Too Much Dlc?

Discussion in 'PlayStation Discussion' started by johnmsaylor, Feb 13, 2022.

  1. johnmsaylor

    johnmsaylor New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2021
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    5
    I see a lot of comments/complaints about routes crashing and service problems and all kinds of other problems and I am just wondering if having too much content affects any of that? I only have 7 routes and no dlc locos and haven't really had too many issues aside from a crash or 2 on Peninsula Corridor and the CN Oakville tutorial bug. I see people talking about having all the dlc they can so it's made me curious if it makes a difference.

    I don't know too much about how ram and all that works so please excuse my ignorance if that's not something that could be an issue.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. marcsharp2

    marcsharp2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2019
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    862
    It's been said a few times on livestreams that the company makes money only from creating and selling DLC's, if they don't make them, They don't make any money and so any patches/upgrades etc would cease.
     
  3. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    8,771
    Likes Received:
    8,215
    I would imagine that certain DLC may cause certain issues, but "having all of them" only causes issues on machines where there's a limit to such things (PS5 has a built in limit imposed by Sony that says only 64Gb of DLC are allowed to be loaded at any one time)
    Other than that, there shouldn't be much "crossover interference" by having lots of DLC in your collection, indeed DTG are working on a way to dynamically load and unload DLC as they're required, so in future only the ones you're using right now will be in memory
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. antwerpcentral

    antwerpcentral Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2021
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    737
    Been asking me the same question. Dresden - Riesa was the first route I played except from the basegame and it ran very smoothly. People complained a lot about it but for me it went very smoothly. When I returned to Dresden Riesa after buying and playing a lot of German routes. The route didn't run as smoothly as it did before. Dresden Riesa gathers a lot of content of other routes so you might be correct. I hope this new system where you can choose what content will be loaded on to the route comes soon. I think that might improve things
     
  5. kekanha#4892

    kekanha#4892 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2021
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    168
    no, no es cierto, tengo una playstation del 2016 y no me va peor con 48 DLC que con 9 o 10.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page