1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tsw: Sand Patch Revisited

Discussion in 'Dovetail Live Article Discussion' started by TrainSim-James, Jun 24, 2019.

  1. UnlimitedMagic

    UnlimitedMagic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    594
    I think they should make a FULL freight route since there is only one
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. UnlimitedMagic

    UnlimitedMagic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    594
    All I am hoping is for loco dlc on GWE
     
    • Like Like x 5
  3. LT586

    LT586 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    433
    Id like them to go back to GWE and improve the sounds, and various other aspects, also an expansion towards Oxford at least. If it can be done for Sand patch grade, it can be done for GWE.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  4. Big Papi34

    Big Papi34 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    791
    That route honestly sounds nice.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. ragn05

    ragn05 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    264
    Ok then, so GP40-2 DLC didn’t had sense at release due was made for SPG, when TSW was pc only...
     
  6. R62A1973

    R62A1973 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    66
    More American routes/equipment
     
  7. mrchuck

    mrchuck Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    223
    I hope they do the NJt line like Pennsylvania station to Trenton it would be so awesome to drive or the metro north Harlem line like Grand Central Terminal to southeast if they do the NJT Trenton line i’ll buy it.
     
  8. LT586

    LT586 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    433
    If you go back to the early development videos, one of the lead designers on TSW said how can we do this along a 60 / 70 mile route, I am sure we can have longer journeys, MSB is close but GWE is running at 125mph for 35 miles, ridiculous if I'm honest.

    And the UK and Germany have some of the most beautiful landscapes, especially the UK once out of Reading the land is rich but where is that representation. I will keep saying it until we see it
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,846
    Likes Received:
    2,046
    Have you seen the US landscapes?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Big Papi34

    Big Papi34 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    791
    And what about the US. We have plenty of beautiful places to railfan that trains travel. TRNTS1212_02.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 3
  11. Mikey_9835

    Mikey_9835 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2019
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    166

    I don't know why but I've had dreams about this game frequently and those two trains in that picture keep appearing in them with that exact livery, I don't even know much about American trains so it's really strange. Maybe it's a sign of things to come. ;)
     
    • Like Like x 3
  12. LT586

    LT586 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    433
    I can only speak on UK and EU
     
  13. Big Papi34

    Big Papi34 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    791
    And so far this is STILL the latest on US frieght. Kinda disappointing.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  14. nne4229

    nne4229 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    424
    Agreed.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  15. CoyoteMan

    CoyoteMan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2018
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    67
    Think about why they would go back and perfect the Sand Patch locomotives. The only reason I can think (apart from just being "nice"), is they are currently developing another US Freight route, they fixed the issues with the locomotives, then implemented them on Sand Patch.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  16. Big Papi34

    Big Papi34 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    791
    I never thought of that. That's a very logical thought.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,846
    Likes Received:
    2,046
    Interesting, indeed.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Big Papi34

    Big Papi34 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    791
    My only question is if you're right then what's the new freight route and railroad, if there's a new railroad.
     
  19. raildan

    raildan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    1,545
    Well, if we're assuming the AC4400CW would be reused (its physics are pretty different from the other two CSX:HH engines since it's AC traction), that pretty much eliminates BNSF (yes I know they have a few, but not many, besides licensing issues), CN, and NS. UP, CP, KCS, or Ferromex are still in the running, but they've never made anything from the last two for TS19 and seem to be staying inside the US instead of other parts of North America so realistically it could be a UP or CP route. I'd guess UP personally, they seem to have the best relationship with them compared to other North American railroads- there's a lot more UP stuff in TS19 than CP stuff (last I checked, there was only one route, right?).

    That was a lot of parenthesis. Oh well
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Big Papi34

    Big Papi34 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    791
    Well there goes my dreams of Norfolk Southern.
     
  21. Yerolo

    Yerolo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    316
    Sorry for the bump....but does anyone else find Sand Patch Grade way too dark since this update was applied ? Driving a service at 10am with clear weather and it looks almost night time.

    I tried setting the r.Color.Mid setting to 1.0 in engine.ini but it makes no difference at all. This route just looks terrible for me now, as it is at least 3x darker than all the other routes
     
    • Like Like x 3
  22. ShodanCat

    ShodanCat New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah, it is definitely WAY too dark.
     
  23. StratPlayer62

    StratPlayer62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    323
    Same here, on a bright sunny day anything in shadow is almost completely black. Has anyone submitted a ticket on this yet? Nice going DTG.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  24. StratPlayer62

    StratPlayer62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    323
    I've submitted a ticket.
     
  25. matthewbguilford

    matthewbguilford Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    646
    All of us console players can dream of this route coming out for us at some point. Whether they can tweak it to work or when the next generation consoles are released maybe we will get a TSW2021 version that would include SPG for console. I’m always sad about missing out on this long, freight route based in the USA.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  26. Yerolo

    Yerolo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    316
    Thanks...it isn't just me then. I really want to pump some more hours into SPG as it is a fantastic route but this lighting update almost makes it unplayable for me now

    Keep this thread updated with ticket responses from DTG :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  27. StratPlayer62

    StratPlayer62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    323
    I did briefly start a run with the AC4400 and I didn't notice the problem. With either of the EMD locomotives the problem was there.
     
  28. StratPlayer62

    StratPlayer62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    323
    It has become much more enjoyable to run this route since the locomotive physics and tunnel lighting were fixed, and cab sway was added. I do wish there were more things to "do", industries to service, etc.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  29. StratPlayer62

    StratPlayer62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    323
    I forgot to mention that I wish DTG would fix the car load weight physics for this route, I'm pretty sure they have not been, so all cars behave as empties if loaded or not. This would certainly make running trains over the grade much more interesting and challenging.

    DTG, any plans to fix this? Please enlighten us if it has been.

    I recent'y watched a Pentrex video on Sand Patch Grade, the amount of locomotives needed to get a loaded train over the grade is WAY more than anything close to what you need in TSW.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  30. matthewbguilford

    matthewbguilford Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    646
    That is exactly what I want from a USA freight route. Lots of challenging grades, with a variety of loaded and unloaded wagons. Being able to assign your own locomotives depending on what your hauling would be really great but you are right. We would need the physics to actually match what we are hauling. As a console player it’s making me want to save up for a gaming PC or laptop that can handle that.
     
  31. Rob Jansen

    Rob Jansen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    915
    The communication about coming to consoles is at one point "maybe in the future" and other times "no, because it has been build by an inefficient method so it needs a rebuild".

    Especially the loco's, they are too heavy on textures then in newer routes.

    Just rewatch DTG streams, spotty on that everytime.

    So people waiting for it on consoles. I would suggest not to hold on getting it soon.



    As for the darkness, it seems every route has different lighting but in basis the same everywhere but tweaked which could be the reason why it was at first good but then too bright and now a bit darker.
    DTG should make just one skybox and colorset to make it look the same lighting everywhere.
     
  32. StratPlayer62

    StratPlayer62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    323
  33. nne4229

    nne4229 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    424
    Damn what kinda monitor you running?
     
  34. Digital Draftsman

    Digital Draftsman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    846
    Likes Received:
    2,566
    Judging by the resolution 3 x 1920 x 1080p. I have the same. 2 was a pain because the bezel was right in the middle, so in the end I splashed out for a third monitor.
     
  35. StratPlayer62

    StratPlayer62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    323
    What Digital Draftsman said. I do take a bit of a hit on FPS, but it is WELL WORTH IT IMHO, SO much more immersive. My 3 monitors are actually 4k but I have to set the resolution to 1080 otherwise I get about 8-10 FPS on my system! One thing I really like when using TSW is where the HUD location is, way off to the right so you aren't forced to look at it all the time, but it is there when you want to look at it, same with the other driver aids. TSxx also works well with this setup although the HUD is still right in the center. A 2 monitor setup isn't that good because of the split being right in the middle.

    I HIGHLY recommend this setup for anyone who can pull it off.
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page