1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Throttle Not Working After Using Brakes (peninsula Corridor)

Discussion in 'Known Issues & Bug Reports' started by The SimTrain Tube, Aug 17, 2019.

  1. The SimTrain Tube

    The SimTrain Tube Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    187
    In the second scenario in the journey, after stopping at the first station, I found that the throttle isn't responding.

    I can change between idle and notch 8 etc, but no power is applied.
    (I did not use the emergency brake yet)

    Anyone else have this issue?
     
  2. Steve Cummins

    Steve Cummins Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    44
    It's happened to me as well. No idea how to reproduce though.
     
  3. raildan

    raildan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    1,013
    Likes Received:
    1,492
    I haven't had any problems with the throttle after braking, but I have had some problems after decreasing the throttle before braking. If that's what's going on here, this is actually not a bug- there's a throttle position below "Idle" that actually shuts down the engine and snaps back into the idle position. You have to restart the engine in that case. In the F40, you can just press Z to do this.

    If it's not that and it is the brakes, then I wonder if this somehow has to do with the dynamic braking part of the brakes specifically, since that kind of has to do with the throttle...
     
  4. Elvin84

    Elvin84 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    I all so had to restart the engine to get it working again as well.
     
  5. xD 2Bad4You

    xD 2Bad4You Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    723
    Try resetting the PCS:

    1. Set the Throttle to Idle
    2. Set the Reverser to Neutral
    3. Set the Independent Brake to Full Application.
    4. Set the Automatic Brake to Emergency
    5. Wait for 60 seconds 6. Release the Automatic Brake and wait for the Equalising Reservoir / Brake Pipe to return to 90 psi
    While the Automatic Brake is releasing, you will need to put the Throttle in to Notch 1 so that the compressor can recharge the Main Reservoir.
    Once the Equalising Reservoir and Brake Pipe needles have returned to 90 psi, and the main reservoir has recharged to 140 psi, put the Throttle back to Idle.
    You should now be able to release the Independent Brake, set the Reverser and apply Throttle.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  6. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    814
    By the time you've done all of that, you'll never arrive in time at other stations -- seems that just restarting the activity would be easier. Just out of curiosity, which journey is this?
     
  7. CoyoteMan

    CoyoteMan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2018
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    67
    Are you talking about California commuter? I finished it no problem. I’m willing to bet you’re double tapping “decrease throttle” button and you’re killing the engine
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. bobsr

    bobsr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    42
    Have anyone been able to get the cabcar going after braking? Because not all the braking options are available in the cabcar, for resetting. It will not move.
     
  9. Steve Cummins

    Steve Cummins Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    44
    It appears that, whether by design or bug, if you throttle down rapidly the engine in the F40 shuts down thus preventing you to restart your journey. You'll need to restart the engine to carry on.

    Interestingly, try shutting down the UP GP38-2. Yep, impossible!
     
  10. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    814
    Although I do find myself attempting a passenger run on the Peninsula Corridor route, I mostly avoid them. This is not in any way DTG's fault: I just cannot manage to manipulate the throttle and brake well enough to stop on the spot and on time at platforms. This is the case even in the tutorials -- pardon me, "Training Modules".
    I am enjoying the freight activities, however, and find the route worth its price without its passenger run anxieties.
     
  11. bobsr

    bobsr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    42
    In my case, After resetting the brakes that are in the Cab Car, the brakes pressure only release to about 45lbs., not the 90lbs. as mentioned above. I used control + to check out the PH40 cab, and found that the auto brakes were in full emergency status. I released the auto brakes. All of the other brakes were in released status. I control + back to the Cab Car. And, the brakes pressure gauge in the Cab Car is still at about 45lbs. I was doing the Service 371 San Jose to San Francisco, I wasn't paying attention for an moment, and when I looked up there was an red signal coming up next. I didn't have enough time to slow down normally, so, I slammed on the brakes. I was approximately 391 yds. from the Redwood City Stop. I saved the service at that point. Using the recommendations above, the brake pressure still does not reset.
     
  12. xD 2Bad4You

    xD 2Bad4You Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    723
    The steps out of the manual worked for me so far when i did an emergeny Stop with the Cab Car to get the brakes back to work.
    I will quote them below:

     
  13. robert

    robert New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    6
    What Manual??? Where do you find a manual for anything in TSW???
     
  14. Michael Newbury

    Michael Newbury Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    870
  15. SamYeager270

    SamYeager270 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    415
    There's normally a link to the manual on the Steam store page.
     
  16. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    814
    Last item missing: arrive late for the rest of the run.
     
  17. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    814
  18. Factor41

    Factor41 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2019
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    430
    Not wishing to play down your struggle because it really should be in the game somewhere, but it literally took me 10 secs to type Manual into the forum search box and find this thread.
     
  19. spunner

    spunner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    YES! I'm having this same issue, and it's not a PCS problem. I will confirm that when decreasing the throttle to idle, I've knocked it into STOP, and it sounds as if it kills the engine of the F40.

    I've looking through the manual, which others have cut-n-pasted here, but it only mentions on how to reset the PCS. Doing those steps for me do not work. There is no engine sound, even when throttled up, yet there are brake noises. As for pressures, I'm lucky if I'm hitting 70 on both guages, on the red or white needles. It may be me, but I think my engine is dead, but even taking the steps outlined in the manual (pg 10), or tutorial, the engine never starts.

    Please help. Just bought the game yesterday and I'd like to get through at least two stops!

    **** SOLVED ****
    Found an unrelated video of someone starting one of the CSX engines and noticed the back wall of the cockpit has a similar Run / Start-Isolate switch, with a big Engine Start not too far from it. I rotated the switch to Start, hit the Engine Start button, and slowly the sound of the engine returned.

    Its a shame I did not find that in the Peninsula Corridor manual or in any of the prior tutorials. All good now.. back to simming!
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2020

Share This Page