1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tsw Northern Trans-pennine Br Class 101 Missing Brake Sounds,

Discussion in 'PC' started by angrywhopper1993, Jun 8, 2019.

  1. angrywhopper1993

    angrywhopper1993 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    5
    Heyy fellow trainsimmers!

    I just love to drive the BR class 101 from Manchester to Leeds and back! there is just 1 annoying thing going on, the air flowing sounds for the brakes are gone :(
    When i 1st bought the DLC back in December 2018 the sounds where there but after a few updates they where gone.

    anyone else having this issue? is there a fix to this?

    thanks for your help!
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2019
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  2. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    778
    I find they come and go and I believe that unfortunately it’s a current limitation of the UE4 sound engine. It’s not just on NTP.

    When the game is demanding a lot of the engine, it seems to shed some sounds and sadly this is one of them. DTG will fix it I’m sure, but I suspect it will only be when there is a major upgrade to the game engine.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  3. rhysdabeast0011

    rhysdabeast0011 Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    25
    Ntp has had a-lot of bugs recently to do with sounds so i'm hoping a patch will be released soon to fix them
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  4. angrywhopper1993

    angrywhopper1993 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    5
    too bad, it's really weird to operate it without these crucial sounds.
    now i get confused of what the brake tap is doing haha :D
     
  5. angrywhopper1993

    angrywhopper1993 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    5
    before this post i did another run with the BR class 101 from Leeds to Manchester,
    this time everything worked fine and all the sounds where there. indeed UE4 limitations. :)
    [​IMG]
     
  6. rhysdabeast0011

    rhysdabeast0011 Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    25
    Ah might just happen occasionally then.
     
  7. KMAN

    KMAN Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    57
    If you feel confident messing with Ini files you could try editing the line AudioQualityLevel=0 or 1 or 2. The default is 1. I saw a YouTube video explaining the options. If DTG have set it up then you can have =0 as a low number of sound channels, say 16 channels, =1 is medium say 24 channels and 2 = high for 32 channels. The more channels the more sounds can play at once. The AudioQualityLevel setting is found in the GameUserSettings.ini in the Mygames/TS2Prototype/Saved/Config/WindowsNoEditor
    Try setting to 0 see if it helps sounds not cut out. I set mine to 2 and noticed I could hear the ambient sounds such as the ambulance siren and the sound of the class 40 together at Manchester Victoria station. Where as before I could not hear the ambient sounds And the class 40. Always make a backup of the ini file first. And your mileage may vary.
     
    • Useful Useful x 5
  8. LeadCatcher

    LeadCatcher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    709
    KMAN - thanks for sharing that little tid-bit. With all the tweaks I have used, somehow I had missed the AudioQualityLevel value. When I checked on my GameUserSetting.ini it was set to "0" - switched it to "2" and what a noticeable difference.
     
  9. Pensfanvw

    Pensfanvw Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2018
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    55
    Thanks Kman, I set it from 0 to 2 and it made a noticeable difference.
     
  10. angrywhopper1993

    angrywhopper1993 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks KMAN

    what a (train sim) world of difference indeed! :)
     
  11. KMAN

    KMAN Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    57
    Thanks Guys I am glad it helped.
     
  12. Darthtool

    Darthtool Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    21
    this is interesting, my setting was already set to 3?.. i will test 2 and report back on any changes.

    no changes on either setting, i still get sound bugging out.

    "Driving Rain" scenario the exterior soundscape still follows into the cab right from the start.

    sounds bug out more when using Rain/blizzard conditions because of the extra sound sources in use.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2019
  13. KMAN

    KMAN Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    57
    You could try a very low setting like =0 it will reduce the number of sound channels. But the sounds are a known bug area. I only get sound issues on the GWE. Not noticed any issues with TVL, NTP or WSR (Rarely play)
     
  14. Darthtool

    Darthtool Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    21
    setting audioqualitylevel=2 actually causes sounds to dissapear on Tvl class 37, use the 08:00 scunthorpe service to test with the class 37 and you'll likely notice the diesel engine sound is missing.

    going back to level =1 brings it back again.

    the Engine just cannot handle more than a few channels it seems, pretty bad.. cant say ive ever had this problem with any Unreal based game before.

    (note: the Quality steps are determined by the options that Dovetail selected in the Ue4 editor, so setting 1 may well be the only one that actually has correct channels assigned to it.)
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2019
  15. KMAN

    KMAN Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    57
    I can confirm the same effect. But no difference to the Class 101 or Gronk. Only the sounds for the 37. There may only be single setting for the quality of the 37 sounds. The sound level quality seems asset dependent. I get a better sound quality on NTP when set to 2. Better Ambient + Class 40 sounds. If I set to 1 the ambient sounds don't seem to play at the same time for me.
     
  16. Pensfanvw

    Pensfanvw Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2018
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    55
    I noticed this issue to. Setting audio quality to one solved it. I'll just keep it at one. Originally it was set to zero.
     
  17. KMAN

    KMAN Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    57
    I will vary mine depending on the routes and locos I will use.
     
  18. Rob39

    Rob39 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    465
    Noticed this happen to the 45s horn with freight wagons. I also find this particular issue prevalent on the GWE route. Lots of sounds going on Im guessing. Causing some loco sounds to be inconsistent.
     
  19. angrywhopper1993

    angrywhopper1993 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    5
    the class 166 on GWE sometimes sounds like a F-16 jet fighter, barging through the sound barrier when passing under a bridge :o
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  20. Darthtool

    Darthtool Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    21
    If you open the train window during the F-16 like reverb overload the sound engine bugs out entirely and your stuck with the loud exterior sounds..

    does it in a few tunnels on the NTP route.
     

Share This Page