1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PC [solved] Can't Change Keys For Opening Doors

Discussion in 'Technical Reports' started by Ignis Lupus, Apr 25, 2021.

  1. Ignis Lupus

    Ignis Lupus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hi,

    since the last update you can open doors independently via two buttons (Y for Left and U for Right). As Y is for my AFB control I changed it to Z. Problem is, it doesn't care in game. Door is still opening via the Y key. Can someone verify this problem? I'm using the QWERTZ keyboard layout.

    Greetings
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. racer050b

    racer050b New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    11
    It's the same here. Even when you remove the control for door opening in the settings menu, the doors still open on the Y key.
    Tested with BR 101 loco.

    I don't need those extra door controls. I can open the doors via the lever in the cab or via TAB menu. That should be enough.

    EDIT: Using QWERTZ layout, just like Ignis Lupus.
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2021
    • Like Like x 2
  3. sequencer2k16

    sequencer2k16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    441
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Ignis Lupus

    Ignis Lupus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    8
    After three months still no fix? Why is it so hard to get the key bindings working?
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2021
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Tigert1966

    Tigert1966 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    838
    Because there are many other things being developed and fixed and this one doesn’t stop you from playing the game. I suspect it’s quite far down the list of things getting fixed.

    Also they have said there will be no more fixes released until after Rush Hour is released.
     
  6. Ignis Lupus

    Ignis Lupus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    8
    One would think that fixing the key binding menu is not that big of a task.

    It does because I can't rebind the keys.

    Did they? Maybe they will release a working DLC for once. But I doubt it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Tigert1966

    Tigert1966 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    838
    It’s probably not the biggest task, but it’s certainly not the most important.

    It certainly doesn’t stop you from playing the game as the option wasn’t even there until a few months ago. There are other ways of opening and closing the doors. I agree I t’s annoying, I reported it myself, especially on a German Keyboard, but it’s not game breaking.
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2021
  8. Ignis Lupus

    Ignis Lupus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    8
    The doors are not my problem. I can't use AFB and other functions on German trains because I can't reassign the door keys.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Tigert1966

    Tigert1966 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    838
    Just a suggestion, don’t know if it helps if not, but I’m pretty sure you can still reassign the AFB keys.

    I’ve certainly reassigned some of the keys on my Swiss German QWERTZ keyboard and they are all fine. For me it’s only the doors that won’t reassign.
     
  10. Ignis Lupus

    Ignis Lupus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    8
    For me too. But I would have to change a lot of other controls so I can use it comfortably. Just because they introduced a new function without testing it properly ... again. Guess I will wait. Maybe they will care about this issue by the end of this year. Until then I just don't use and purchase any German content.
     
  11. conniethunder

    conniethunder Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    177
    Am I just being lazy using the TAB key then? :(
     
  12. Tigert1966

    Tigert1966 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    838
    No not at all, but there was a lot of feedback that people wanted specific keys that would open the doors without a pop up on the screen. DTG provided this but forgot to make the keys reassignable.

    This also causes a problem on German layout keyboards as there is an overlap with other keys

    Clicking on the controls on the screen or reassigning other keys still works though, so it can be worked around.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Ignis Lupus

    Ignis Lupus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    8
    The new big update fixed this problem.
     
    • Like Like x 2

Share This Page