1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Train Keeps Losing Power Randomly

Discussion in 'Known Issues & Bug Reports' started by Sky, Aug 1, 2018.

  1. Sky

    Sky New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    When I'm driving a train I will lost all off the amps and then I will not be able to Apply any power.
     
  2. JasonARJ3125

    JasonARJ3125 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    49
    Which train?
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  3. Sky

    Sky New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Not sure I get it on the HST mostly and the RT train.
     
  4. JasonARJ3125

    JasonARJ3125 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    49
    Never experienced issue on hst but rt i keep losing power to the doors, and everytime im heading south i lose it, i just put the throttle/brake to idle and power up again its works fine
     
  5. Sky

    Sky New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    It's when I'm going fast last happen when I was going 125MPH and the AMPS just went to 0 and I couldn't apply any power untill I stopped.
     
  6. Duroses

    Duroses New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    Same problem here with the GP38. After reversing the boxcars in to the siding and uncoupling, the light engines will not move forward.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  7. Sky

    Sky New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    I had that too, when I was doing one of the Cargo train on NEC.
     
  8. JoeTransit

    JoeTransit Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    89
    For the Talent 2 in Rapid Transit, this is caused most likely by a neutral section of overhead wire.

    Since I haven't studied diesel traction engines yet, I can't explain why it would happen on the HST. Sorry. :/

    I hope this helps :)
     
  9. ConductorPhil

    ConductorPhil New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    The diesel-electric engines die randomly because 1 of 3 things.
    A.) When you're throttling up to much causing it to load 1500+ amps continuously
    B.) When you're using Dynamic you're loading 800+ amps continuously
    C.) When in Dynamic you start appling throttle too, which in real life it is improper train handling to do so. You're supposed to notch off the throttle then put dynamic in set up then, in evenly timed increments, notch up to the dynamic brake notch that will slow you're train down in the time you want it to without putting the maximum amperage on the dynamic brakes.

    In all cases listed above: in real life you would blow up the engine, but this game is not programmed to do that so it just shuts the engine(s) down.
     

Share This Page