1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tsw: Introducing Amtrak’s “yard Goat!”

Discussion in 'Dovetail Live Article Discussion' started by TrainSim-James, Jun 5, 2019.

  1. Boyka91

    Boyka91 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    164
    The LIRR is an American route. Just want to let you know
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  2. Big Papi34

    Big Papi34 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    431
    I think they knew that. They just stated they wished it had a dlc for LIRR.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  3. ex_railwayman

    ex_railwayman Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    88
    Oh, blimey, that's a bit of a bugger, oh well, we'll just have to accept it for what it is then, we can always utilise it for emergency freightcar switching use, we have the imagination!!!!
    Thanks for the info. anyway, even if it wasn't what we wanted to read.......:D
     
  4. Boyka91

    Boyka91 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    164
    Oops your right. That was mention lol
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  5. FallenAngel00me

    FallenAngel00me Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2018
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    95
    No worries mate. Easy to miss things on forums :)
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  6. Boyka91

    Boyka91 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    164
    Your absolutely right
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  7. Juxen

    Juxen Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    195
    Sweet. Most of my favorite go-to power has been SW's. More in the SW1200 and SW1500 lines, but still. I'd much rather prefer switching with a switcher than running back-and-forth with a small passenger train.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  8. dan.marcusior73

    dan.marcusior73 Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    16
    Very cool....but......I REALLY hope it's still a work in progress, cause there's a myriad of mistakes with it.

    1) The air/trainline hoses are missing. The feeder line is there but not the connecting hose. Huh?
    http://www.rrpicturearchives.net/showPicture.aspx?id=4983810
    2) The cab end numberboards are completely the wrong shape/size
    http://www.rrpicturearchives.net/showPicture.aspx?id=1498218
    -EDIT!- I was advised that #798 is the only loco like this. DTG should not be expected to make a custom model just for this loco.
    3) The front railings on these SW1000R locos do not have bent channel stanchions - they're all cylindrical tube stanchions.
    http://www.rrpicturearchives.net/showPicture.aspx?id=4983810
    4) The reflectors on the front pilot should have a large break over the center. In the screenshots, it's continuous on the front.
    http://www.rrpicturearchives.net/showPicture.aspx?id=4983810
    5) Fuel tank side air reservoirs are way too small of a diameter.
    http://www.rrpicturearchives.net/showPicture.aspx?id=1577393
    6) Cab roof should be painted black, not silver.
    http://www.rrpicturearchives.net/showPicture.aspx?id=1779645
    7) Long hood top radiator grills are the wrong shape.
    http://www.rrpicturearchives.net/showPicture.aspx?id=2972007
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2019
    • Upvote Upvote x 4
  9. raildan

    raildan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    1,355
    In regards to the numberboards, 798 is actually the only one like that. All the others have numberboards like DTG has modeled. Haven't looked into your other claims yet, I just remembered hearing that when looking up info on this locomotive. And while yes, 798 is shown in the picture, DTG doesn't really do custom models for different numbers of locomotives like that.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  10. dan.marcusior73

    dan.marcusior73 Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    16
    Ah, you are correct sir. Good point.
     
  11. raildan

    raildan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    1,355
    Also, I think #5 and #7 might just be perspective things. Like, in http://www.rrpicturearchives.net/showPicture.aspx?id=2972007, the air tanks look a lot closer to how they look in the screenshots, and combine that with lighting and the rustiness and it's entirely possible they're the right size. For #7, I can't quite see what you mean- we don't get a great view of that vent in any of the screenshots. Really good points though, most of them shouldn't be too hard to fix quickly, I hope (especially the roof- that's a fairly big detail. Nice catch).

    I also have a theory about #1- maybe it has to do with the way the game does air hoses. Perhaps they can't have the model change when coupling, and can only have the hose appear. But IDK.
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2019
  12. Jose

    Jose New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    19
    Yesss finally the NEC has got love
     
  13. raildan

    raildan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    1,355
    I think I figured out where #3 and #4 come from- loco #793 has these features as DTG has modeled them. But since that is also just one loco, I don't think DTG should model them that way- they should do it the most common way, so they can be the most accurate! And, of course, that doesn't excuse the other details.

    ...that being said, I'm beginning to think these details don't matter too much, save for the roof. They're all pretty minor. If the loco has good physics, I'd consider it realistic anyways, personally.
     
  14. dan.marcusior73

    dan.marcusior73 Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    16
    Agreed. I didnt realize it was such a mixture of different features on the prototype road numbers. Although the missing air hoses are a problem (I dont think it's a game rendering thing, since they're all present and rendered on all of the other locos in-game.
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2019
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  15. LeadCatcher

    LeadCatcher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    644
    Wow -- would have hated to be your first date -- can imagine what that write up would have been like ---- :)

    { all in jest my friend --- all in jest}
     
  16. dan.marcusior73

    dan.marcusior73 Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    16
    Haha....That's not the first time I've heard that. ;)

    I'm a QC/Failure Analysis lead. I cant help it.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  17. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    1,426
    Don’t forget that it isn’t finished yet. ;)
     
  18. Jose

    Jose New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    19
    Njt rolling stock probably next with new route from Penn station
     
  19. StevenJam

    StevenJam Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    34
    This is looking really great! Cannot wait to see how this locomotive runs!
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  20. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    1,426
    Yeah, it looks like a lot of fun to drive.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  21. Boyka91

    Boyka91 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    164
    I was thinking that since Newark station is apart of New Jersey transit
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  22. Ninetofive925

    Ninetofive925 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2018
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    553
    Oh that explains it hahah
    Keep up the good work though, i don't think anybody noticed before you!
     
  23. Big Papi34

    Big Papi34 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    431
    They could still do the reskins. Norfolk Southern never had a ac4400 and they did a reskins for it. BNSF never had there ac4400 modeled like the CSX one either. So if you want a reskins it will probably appear later.
     
  24. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    1,426
    It would have to be done by the community.
     
  25. Big Papi34

    Big Papi34 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    431
    I know I was just saying.
     
  26. rftech

    rftech New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    10
    Really excited about this,definite buy for me!Hope to see some other liveries and will be great when the editors arrive and we can make switching scenarios on all the US routes.You're headed in the right direction DTG!
     
  27. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    1,426
    It’s an Amtrak only switcher.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  28. Jose

    Jose New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    19
    Probably for the LIRR a mp15 dlc will be release probably soon as rescue loco
     
  29. raildan

    raildan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    1,355
    That would be cool, and it could also come with a ballast hopper or something for MOW stuff which we don't see in any train simulator that often- also, since it's in service everywhere, it's a lot more repaintable. I like that idea.
     
  30. rftech

    rftech New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    10
    I get that but, I was saying,(if you read my post) when editors are avaible it can be repainted and we will be able to make scenarios with it on other routes.It's close enough to pass as an SW9 for me.
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2019
  31. raildan

    raildan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    1,355
    Yeah, but not if you want to be strictly realistic. These were rebuilt just for Amtrak. No other railroad has ever had these rebuilds.
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2019
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  32. StratPlayer62

    StratPlayer62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    253
    It will be close enough for me too. I love switchers, but I really have no desire to switch Amtrak cars around, I want to switch some freight and run some locals!
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  33. ex_railwayman

    ex_railwayman Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    88
    Well, there will be nothing to stop you from doing any of that, will there?
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  34. Big Papi34

    Big Papi34 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    431
    Well then the main repaints for the CSX ac4400cw are unrealistic. Norfolk Southern has never owned a ac4400cw and probably never will. BNSF never had the number boards on the mid section of the cab. They were placed on top of the cab. So if someone wants a unrealistic repaint it wouldn't be the first.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  35. StratPlayer62

    StratPlayer62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    253
    Some scenarios using the loco for switching would be nice.
     
  36. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    1,426
    You will be switching with it.
     
  37. raildan

    raildan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    1,355
    Nobody's stopping you from making unrealistic reprints. There's no problem with that. I was just pointing out that no, these would not be realistic.
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2019
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  38. Daniel Bloch

    Daniel Bloch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    1,213
    Realistic or not, if it adds more variety why not? And if you want 100% realism you are wrong in TSW, the BR146 on MSB for example is the opposite of realism. There was in reality never a BR146 used as banking loco.
    Or Dostos on RSN was never used in real life.
    I wished DTG had build a more common shunter that can be used on NEC in the CSX yards too or at sand patch grade.
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2019
    • Upvote Upvote x 4
  39. TrainHorn22

    TrainHorn22 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    54
    I believe they're likely Metroliner cab cars.
     
  40. raildan

    raildan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    1,355
    I didn't mean that, the achievements being named after the Keystone service was a big hint that yes, those are the cab cars we're talking about, but I meant I can't wait to see it in the game. And I'm a bit worried that they won't be included since they haven't been mentioned at all by DTG yet.
     
  41. potatopenguin

    potatopenguin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    10
    The locomotive looks fine and all and it represents provides an opportunity to do something one doesn't normally do in Train Sim. But, instead of giving us something we can use to effectively sit in one place and move coaches around for an hour, can we get an NEC/other American passenger route that we can actually drive an hour on?
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  42. raildan

    raildan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    1,355
    Agreed. NEC is the worst route in the game right now IMO for its length and terrible passenger services. It at least has good freight and switching operations, but not all that much- besides, it's an NEC route, the freight services shouldn't be better than the passenger services unless you're doing something terribly wrong.

    I definitely wouldn't recommend buying it new on it's own (yes, I know you can't anymore), but since we have it already, some extra DLC to add value and improve services on the route could be nice. This DLC isn't really that limited by the NEC's problems (ignoring the cabcar, which I think will make up for that by being a really interesting thing to drive, but might explain why they're not really hyping that part up- they want to make sure the rolling stock less affected by the route is what people think about), so I think it will be nice to drive and add some nice switching. But for other types of driving other than switching, we need a new route, definitely. Hopefully one is goming in the next couple months.
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2019
  43. Jose

    Jose New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    19
    When is the sw1000r release date
     
  44. MYG92

    MYG92 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2019
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    51
    When DTG will finish it then we'll have a date...
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  45. Boyka91

    Boyka91 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    164
    I agree to this comment
     
    • Downvote Downvote x 3
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  46. LIRRGuy

    LIRRGuy Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2019
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    107
    Well now we are just waiting for LIRR because there is a locomotive DLC for all of the routes but LIRR.
     
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  47. Big Papi34

    Big Papi34 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    431
    Not necessarily. NEC is getting 2 dlc. Making 3 total. Plus another American route. There's no guarantee that LIRR is next. Though awhile back someone (I think Lawjester) said that Matt said they were getting reference material for the DM30AC. I might be wrong.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  48. FallenAngel00me

    FallenAngel00me Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2018
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    95
    GWR hasn't got a loco DLC
     
  49. Big Papi34

    Big Papi34 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    431
    Oh yeah forgot about that.
     
  50. mrchuck

    mrchuck Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    99
    I hope it’s the DM30AC lirr Locomotive it would be awesome to drive on train sim world someday and hopefully they’ll add some scenarios on the Dm30ac lirr Locomotive including the route that it travels on like the Oyster bay or Port Jefferson Branch.
     

Share This Page