Train Sim World 2 - Stupendous Sherman

Discussion in 'Dovetail Live Article Discussion' started by DTG Natster, Nov 18, 2021.

  1. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    6,118
    Likes Received:
    8,700
    You have it backwards. The original TSW2020 consists were too heavy for the Spessart Rampe, but they could get away with it with the simpler, less realistic physics.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. docsnyder1911

    docsnyder1911 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    962
    We had adhesion before too. But not so heavy, that the smallest gradient became a challenge.

    Otherwise in the old version of TSW 2020 we would be able to run the trains at NTP with 80 mph.

    But you learned the limits of physics in TSW 2020 relatively fast.
     
  3. Dinosbacsi

    Dinosbacsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    2,526
    I believe we didn't. You couldn't get wheelslip in TSW2020, at worst case scenario your engine simply struggled to move the consist. But you couldn't get wheelslip, neither due to too much power nor too strong braking.
     
  4. breblimator

    breblimator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    3,073
    Likes Received:
    3,495
    ... were not wrong because the old physics was wrong. EDIT and the old HPPT was enough

    I remember that because I am with TSW from very beginning :)

    BR o7
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. SHINO BAZ

    SHINO BAZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Messages:
    1,671
    Likes Received:
    1,121
    One other thing that i just remembered hearing many many years ago is that really large locomotives don't normally make good switchers is because some yards are just to hard for them to maneuver around.But i'm guess most UP yards don't have this issuse.
     
  6. docsnyder1911

    docsnyder1911 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    962
    There was definitely wheelslip at TSW2020.

    The only difference is, that you have more now. Especially at rainy weather
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2021
  7. docsnyder1911

    docsnyder1911 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    962
    At TSW2020 it was challenging to climb the Spessart ramp too. And you reached comparable speeds like in real.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. docsnyder1911

    docsnyder1911 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    962
    Other thing too:

    Yards and stations normally have relatively flat gradients. So you need not so much power.

    But there are also big roadswitchers at yardwork. You can watch that for example at Baily Yard.

    I can watch diesel Traxxes and Stadler Dual Mode locos everyday at shunting beside the classic 204 and Gravita shunters here in Germany.
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2021
  9. appledates#4945

    appledates#4945 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2021
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    686
    I don’t think you could call what we had in TSW2020 wheel slip. As wheel slip occurs when you have adhesion simulation which was first integrated in TSW2.
     
  10. docsnyder1911

    docsnyder1911 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    962
    Wheelslip means, that the wheel is turning and the loco stands still at the same time. And I definitely made that experience in TSW2020 and TSW many times.
     
  11. TSargent

    TSargent New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    17
    Will the route have working and dynamic railroad crossings in the final release build? If they don’t come in the release build, what is the possibility they will be updated post-launch?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. docsnyder1911

    docsnyder1911 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    962
    I think DTG will add it later. When I remember well they have working level crossings for the preserved collection on the roadmap.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. TSargent

    TSargent New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    17
    Matt said in the stream Thursday that somebody was working on it that day and it may make its way into the release build.

    I don’t understand why this wasn’t working anyway since it’s supposedly an integral part of every new route to have working crossings
     
    • Like Like x 2
  14. TrainSim-Matt

    TrainSim-Matt Executive Producer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Messages:
    955
    Likes Received:
    5,294
    They are, but we discovered earlier that day that while it'd all been added - a crucial bit of setup info had been missed out so none of them animated and that's what was being worked on before the stream :)
     
    • Like Like x 7
    • Helpful Helpful x 5
  15. appledates#4945

    appledates#4945 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2021
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    686
    How is it DTG can excite me more often then my girlfriend does? Also 100 car trains! That’s another huge improvement, very happy!
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2021
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Rudolf

    Rudolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    2,222
    ??? I really do not understand your comment. Running with 100 wagons requires more processing power than 50 wagons, due to the physics simulation, if you system does not have enough processing power you cannot run it. We can have a long discussion on blaming the game for its requirements, but that is what it is, we might equally blame the console hardware for not having enough capacity. It is irrelevant, the point is the two are not compatible, unfortunately and the only thing we may want to discuss is in how far DTG should take older hardware into account? I guess this is much of a commercial discussion. On the one hand you want a fantastic game, on the other hand you need enough people that can afford to play it. This is a constant trade-off DTG needs to make and I think they found somewhere a reasonable balance but it may be easy talking if you would love to play TSW2 but you cannot afford the hardware you need for it.

    That is a bit sad, but not something we can change.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  17. Rudolf

    Rudolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    2,222
    To summarize, they cannot do this within time and budget and had to skip it. Tracks and signalling are completed, but DTG hoped to be able to use the automatied landscape building tools to a larger extend, but that did not work out as they wanted yet. So probably, these tools need a bit more development and might give an opportunity to add the third track. I fully agree it would add a lot to the fun, but so a gas turbine loco and a shunter would do. So I really hope there will be some loco DLC and so on. Steam would not fit very well, because the route is set in present day (personally I think that is a pity as well, I love railway history).
     
  18. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    3,322
    Likes Received:
    3,935
    I saw un untextured one too.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. TrainSim-Matt

    TrainSim-Matt Executive Producer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2016
    Messages:
    955
    Likes Received:
    5,294
    It wasn't so much untextured, it was a rogue decal which was spraying all over things that were on top of it not just the ground it was intended for. Fixed :)
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  20. WonterRail

    WonterRail Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    1,606
    Now while I think what we saw in the preview stream was promising (even without the majority of track 3) I do want to bring up a two scenic issues I saw around Cheyenne.

    Firstly, in an angle they showed of the SD70 right at the start, I could see what appeared to be floating buildings right off in the distance.
    Sherman Hill Floating Buildings_LI.jpg
    The other thing, and something I think is a lot more major, is that I noticed that the buildings that represent the steam shops are missing.
    Sherman Hill Missing Cheyenne Steam Depot.PNG
    This is what they look like for reference.
    [​IMG]
    Now I know that, from what they said about the build they were playing that it may not be entirely final (I remember they we saying that there's suppose to be a board at the top of the highest point that wasn't present in the preview build they were playing on) so whether these buildings will be in the final release build remains to be seen.

    Image Source: http://www.altamontpress.com/discussion/read.php?1,75841
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  21. StratPlayer62

    StratPlayer62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    500
    Thanks for the info, I can certainly understand things no going as planned. I really do hope that DTG will finish track 3 at some point, especially if work has been started on it, I would hate to see that work go to waste. I would be willing to purchase it as a route add on assuming I purchase this route. I'm waiting to hear some reviews first but it is a route I would love to have so I'm hopeful that there are no major problems with it.


    The steam shops being missing would be a huge omission almost to the point of offence to railfans interested in steam. I'm also not seeing the tower that is between the roads. Hopefully they will be in the final release. These items are in the TS version of the route.....

    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 2
  22. TSargent

    TSargent New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    17
    The yard control tower was shown off in the stream and it looks really good! I wonder if we’ll see freight consists with mid-DPUs?
     
  23. docsnyder1911

    docsnyder1911 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    962
    I definitely could effort powerful hardware.

    I'm to rational or call it economical to buy it totally overpriced like at the moment.

    That's why I prefer the 50 car trains like I said before. :)
     
  24. SHINO BAZ

    SHINO BAZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Messages:
    1,671
    Likes Received:
    1,121
    So just where does this track 3 go that makes not having it included lesson the potential train driving experience of what's already there?This route already sounds like it might the longest route dtg currently done.
     
  25. JustWentSouth

    JustWentSouth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2019
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    1,129
    There is a great Trains magazine map that Blacknred81 posted on the first page of this thread. Magnify it and read it. It is full of useful information and makes an excellent reference while driving and learning the route. It was also detailed enough to guide me chasing Big Boy in 2019.

    Track 3 is just part of the Sherman Hill experience. And it is also an essential alternative to getting heavy westbound trains over the divide. Finally, since it merges in with tracks 1&2 at Hermosa tunnel, it can present some dispatching issues and adverse signals.

    I completely get that it couldn’t be included and appreciate the fact that they tried. I will still purchase the route; the excellent horns sealed it for me!

    Admittedly, I didn’t spend much time on the western part of track 3 in TS. I am pleased that track 3 features such as the cement plant east of Laramie and Borie cutoff are included. It would be cool to have AI traffic getting on and off track 3. Even better to have it completed and drivable sometime in the future.
     
    • Like Like x 5
  26. SHINO BAZ

    SHINO BAZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Messages:
    1,671
    Likes Received:
    1,121
    Well at least dtg has added at least a some small part of track 3,you would think people would at least appreciate that much,clearly some here already do.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  27. docsnyder1911

    docsnyder1911 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    962
    Wonderful post. Especially the map, which also explains the background of Buford, Perkins and so on.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  28. SHINO BAZ

    SHINO BAZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Messages:
    1,671
    Likes Received:
    1,121
    Well if dtg decides to add UP's 4014 big boy or 3985 challenger or 844 steam engines this would be the route to add them to.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  29. TSargent

    TSargent New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    17
    So the crossings along the route are now repaired and working? If so that’s awesome and will totally add to the immersion!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  30. StratPlayer62

    StratPlayer62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    500
    Thanks, still haven't had a chance to watch the stream.....
     
  31. 59321747

    59321747 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2020
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    243
    I hope DTG will make some amazing expansions in Sherman Hill and join the trip to Denver at the same time as the third track.
     
  32. 59321747

    59321747 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2020
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    243
    Adding a big boy is only a matter of time, but it is too early for them to release the steam. I am not responsible for guessing that the steam locomotive will be released in the summer of 2022. This is the highlight of the 2022 update.
     
  33. Mich

    Mich Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2020
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    662
    This is DTG's official statement on Spirit of Steam, it's a route/set of routes, (unknown which at the moment) not a loco pack like Great Western Legends. Also without the turntable at Laramie, or any coal and water facilities, a full timetable ain't gonna be very doable on this version of Sherman Hill..
     
    • Like Like x 1
  34. SHINO BAZ

    SHINO BAZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Messages:
    1,671
    Likes Received:
    1,121
    Well even if steam trains are not added to this route,they should still be useable with senario planner.If you can run electric trains on non Electrified routes steam should work anywhere as well.
     
  35. Mich

    Mich Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2020
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    662
    Technically they should, but it's worth noting that fuel's more of a concern though with steam, a Big Boy hauling at max tonnage needs to make one water stop on the way to Laramie, and it's also gonna be over half way through its coal supply by the time it's arrived. Modern diesels in comparison get refueled once every couple of days, and of course electric locos don't need refueling at all.
     
  36. stujoy

    stujoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2019
    Messages:
    4,277
    Likes Received:
    10,810
    If they have thought carefully about off the rails use then water should magically refill itself when not available along the way, or it has an infinite supply to start with.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  37. driverwoods#1787

    driverwoods#1787 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2021
    Messages:
    3,246
    Likes Received:
    1,962
    For freight over Schnellfahrstrecke Leipzig Nürnberg Erfurt those must be made up of container trains using the RRO Wagons and a full train of Habbiins paper roll wagons permitted during the evening except for Schnellfahrstrecke Rhein-Main due to it's Gradients. However the price to go Leipzig Engelsdorf and Halle to Rbf Nürnberg by Schnellfahrstrecke Erfurt Nürnberg is increased by €1.1k from €985 to €2180 Wikipedia quotes a Thungerian Newspaper for that price.
     
  38. alphasquad#7151

    alphasquad#7151 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2021
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    4
    I say both locos have a second paint job, probably just weatherd look, but i hope its an HU paint job!!
     
  39. alphasquad#7151

    alphasquad#7151 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2021
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    4
    it does, i hope they fixed that, is it gaurenteed?
     
  40. Train Sim 9723

    Train Sim 9723 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    336
    last Gen consoles will be running with 50 cars
    new Gen consoles will have 100 ish

    I have my doubts they will be a fix for this, it is essentially down to the console
     
  41. alphasquad#7151

    alphasquad#7151 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2021
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    4
    what would a new jen console be?
     
  42. Train Sim 9723

    Train Sim 9723 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    336
    Xbox series x and Series S
    PS5
    Along with PC
     
  43. alphasquad#7151

    alphasquad#7151 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2021
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    4
    so not xbox 1?
     
  44. Train Sim 9723

    Train Sim 9723 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    336
    Correct that counts as last Gen
     
  45. alphasquad#7151

    alphasquad#7151 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2021
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    4
    W H Y ! !
     
  46. alphasquad#7151

    alphasquad#7151 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2021
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    4
    would trains still have DPU's and different size containers?
     
  47. Train Sim 9723

    Train Sim 9723 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    336
    Age and now old hardware
     
  48. Blacknred81

    Blacknred81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2019
    Messages:
    2,636
    Likes Received:
    5,916
    Doubt it, Matt confirmed in the stream no heritage units for the route.
     
  49. Train Sim 9723

    Train Sim 9723 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    336
    Im not sure on what a “DPU” is but container shape and colours won’t change between the consoles
     
    • Like Like x 1
  50. alphasquad#7151

    alphasquad#7151 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2021
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    4
    Distrubutive power unit
     

Share This Page