Speedometerhud Improvements

Discussion in 'Creators Club' started by Rudolf, Oct 8, 2020.

1. Rudolf

Rudolf Well-Known Member

I am not a UI designer, but occasionally I have worked in close co-operation with UI designers. Though, from a functional perspective the new Speedometer HUD is a big improvement (if all bugs in coupling it with the engines are fixed), but as a user interface element I think it suffers from intentions to make it beautiful, instead of making sure it does not distract from the driving task and is well readable. Here are my suggestions for a better HUD. We have seen yesterday an improved accelerometer from the community, which is not perfect but a from a functional point of view we now have something that actually works.

SpeedometerHUD improvements.png

Let me talk you through the various suggestions.

The font used to indicate the settings is a so called seven-segment LED font. It was developed in a time that LEDs were very expensive, so it is a technically minimal design. It gives a technical look, but it is far outdated and readability is poor. This should be replaced all over the HUD by a better readable font.

For the brake settings, the outer circles do not add anything to readability of the HUD. Therefore they are distracting and should be removed. You may argue this also holds for the full circles, but this is a less clear need.
    The -100% brake value setting is not correct if you want to say the train brake is running/released. This should be corrected.
    The allowed track speed is indicated with a circle. A rectangle over the big speedometer circle is a more clear solution. This also is a beautifier that is distracting and makes it more difficult to see the actual speed limit.