1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tsw: Sand Patch Revisited

Discussion in 'Dovetail Live Article Discussion' started by TrainSim-James, Jun 24, 2019.

  1. UnlimitedMagic

    UnlimitedMagic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Messages:
    951
    Likes Received:
    1,265
    I think they should make a FULL freight route since there is only one
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. UnlimitedMagic

    UnlimitedMagic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2018
    Messages:
    951
    Likes Received:
    1,265
    All I am hoping is for loco dlc on GWE
     
    • Like Like x 5
  3. LT586

    LT586 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    649
    Id like them to go back to GWE and improve the sounds, and various other aspects, also an expansion towards Oxford at least. If it can be done for Sand patch grade, it can be done for GWE.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  4. Big Papi34

    Big Papi34 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    1,084
    That route honestly sounds nice.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. ragn05

    ragn05 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    358
    Ok then, so GP40-2 DLC didn’t had sense at release due was made for SPG, when TSW was pc only...
     
  6. R62A1973

    R62A1973 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    75
    More American routes/equipment
     
  7. mrchuck

    mrchuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    691
    I hope they do the NJt line like Pennsylvania station to Trenton it would be so awesome to drive or the metro north Harlem line like Grand Central Terminal to southeast if they do the NJT Trenton line i’ll buy it.
     
  8. LT586

    LT586 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    649
    If you go back to the early development videos, one of the lead designers on TSW said how can we do this along a 60 / 70 mile route, I am sure we can have longer journeys, MSB is close but GWE is running at 125mph for 35 miles, ridiculous if I'm honest.

    And the UK and Germany have some of the most beautiful landscapes, especially the UK once out of Reading the land is rich but where is that representation. I will keep saying it until we see it
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    3,806
    Have you seen the US landscapes?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Big Papi34

    Big Papi34 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    1,084
    And what about the US. We have plenty of beautiful places to railfan that trains travel. TRNTS1212_02.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 3
  11. Mikey_9835

    Mikey_9835 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2019
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    465

    I don't know why but I've had dreams about this game frequently and those two trains in that picture keep appearing in them with that exact livery, I don't even know much about American trains so it's really strange. Maybe it's a sign of things to come. ;)
     
    • Like Like x 3
  12. LT586

    LT586 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    649
    I can only speak on UK and EU
     
  13. Big Papi34

    Big Papi34 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    1,084
    And so far this is STILL the latest on US frieght. Kinda disappointing.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  14. nne4229

    nne4229 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    545
    Agreed.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  15. CoyoteMan

    CoyoteMan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    84
    Think about why they would go back and perfect the Sand Patch locomotives. The only reason I can think (apart from just being "nice"), is they are currently developing another US Freight route, they fixed the issues with the locomotives, then implemented them on Sand Patch.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  16. Big Papi34

    Big Papi34 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    1,084
    I never thought of that. That's a very logical thought.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    3,806
    Interesting, indeed.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Big Papi34

    Big Papi34 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    1,084
    My only question is if you're right then what's the new freight route and railroad, if there's a new railroad.
     
  19. raildan

    raildan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    1,220
    Likes Received:
    2,094
    Well, if we're assuming the AC4400CW would be reused (its physics are pretty different from the other two CSX:HH engines since it's AC traction), that pretty much eliminates BNSF (yes I know they have a few, but not many, besides licensing issues), CN, and NS. UP, CP, KCS, or Ferromex are still in the running, but they've never made anything from the last two for TS19 and seem to be staying inside the US instead of other parts of North America so realistically it could be a UP or CP route. I'd guess UP personally, they seem to have the best relationship with them compared to other North American railroads- there's a lot more UP stuff in TS19 than CP stuff (last I checked, there was only one route, right?).

    That was a lot of parenthesis. Oh well
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Big Papi34

    Big Papi34 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    1,084
    Well there goes my dreams of Norfolk Southern.
     
  21. Yerolo

    Yerolo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    1,503
    Sorry for the bump....but does anyone else find Sand Patch Grade way too dark since this update was applied ? Driving a service at 10am with clear weather and it looks almost night time.

    I tried setting the r.Color.Mid setting to 1.0 in engine.ini but it makes no difference at all. This route just looks terrible for me now, as it is at least 3x darker than all the other routes
     
    • Like Like x 3
  22. ShodanCat

    ShodanCat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2020
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    59
    Yeah, it is definitely WAY too dark.
     
  23. StratPlayer62

    StratPlayer62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    447
    Same here, on a bright sunny day anything in shadow is almost completely black. Has anyone submitted a ticket on this yet? Nice going DTG.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  24. StratPlayer62

    StratPlayer62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    447
    I've submitted a ticket.
     
  25. matthewbguilford

    matthewbguilford Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    2,323
    All of us console players can dream of this route coming out for us at some point. Whether they can tweak it to work or when the next generation consoles are released maybe we will get a TSW2021 version that would include SPG for console. I’m always sad about missing out on this long, freight route based in the USA.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  26. Yerolo

    Yerolo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    1,503
    Thanks...it isn't just me then. I really want to pump some more hours into SPG as it is a fantastic route but this lighting update almost makes it unplayable for me now

    Keep this thread updated with ticket responses from DTG :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  27. StratPlayer62

    StratPlayer62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    447
    I did briefly start a run with the AC4400 and I didn't notice the problem. With either of the EMD locomotives the problem was there.
     
  28. StratPlayer62

    StratPlayer62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    447
    It has become much more enjoyable to run this route since the locomotive physics and tunnel lighting were fixed, and cab sway was added. I do wish there were more things to "do", industries to service, etc.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  29. StratPlayer62

    StratPlayer62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    447
    I forgot to mention that I wish DTG would fix the car load weight physics for this route, I'm pretty sure they have not been, so all cars behave as empties if loaded or not. This would certainly make running trains over the grade much more interesting and challenging.

    DTG, any plans to fix this? Please enlighten us if it has been.

    I recent'y watched a Pentrex video on Sand Patch Grade, the amount of locomotives needed to get a loaded train over the grade is WAY more than anything close to what you need in TSW.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  30. matthewbguilford

    matthewbguilford Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    2,323
    That is exactly what I want from a USA freight route. Lots of challenging grades, with a variety of loaded and unloaded wagons. Being able to assign your own locomotives depending on what your hauling would be really great but you are right. We would need the physics to actually match what we are hauling. As a console player it’s making me want to save up for a gaming PC or laptop that can handle that.
     
  31. Rob Jansen

    Rob Jansen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    1,046
    The communication about coming to consoles is at one point "maybe in the future" and other times "no, because it has been build by an inefficient method so it needs a rebuild".

    Especially the loco's, they are too heavy on textures then in newer routes.

    Just rewatch DTG streams, spotty on that everytime.

    So people waiting for it on consoles. I would suggest not to hold on getting it soon.



    As for the darkness, it seems every route has different lighting but in basis the same everywhere but tweaked which could be the reason why it was at first good but then too bright and now a bit darker.
    DTG should make just one skybox and colorset to make it look the same lighting everywhere.
     
  32. StratPlayer62

    StratPlayer62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    447
  33. nne4229

    nne4229 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2018
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    545
    Damn what kinda monitor you running?
     
  34. Digital Draftsman

    Digital Draftsman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    2,870
    Judging by the resolution 3 x 1920 x 1080p. I have the same. 2 was a pain because the bezel was right in the middle, so in the end I splashed out for a third monitor.
     
  35. StratPlayer62

    StratPlayer62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    447
    What Digital Draftsman said. I do take a bit of a hit on FPS, but it is WELL WORTH IT IMHO, SO much more immersive. My 3 monitors are actually 4k but I have to set the resolution to 1080 otherwise I get about 8-10 FPS on my system! One thing I really like when using TSW is where the HUD location is, way off to the right so you aren't forced to look at it all the time, but it is there when you want to look at it, same with the other driver aids. TSxx also works well with this setup although the HUD is still right in the center. A 2 monitor setup isn't that good because of the split being right in the middle.

    I HIGHLY recommend this setup for anyone who can pull it off.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  36. matthewbguilford

    matthewbguilford Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2019
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    2,323
    I can only hope that when the next generation consoles come out that they release this route for console players. We finally got a taste of North American freight trains with the Oakville subdivision route and it has made me hunger for more. This route looks like so much fun to operate around and with all of the optimization tricks dovetail has learned I would love to see them bring this over to consoles. I would be more then happy to spend $30 on this route!
     
    • Like Like x 2
  37. redjury

    redjury New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    U876-A Coal Cumberland to Shaw Mines - Train Sim World 2

    I am 5.4 miles south of Hyndman, traveling North, and currently stopped at a Red signal light. When I "tab" to contact the signaller, I receive the message "Denied. Your train appears to be off path." I verified the track path from Cumberland Station with no errors. Is this a "glitch" of some kind?
     
  38. Disintegration7

    Disintegration7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    863
    Yes, sounds like a bug. I've completed U876-A recently, so it can be done.

    A common issue occurs at the beginning, when 2 helper locos returning from the summit get stuck at the crossover entering Cumberland yard. Did you by chance throw any switches to avoid them? If so, that's likely the culprit. I was able to complete by spawning in on foot 10 min before the start time and then taking over the service- seems to prevent the helper bug for whatever reason.
     
  39. 59321747

    59321747 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2020
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    218
    The line is extremely short, I hope you can do a long distance freight route is perfect
     
  40. Blacknred81

    Blacknred81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2019
    Messages:
    2,321
    Likes Received:
    5,263
    Its 52miles, one of the longest routes in TSW and TSW2.....
     
    • Like Like x 1
  41. Big Papi34

    Big Papi34 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    1,084
    Ive noticed its 52 miles of combined double track, meaning you would divide it by 2. I did a full service and it said I only had 25 miles to go when I started.
     
  42. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    3,806
    No. It's 52 from end to end.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  43. GuitarMan

    GuitarMan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2020
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    507
    The distance marker in game is as the crow flies. Track distance is considerably longer on Sand Patch due to the twists and turns. If you check the screen once you finish the scenario/journey/service it will give a more accurate distance.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  44. Big Papi34

    Big Papi34 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    1,084
    Oh, my mistake.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  45. GuitarMan

    GuitarMan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2020
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    507
    No worries - it took me a while to work out myself (and particularly as to why the Sand Patch services took so long when they were "only 25 miles" and I was doing 25mph plus, and they were taking me 90 minutes plus), then I heard it on one of the streams and realised that that was what it was...
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  46. breblimator

    breblimator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    2,889
    Likes Received:
    3,199
    Cumberland -> Rookwood ~ 80 km
     
  47. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    1,932
    Likes Received:
    1,703
    Overall, I'm very impressed by the improvements made to Sand Patch Grade in TSW, but lately I've been drawn back to TS (now TS2001, of course) and the skies there strike me as much, much, much more realistic is terms of both general appearance and movement, than those of TSW2. On the other hand, in TS2001, I cannot open the cab window and stick my head out. Yes, yes, I can use the "head out the window" view, but it isn't at all the same experience, particularly in US engines that all have their mirrors folded out and blocking the view ahead.
     
  48. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    3,806
    Did you mean TS2021?
     
  49. cwf.green

    cwf.green Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2019
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    575
    Weird to make the same mistake twice. Maybe it was Microsoft Train Simulator (released in 2001) he/she meant :D
     
  50. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    1,932
    Likes Received:
    1,703
    Yep -- shouldn't trust my fingers to do the walking! 2001: a spelling odyssey . . . which I almost misspelled.
     
    • Like Like x 2

Share This Page