Roadmap Suggestions

Discussion in 'Suggestions' started by Rudolf, Feb 10, 2021.

Tags:
  1. Rudolf

Rudolf Well-Known Member

Having watched the stream yesterday, for me it feels that not the roadmap itself is the key issue but the organization behind it at DTG. Probably this has a lot to do with the growth of the business and this happens to most companies sooner or later.
    I have a lot of experience with steering software maintenance and organizing the work. So maybe it is helpful to post some ideas, but before that some observations
    - Apparently all DTG development teams are somehow involved in fixing bugs and improvements of the product, but they seem to work very independently.
    - This causes a complete lack of overview on who is doing what.
    - The poor QA problem is informed after the work is done and needs to sort out if this is going to work together and push all effort towards a release schedule.
    - In their enthusiasm a lot of effort is put in trying to make a complete list of all issues to solve and all wishes for improvement.In the stream I saw it happen twice. Adam telling something is a good idea and adding it to his list.

The result of all this is a a lot of communication effort (waste of money) and probably a lot of work that never makes it to production (also a waste of money). and finally long lead times to push anything through the process.

A few things need to be done:

1. Define clear responsibilities by appointing people in the role of product owner. The product owner is the sole person that sets what should be done. You probably will need 3-4 persons having this role. One for the core, and maybe few others to divide the content in a sensible way.
    2. There should be one backlog with all bugs. This backlog is the responsibility of the product owner.