1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Train Sim World 2: Hamburg – Lübeck - Creating Services

Discussion in 'Dovetail Live Article Discussion' started by DTG Natster, Apr 23, 2021.

  1. KoeleKoen

    KoeleKoen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2020
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    421
    Freight would fit in if it affects your timetable, as in real life sometimes a freight train gets priority which means you have to watch signals and maybe leave it some space to clear some sections so you can salvage lost time, often I lose time because of a crossing or letting a freight train pass (which is annoying with its lower speed)
     
  2. Cramnor

    Cramnor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    It looks a lot like that will be happening with Cathcart Circle, I don't appreciate the direction this is going :(
     
    • Like Like x 4
  3. Lamplight

    Lamplight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    1,947
    I get your feeling. I really do, but I can understand why DTG re-release the 182. The one we‘ve got with RT is a dead end - in the configuration we‘ve got it in (with PIS boards), you‘d almost never see it outside of RT. If they want to give a more realistic 182 all around (but especially for freight), releasing a privately owned one is pretty much the only option other than getting ÖBB ones in the game.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  4. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    4,552
    Likes Received:
    6,478
    Does DB really not use the 182 for passenger work?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. KoeleKoen

    KoeleKoen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2020
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    421
    It's on rapid transit, so as far as i know this one is just a reskin but i guess with the new simugraph features? I fear this one will just be some a to b freight runs
     
  6. JonnE

    JonnE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    513
    Meanwhile they do, mostly RE services in Northern Germany as a substitution for upcoming delayed EMUs (I think somewhere around Hamburg - Schwerin). They don't have many 182 (only 26!) in their fleet anyway so they are a very rare sight.
    Weirdly they were never used for IC services indeed, even if it's germanys fastest locomotive. There are Taurus' visible pulling an IC service, but these are ÖBB 1116 running ECs from and to Austria.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  7. Jo_Kim

    Jo_Kim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2019
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    812
    The difference between the DB 182 and the MRCE 182 are very minor. The DB 182 has only two pantographs instead of three and an added PIS system. Maybe the interior of the MRCE 182 has a different colour but that's it. I find that being not enough to argue for a completely new loco.

    DB uses their 182s only for passenger work. They were meant for freight operations but because the economy crises happened in 2009 and DB Railion (now DB Cargo) lost many contracts they were reassigned to the Cottbus-Leipzig line to replace services from malfunctioning Talent 2. For that they were equipped with PIS displays. They have been reassigned to many different depots in East Germany in the following years and never returned to freight work.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. Lamplight

    Lamplight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    1,947
    That‘s because they were only bought due to being allowed to be run into Austria for freight trains. Once the Br 185 was allowed to go there, the 182s were sold (or something like that) from Cargo to Regio. They were never in the posession of Fernverkehr.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. SHINO BAZ

    SHINO BAZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Messages:
    1,366
    Likes Received:
    922
    Well the 112 does have one key feature the 143 doesn't a working destination screen.
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2021
  10. Jo_Kim

    Jo_Kim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2019
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    812
    The BR 101 is certified for the Austrian network and the IC coaches are just allowed to drive 200km/h, so there was no need to get BR 182s for use in the Intercity services. (The BR 101 was certified for 220km/h but since they never went above 200km/h this was reduced to 200km/h to save money)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Jo_Kim

    Jo_Kim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2019
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    812
    And this argument does only hold up as long as the Preservation Crew hasn't done any work on RSN. The PIS display is there, it's just not implemented.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. stujoy

    stujoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2019
    Messages:
    3,900
    Likes Received:
    9,549
    It’s probably just a blank space where the PIS would go. If the system isn’t built into the train model then it’s a lot of work to add it. They haven’t been adding PIS to trains that don’t have it in this first round of work, just to the stations.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. DeStijl

    DeStijl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2020
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    267
    I believe Adam said on the last roadmap stream that someone on his team has been learning how to add the PIS systems into trains, from the main team.

    Obviously not a guarantee but we might see this going forward.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  14. mclitke

    mclitke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2020
    Messages:
    1,166
    Likes Received:
    2,573
    I also believe he said that they were doing it for the 146 on MSB. But I might have misunderstood something.
     
  15. fabristunt

    fabristunt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2019
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    481
    He did talk about the 146, but that already has working displays. He later pointed out they will add dynamic destinations, so it must be something like the ICE, where the displays show all the station the train is stopping at, not just the final destination. Or maybe it's going to be like on the 377, where the destinations scroll on the displays when they are too long.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. jiroo92

    jiroo92 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2019
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    47
    Correct if Im wrong but I think 146 already has working destination board? Although its not dynamic but the earlier version.
     
  17. DB628

    DB628 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    1,959
    They make the Destinations for every route, it’s not changeable anymore then probably
     
  18. mclitke

    mclitke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2020
    Messages:
    1,166
    Likes Received:
    2,573
    But from what I understood the older pis on trains used a texture for each designation, whereas the newer ones simulate the electric board as in that it lights up single dots to Form whatever is shown.
    This is also why modders were able to change the available destinations on older trains, but not on the newer ones.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  19. vogelm10

    vogelm10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2020
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    1,179
    Still waiting for the ability to properly make scenario routes with all my tracks accessible.......
     
    • Like Like x 2
  20. tallboy7648

    tallboy7648 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Messages:
    4,054
    Likes Received:
    4,609
    In Germany though, passenger trains get priority and not freight trains. It's unfortunately the opposite in the U.S if your running on Freight owned track
     
  21. vogelm10

    vogelm10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2020
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    1,179
    Unless you are dealing with commuter rail. They get priority over freight at peak times.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  22. saltychipz#3569

    saltychipz#3569 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2021
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Yea , frieght doesn’t usually have a set time that they have to be at their destination
     
    • Like Like x 2
  23. KoeleKoen

    KoeleKoen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2020
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    421
    Here in Belgium they have to pay for a reservated time they use the route, if they are late the track owner has to pay a fine to the freight company, so often they let freight get priority since the freight are private companies and passenger is just one company operated by the government
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Helpful Helpful x 2
  24. SLBM

    SLBM Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2021
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    104
    Ah, this I did not know. Personally I think it's a pity, because historic routes create different gameplay, especially with passenger services, where there are fewer (if any) MUs or cabcars. This is well demonstrated by the Diesel Legends, its other failings notwithstanding.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  25. Higgybaby90

    Higgybaby90 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    194
    I really dislike the new PIS system or what DTG is doing with it.
    IC 2221 to "Hamburg Hbf"?
    Last time I looked this train up, it drove to Frankfurt(Main)Hbf....
    What is a PIS actually for, if it only shows destinations "on route"? The fact that I can only drive the path between Lübeck and Hamburg I actually know from the route, don't need a system telling me all the time. But I want a system telling me the "real traindata" for immersion.
    So please DTG overthink your lates changes to that system...

    Oh and since I'm talking about IC 2221: The train does change direction in real life in Hamburg and leaves towards Harburg (please don't let it drive to Altona....)
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2021
    • Like Like x 4
  26. Jo_Kim

    Jo_Kim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2019
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    812
    And because this changes the direction in the middle of its run it would have a cab car. Sadly we didn't get it even if we see the shortcomings with this decision with the very first route the BR 101 DLC get's layered on.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  27. Higgybaby90

    Higgybaby90 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    194
    Technically the need of a cabcar (or at least a top and tailed train) is very big on this route anyway.
    The IC terminates in Lübeck and runs back to Frankfurt (Hamburg) after a few hours (of course including the need to change direction for that). But knowing DTG the train will probably leave the map at Lübeck (heading towards a diesel track) and later enter the map again, turned around magically...
     
    • Like Like x 3
  28. tallboy7648

    tallboy7648 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Messages:
    4,054
    Likes Received:
    4,609
    They do the same thing on sehs as well. All 395 services will say St Pancras To Faversham but most actually don't terminate at Faversham. Some go to Margate and most go to Ramsgate so I don't get why it doesn't say St Pancras to Ramsgate or St Pancreas To Margate
     
    • Like Like x 1
  29. tallboy7648

    tallboy7648 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2020
    Messages:
    4,054
    Likes Received:
    4,609
    Oh the good ol cabcar. DTG really need to do a better job in planning and budgeting dlcs otherwise why are players spending $20-$30 on dlc?
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2021

Share This Page