1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Shadows Draw Distance

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mc_melky, May 5, 2019.

  1. mc_melky

    mc_melky New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi, everyone.
    Could you tell me please if there is a way to increase a distance for shadows?
    I tried many things in engine.ini, but it all didn`t work.
    Shadows start to appear approximately at 100-150m. Shadows of trees, bridges, buildings, everything.
    And another annoying thing is at screenshot. You can see that sunlight starts in 100m from the train, but when I move it moves with me at constant distance. I tried to find a solution in the Internet, but it was useless. After all my tries I use only r.ViewDistanceScale=10 in engine.ini.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 111.jpg
      111.jpg
      File size:
      537.8 KB
      Views:
      322
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  2. Tomas9970

    Tomas9970 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    356
    Try pasting this into your engine.ini:

    [/script/engine.renderersettings]
    r.Shadow.DistanceScale=5.0
     
  3. mc_melky

    mc_melky New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    I tried, nothing changed.
     
  4. keksman

    keksman Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    213
    foliage.LODDistanceScale=10 works for the trees
     
  5. mc_melky

    mc_melky New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Are you sure? I tried this one and saw no changes at all. Trees shadows still appear at the distance of 100m.
     
  6. Tomas9970

    Tomas9970 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    356
    Only other thing that I can think of is using the whole cinematic engine scalability for shadows.

    [/script/engine.renderersettings]
    r.LightFunctionQuality=1
    r.ShadowQuality=5
    r.Shadow.CSM.MaxCascades=10
    r.Shadow.MaxResolution=4096
    r.Shadow.MaxCSMResolution=4096
    r.Shadow.RadiusThreshold=0.03
    r.Shadow.DistanceScale=1.0
    r.Shadow.CSM.TransitionScale=1.0
    r.DistanceFieldShadowing=1
    r.DistanceFieldAO=1
    r.VolumetricFog=1
    r.VolumetricFog.GridPixelSize=4
    r.VolumetricFog.GridSizeZ=128

    Alternatively you can use the whole cinematic scalability

    [/script/engine.renderersettings]
    r.PostProcessAAQuality=6
    r.SkeletalMeshLODBias=0
    r.ViewDistanceScale=10.0
    r.LightFunctionQuality=1
    r.ShadowQuality=5
    r.Shadow.CSM.MaxCascades=10
    r.Shadow.MaxResolution=4096
    r.Shadow.MaxCSMResolution=4096
    r.Shadow.RadiusThreshold=0.03
    r.Shadow.DistanceScale=1.0
    r.Shadow.CSM.TransitionScale=1.0
    r.DistanceFieldShadowing=1
    r.DistanceFieldAO=1
    r.VolumetricFog=1
    r.VolumetricFog.GridPixelSize=4
    r.VolumetricFog.GridSizeZ=128
    r.MotionBlurQuality=4
    r.AmbientOcclusionMipLevelFactor=0.4
    r.AmbientOcclusionMaxQuality=100
    r.AmbientOcclusionLevels=-1
    r.AmbientOcclusionRadiusScale=1.0
    r.DepthOfFieldQuality=4
    r.RenderTargetPoolMin=1000
    r.LensFlareQuality=3
    r.SceneColorFringeQuality=1
    r.EyeAdaptationQuality=2
    r.BloomQuality=5
    r.FastBlurThreshold=100
    r.Upscale.Quality=3
    r.Tonemapper.GrainQuantization=1
    r.LightShaftQuality=1
    r.Filter.SizeScale=1
    r.Tonemapper.Quality=5
    r.Streaming.MipBias=0
    r.MaxAnisotropy=8
    r.Streaming.LimitPoolSizeToVRAM=0
    r.Streaming.PoolSize=3000
    r.Streaming.MaxEffectiveScreenSize=0
    r.TranslucencyLightingVolumeDim=64
    r.RefractionQuality=2
    r.SSR.Quality=4
    r.SceneColorFormat=4
    r.DetailMode=2
    r.TranslucencyVolumeBlur=1
    r.MaterialQualityLevel=1 ; High quality
    r.SSS.Scale=1
    r.SSS.SampleSet=2
    r.SSS.Quality=1
    r.SSS.HalfRes=0
    r.EmitterSpawnRateScale=1.0
    r.ParticleLightQuality=2
    foliage.DensityScale=1.0
    grass.DensityScale=1.0

    I copied these from basescalability.ini which is located in Unreal Engine 4 directory.
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2019
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  7. mc_melky

    mc_melky New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    r.Shadow.DistanceScale this one is what I need, but it seems the engine has limitations for shadow distance.
    You can see at my screenshot below what happens when r.Shadow.DistanceScale=1. Now, compare this one and the first one. The same route, the same time, the same conditions. I tried different values and the longest distance for shadows was the same as at the first screenshot of this topic, which is default settings. It`s sad if the engine really has limitations for this :(

    Thank you, Tomas!
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1111.jpg
      1111.jpg
      File size:
      557.6 KB
      Views:
      320
    Last edited: May 6, 2019
    • Useful Useful x 2
  8. crazyhorse4u

    crazyhorse4u New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    16
    Same here in my opinion. Drawing distances and LOD's of trees and shadows also look a bit disturbing and annoying to me. But of course, I understand the low-end GPU aspect. Hopefully it will be editable at some point in the foreseeable future...
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2019
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  9. LimitedEdiition

    LimitedEdiition Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    225
    How much FPS hit did you take with the Shadow Distance Scale set to 1?
     
  10. ASRGT

    ASRGT Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    127
    You wont take any its the standard setting tweak or no tweaks.

    The most you can do is add about an extra 100meters to the draw distance using a value of 2.0 any more than that in my testing results in no further increase.

    Not sure the OP noticed but you do in fact add additional draw between the two pictures
    Standard draw
    [​IMG]
    Extended value (r.Shadow.DistanceScale=2.0) note shadow draw is now past the second set of signals
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2019
    • Useful Useful x 4
  11. LimitedEdiition

    LimitedEdiition Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    225
    Just applied the extra draw distance in my game and the difference is very noticeable. Truly makes driving the in the morning with the sun shadows a more immersive experience. Wished it would allow us to go to the 500 mark, but this is way better than the default options.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  12. crazyhorse4u

    crazyhorse4u New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    16
    Can someone PLEASE upload the correct edited .ini files? I suck big time with these ({[., kind of copy and paste things. THANK YOU so much lads! Mucho appreciated... :cool:
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2019
  13. ASRGT

    ASRGT Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    127
    Honestly giving the ini file may cause you more issues than it solves for you.

    Instructions:
    Type: Windows Key + R
    run.PNG

    Note: Run dialog box will open
    Copy Paste this line into run dialog:
    Code:
    %userprofile%\Documents\My Games\TS2Prototype\Saved\Config\WindowsNoEditor

    run2.PNG
    - Click OK

    Note: Window will now open
    config_dir.PNG

    Right Click on "Engine" select "Edit"

    Note: you will see a notepad window with something similar to this inside :
    edit.PNG

    Now please ignore allot of these commands there simply me playing around.
    The one in question however is:

    Code:
    r.Shadow.DistanceScale=2.0
    If you do not see the section [SystemSettings] simply add it bellow the' Paths = ...' lines.

    Copy Past the below save and your done :D
    Code:
    [SystemSettings]
    r.Shadow.DistanceScale=2.0

    PLEASE DO NOT Copy the other commands in my ini unless your running a 1080ti or higher there rather system destroying :D and as i said allot of them are just there as i was fooling around with this shadows issue .

    If you are intrested commands like the
    Code:
    foliage.LODDistanceScale=10
    will stop tree pop in and
    Code:
    r.StaticMeshLODDistanceScale=0.1
    will avoid Level of detail changes on buildings and static objects again performance killer but hey looks nicer :D







     
    Last edited: May 14, 2019
    • Useful Useful x 4
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  14. crazyhorse4u

    crazyhorse4u New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    16
    Haha! I'm sure you're absolutely right with that .ini file thingy.

    You're way too kind and your help is very much appreciated! *bows* :) Thanks a bunch mate. Will give it a shot as soon as I can... Exactly what I was looking for.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2019
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  15. hyperlord

    hyperlord Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    53
    Nice tweaks, thank you!
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1

Share This Page