467 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    241
    I think this person is
     
  9. TheMiekster

    TheMiekster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    6
    no, canada doesnt exist smh
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Alexandreo3

    Alexandreo3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    14
    what are the exact endpoints of the route?
    For example does it include Aachen West Yard for possible future freights services or does it end directly at Aachen main Station?
    And if it ends at the main Station ist the depot there included?
    The same also goes for the other direction.
    Where does it end in cologne?
     
  11. LimitedEdiition

    LimitedEdiition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    530
    What year does this route take place in? I've heard some talk about platform configuration at Koln to be pre-2015 (if I recall correctly).
     
  12. Thelonius16

    Thelonius16 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    209
    What "lessons learned" have you taken from doing other German routes and applied to this one?
     
    • Like Like x 3
  13. Ps4Player

    Ps4Player Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    73
    Will there be a
    EBuLa (Elektronischer Buchfahrplan und Verzeichnis der Langsamfahrstellen/ electronic timetable) in the trains?
     
    • Like Like x 5
  14. ehrenholt

    ehrenholt Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2020
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    159
    Will keyboards be fixed on Xbox (you can't apply the train break on locos with separate throttle and breaks)
     
  15. Rudolf

    Rudolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    751
    I understand it will not be possible to drive the preserved collection rolling stock in the full TSW2 routes. I still do not understand what the real problem is. You need to do some conversions at least to the preserved collection routes. They will run using the new engine, so what features of the new engine will be available at preserved collection routes and what not? A question I have is, will it be possible,maybe very limited to use the scenario planner on preserved collection routes?
    For the scenario planner, just give us a clear but fairly detailed overview of what we can do with it. Some examples:

    - Cold start of an engine
    - Coupling to consists
    - Decoupling along the road.
    - Drive the left track
    - Include first person mode instructions (walk to platform x and wait for the train)
    - Can we save scenarios?

    Or, is it just a creator for something comparable to quickdrive on TS?


    PS Almost forgot, can we see at least a short demo of the scenario planner?

    To be honest, for me this is the most important feature but I do not yet have a lot of confidence it will be fun using it.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2020
    • Like Like x 5
  16. docsnyder1911

    docsnyder1911 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    522
    At 0.35 it looks like a picture with an ICE 3M and 2 Talent 2 in the background.
     
  17. Monder

    Monder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    430
    ICE3-Dosto.png
    It's difficult to say an exact time with frames changing three times per second, but I was talking about this shot and I am somewhat certain those are Dostos right there.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  18. lDanny Holand

    lDanny Holand Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    58
    Will the ICE 3m's run in multiple? And if not by default will the scenario planner allow us to?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  19. matjamca

    matjamca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    1,935
    I’m not convinced. You might be right though.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    3,099
    I mean, a 423 might be coming with the route too...
     
  21. matjamca

    matjamca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    1,935
    I hope so, the more trains the merrier, but no mention of it so far. Maybe a future DLC?
     
  22. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    3,099
    Screenshot_20200714-163841_YouTube.png
     
    • Like Like x 2
  23. kylel098783

    kylel098783 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    15
    Is there actually hidden trains in the trailer?I don't think DTG would even do that to be honest
     
    • Like Like x 1
  24. xavpin234

    xavpin234 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2017
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    44
    will old german locos in preserved collection ever be reintroduced with udated ''physics'' within TSW2 klön aachen
     
  25. matjamca

    matjamca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    1,935
    • Like Like x 1
  26. NekoNina

    NekoNina Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2017
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    527
    That's the passenger compartment of a BR 422. It can't be a Talent 2, as the seats look different on that train. It can't be a 423, as 423s don't have wooden arm rests.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  27. docsnyder1911

    docsnyder1911 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    522
    It seems you have eagle eyes. I would never recon it without your help. The result is great. We will get ICE 3M, Talent 2, DB BR 422 and the Dostos. The last means that we will get the DB BR 146 or 143 for pulling or pushing the Dostos. And it would be perfect if we get freight action with the DB BR 185.2 (like in a leaked picture) and a german diesel shunter.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  28. matjamca

    matjamca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    1,935
    Can you share the leaked picture?
     
  29. docsnyder1911

    docsnyder1911 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    522
    download.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 1
  30. docsnyder1911

    docsnyder1911 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    522
    At the right site there is an intermodal train with probably a DB BR 185.2 at the top.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  31. stujoy

    stujoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2019
    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    3,416
    That’s a building, not a Dosto. EDIT - clearer picture below has made me change my mind...
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2020
    • Like Like x 1
  32. ItsYa165

    ItsYa165 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    147
    -Exactly what trains will we get in this route? I see the ICE 3M, I see the Talent 2... but I also something like a DB BR 425 and a Dosto formation in the trailer.

    -And what locomotive is powering the Dosto formation?

    -Are these locomotives included with the route?-

    -Is it just for people who own it in TSW1?

    -Is DTG therefore using all the locos and models they've created for TSW1 to make busier routes in TSW2?

    -Are we going to see business (busy-ness) sacrifices on the PC edition, even though the recommended system requirements are met or exceeded, if the PS4/Xbox consoles can't handle it?

    -If the Talent and BR 425 are working fine in Koln - Aachen with adhesion and stuff, what does that mean for the Talent and BR 425 in TSW1 routes that are being brought over? Surely standardising the experience with new traction and weight physics isn't rocket science.

    upload_2020-7-14_22-6-12.png
    [​IMG]
    upload_2020-7-14_22-37-43.png
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 14, 2020
    • Like Like x 8
    • Helpful Helpful x 2
  33. ItsYa165

    ItsYa165 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    147
    Scenario planner stuff:

    - Can I send my Bakerloo line train hurdling through the intercity line by pushing it from behind with an ICE 3M?

    - If I create a scenario where I send a train from a station to go off to a branch line that'll lead them to the end of the world, what happens?

    - If I remove the branding from the ICE 3M and paint it bright pink so that it's no longer DeustcheBahn's, can I send this train to it's flipping doom without getting the "Service Failure" screen?
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2020
    • Like Like x 3
  34. ItsYa165

    ItsYa165 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    147
    under the building is a dosto
     
    • Like Like x 2
  35. stujoy

    stujoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2019
    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    3,416
    I was thinking the red thing was part of a building but your image is clearer than I could get and the version above, and it sure does look like a dosto. Add that to the 422 interior and we have a bunch of stuff that isn’t yet announced being teased. Makes me go “hmmmm” and stroke my bearded chin.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  36. DirefulAce0743

    DirefulAce0743 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    5
    Will there be service mode on this? Someone was saying their is timeline mode?
     
  37. MegaSim

    MegaSim Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2019
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    63
    A lot of questions on the exact route. Can we see a map of the route as I guess this has been created already, so knowing the stations. The from and where points and also if we get access to any depots.

    I guess you’ve seen the 0:18 second train in the trailer. Is it a 442 or something else?

    will we get any double ICE’s? As the images and video only show single trains, not double versions.

    will there be more passengers on the platforms and on the trains?

    I think that’s what I’ve got so far.

    thanks in advance!
     
    • Like Like x 3
  38. irvinejamie13

    irvinejamie13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    How long will the route be??
     
  39. eurocityboy

    eurocityboy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    91
    1. Is Köln Hauptbahnhof going to be properly busy? Will there be services on diverging lines in the timetable, or just the Cologne-Aachen trains (a small percentage of all trains at Cologne)?

    2. Will there be services to/from depots, or just A-B runs in the service mode timetable?
     
    • Like Like x 3
  40. Yerolo

    Yerolo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    780
    All the important stuff seems to have already been asked...so I only have 1

    Sam....can we please have a Col Failure voice-over edition of the Köln - Aachen trailer ? Thanks :)
     
    • Like Like x 10
  41. MegaSim

    MegaSim Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2019
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    63
    I second that! A colonel failure edition of the trailer. Absolutely loved the SPG one the other week!
     
    • Like Like x 4
  42. Mkdog45

    Mkdog45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2018
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    681
    Totally agree
     
    • Like Like x 2
  43. LucasLCC

    LucasLCC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2020
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    1,047
    I bet all the questions on the Dosto and 422 will have one answer:

    "We'll be saving these questions for another stream"
     
    • Like Like x 5
  44. Monder

    Monder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    430
    I have a bad feeling that should not have been in the trailer and they're now in the office like "oh no, oh no, oh no..."
     
    • Like Like x 2
  45. ghall59

    ghall59 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2019
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    54
    Scenario Planner - Will the user have the ability to set destination displays on AI services?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  46. midlandsignaller

    midlandsignaller Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2020
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    29
    Scenario Planner - Will I be able to setup a scenario so I can do a out and back service, like start at Harrow & Wealdstone and run to Queens Park detrain go into the reversing siding to change platform and then return to Harrow & Wealdstone?

    Thank You
     
    • Like Like x 3
  47. Ian1991

    Ian1991 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    321
    Generic one,
    1. How many passenger services will be available in total for the route?

    2. Is there any features in the cab/operation of the ICE that we havnt seen before in TSW?

    3. I seen from the video that more trees are present, in TSW1 currently we all know they sort of 'pop' up in into better quality around 10/20m ahead of your train, does this new engine improve that? I know matt explained distant foliage but the spawn quality still the same or will they be loaded without the popping close by?

    Now some generic questions if you have time.

    4. Would DTG consider changing the door controls to a keyboard command for the PC users?

    5. Will we be able to view timetables for this route/others prior to release?

    Finally, are services all running with green lights through-out or will there be 'some' variations where signals play a part in the time keeping?

    thank you.
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2020
    • Like Like x 2
  48. skyMutt

    skyMutt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2019
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    232
    Its fantastic to see a new high speed train in TSW, though I wonder what the experience will be like compared to the previous high speed train in the game, namely the HST on GWR route. One of the things that was added with that release was the ability to have motion blur, to really give that sense of speed. The idea was great, though the blurring implementation in TSW isn't quite ideal, as it'll sometimes show erroneously and warp in weird places.

    > With this in mind, will there be any improvements/changes to motion blur? Will there be an option in the settings to manually turn it off?

    I do apologize in advance if this was already discussed elsewhere, but I felt it was appropriate to address since this is rather relevant to high speed trains. Cheers! :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  49. kylel098783

    kylel098783 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    15
    My lord you guys are going into a full investigation
     
  50. kylel098783

    kylel098783 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    15
    Maybe that would be a horrible fail
     

Share This Page