1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tsw Speculation Thread

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Typhomat, Feb 14, 2018.

  1. rare_common_sense

    rare_common_sense Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    501
    Even with how great the NEC in TSW looks visually, and of course will love to see much more of it added, I still wanna see it made over to the standards of route quality in TS20xx. Because with the way they’re extending routes for it, it totally justifies a remake as an addition to what is already there. This in turn will hopefully drive DTG into finishing the corridor and even adding other major corridors down the line. Like the Keystone for example. I would really love to run a scenario from NY Penn to Philly To Harrisburg. Of course with the Amtrak Keystone cab car to run services that utilizes them.

    Every time I run a scenario to Philly I always wished there was a destination to go utilizing that track going towards the Keystone corridor.

    Now, there is supposedly such a route being made by an individual but not much being said on his end and not sure when he will release it if he ever gets around to doing so. As it’s quite a task to take on especially since he allegedly also included the trackage all the way to DC as well.

    Just so many things they can still produce for TS that I’m dying to see get done. And would rather have it in TS because it’s far more established and DTG pretty much has it down packed about how to get content done as well as set deadlines they know they can meet quicker.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  2. SamYeager270

    SamYeager270 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    369
    Well it looks as though something will be happening on the Xbox front soon. I suppose there's a possibility that we might get something on the editor front such as maybe a scenario editor even if not a route editor. I know there's been speculation that a 387 might be added but whether that means an addition to GWE or a new UK DLC is another matter.
     
  3. Piussi

    Piussi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    430
    I hope to hear something soon then.. No other DLC in march is buying the route.. Other DLC coming in march i will have to think about it. And have a talk with the wife :D
     
  4. Corvan

    Corvan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    709
    I wonder how a scenario editor is going to work on the Xbox? They don't have something like Steam Workshop, do they?
     
  5. Piussi

    Piussi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    430
    I guess they will only have the standard stuff..
     
  6. Mr395008

    Mr395008 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    26
    Something that concerns me is when you say “(which is a prospect we are very keen to explore)”. regarding extensions has DTG already established this is possible with TSW. So in TS you need the same starting co-ordinates etc, the last thing I want to do is buy these new routes for you to then decide months/years down the line that it’s not actually possible?
     
  7. davejc64

    davejc64 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2017
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    194
    So what's next?
     
  8. Luke.Frederick

    Luke.Frederick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hopefully some video footage
     
  9. davejc64

    davejc64 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2017
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    194
    I meant what's next in line for release in TSW in general.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  10. cActUsjUiCe

    cActUsjUiCe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    592
    Possibly some more information on the route editor.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  11. rare_common_sense

    rare_common_sense Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    501
    Wouldn't have made sense for the Acela, as there isn't enough of the route for it to be useful. And the P42 is Diesel only, which is prohibited to traverse the tunnels unless it is being pulled by an electric locomotive.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 4
  12. pschlik

    pschlik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    1,536
    I think the Acela would definitely have been more of a “so what” addition than anything...It makes sense that it is not present here, as the lack of a proper use for it means that any time spent building an Acela now would be wasted time, better spent on the ACS-64 and the scenery. Personally, I prefer having extra track, like the line down to Fresh Pond, over having the Acela. It would simply be less fun to have less track.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 4
  13. HybridAlien

    HybridAlien Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    20
    No patch information just dlc after dlc. What about fixing bugs and optimization first
     
  14. Lawjester

    Lawjester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    682
    If you’ve read Jays posts throughout this thread you’d see that the bugs are being worked at the moment. It’s not like DTG could just fix bugs in a couple of days, it takes a while to fix the many bugs and then release the patches and the DLC that they’re making.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  15. Piussi

    Piussi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    430
    There have been patches already. And Jay mentioned that there will be a patch released around the same time with the DLC..
     
  16. NorthRail1

    NorthRail1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    1,990
    Achievements list from Steam Database, 10 in total:
    • ACS-64 All Aboard: Completed 64 boarding tasks
    • GP38-2 Car Collector: Coupled up to other vehicles 380 times
    • ACS-64 City Sprinter: Reached 100 mph in the ACS-64
    • ACS-64 Northeast Regional: Operated 640 miles in the ACS-64
    • GP38-2 Geep Trail: Operated 380 miles in the GP38-2
    • NEC Day One: Completed the ACS-64 Basic Introduction
    • NEC Time to Shine: Completed the GP38-2 Basic Introduction
    • NEC New Yorker: Completed all the available services
    • NEC Big Step: Collected all collectibles on Northeast Corridor New York
    • NEC Manhattan Master: Completed all scenarios on Northeast Corridor New York
     
    • Useful Useful x 4
    • Upvote Upvote x 3
  17. Piussi

    Piussi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    430
    You can already unlock one

    https://i.gyazo.com/ee0fe618be0ce43e69488da5d9a59722.png[​IMG]
     
  18. pschlik

    pschlik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    1,536
    Well, of course, the GP38-2 is just another paintjob to the Heavy Haul one, so the game isn’t going to see any difference between the YN2, YN3b, or YN3 ones. Anyway, the achievements seem pretty standard, but it is really nice to finally see a collectibles achievement again. Hoping all this stuff actually works though...
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  19. HybridAlien

    HybridAlien Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    20
    We all only want the best for this sim as it has the posibility to be the best train sim out there not just in terms of graphics either even though there incredible
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  20. NAYDOG

    NAYDOG Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    247
    Strap in for a longhaul, not an express
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  21. rare_common_sense

    rare_common_sense Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    501
    I can't wait to see how well they did the stations. And just how they look in general, graphically. Also whether they set provisions for future expansion. What would also be cool, is if they were able to somehow implement real-time weather, track conditions and, possibly re/constructions that would be seen along the line. Seeing the multiplayer (whenever that sees the light of day) action on this route would be something else.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 4
  22. SamYeager270

    SamYeager270 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    369
    I've seen all your dire warnings about how people's expectations are far too high and then you post this? :D

    I think it's a given that real-time weather and track conditions are non starters. It's also version one of the DLC and sadly DTG's track record (pun intended) so far is that version one always requires a patch shortly afterwards to fix the breaking bugs that nobody can understand how they got through QA in the first place. :( I would be very pleased if that was a habit that DTG could lose.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  23. rare_common_sense

    rare_common_sense Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    501
    Clearly, you don't see that there's a difference between what one expects, and what one thinks could be an idea. What I brought up isn't an expectation. It is just exploring and expressing an idea that somewhere down the line I feel may possibly make the experience a bit more immersive.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 5
  24. Piussi

    Piussi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    430
    #announceGWErollingstockdlc please ;)
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  25. Rayne

    Rayne New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    9
    I don't think real-time weather is that much of a far cry. They could probably license with a company/companies that does/do monitoring. I know DTG isn't Microsoft, but I feel like if FSX could have real world weather 'round the globe, there's no reason DTG couldn't figure out how to get accurate weather data for specific route areas/stretches.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  26. rare_common_sense

    rare_common_sense Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    501
    Thank you! Which is exactly one of the main reasons why I brought it up. As far all other things those can be things that happen as random events within scenarios. So no two scenarios are really ever the same. Just like how you create a character and you go about your lives and experience different circumstances daily.

    Again, I must stress (before I’m accused of expecting this to be in the game immediately) these are only just ideas that I feel would TSW more unique. If they (DTG) can manage to somehow make it happen. If they don’t feel it’s worth the time and/or resources. Then so be it. As long as they bring out quality content that we all hope they’ll make at some point in the future.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  27. Matto140

    Matto140 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2017
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    264
    Yes, the weather behavior could be changed. I suggest that we don't need user control about it. Just choose the day and time in calendar - proper season and weather forecast will be generated.
    for example:
    set: 24.december 10:00 >>> Winter - Cloudy with possibly snowing / -7°C / wind 3 m/s N-NE
     
  28. Piussi

    Piussi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    430
    Jay

    [​IMG]

    ;)
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 5
  29. TrainSim-Jay

    TrainSim-Jay Guest

    I'll see what I can do
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 14
  30. NAYDOG

    NAYDOG Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    247
    "20 likes on this comment and i'll reveal it"

    #AnnounceThe387
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 6
  31. Corvan

    Corvan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    709
    [​IMG]
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  32. NAYDOG

    NAYDOG Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    247
    [​IMG] Justice for this lord and saviour
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  33. londonmidland

    londonmidland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    997
    How do we know if and when the Class 387 comes out? We may just get the Class 165 first (a proper model and not just a re-numbered Class 166 I hope)
     
  34. NAYDOG

    NAYDOG Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    247
    its practically a meme in our discord community - but what you just said = heresy. ;)

    I would prefer a 387 over a 165, purely based on preference and the fact it would actually add some variety to the route.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  35. pschlik

    pschlik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    1,536
    And here I am, still hoping for FGW paint on the existing stuff.

    twiddles fingers
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 7
  36. Typhomat

    Typhomat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    311
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  37. londonmidland

    londonmidland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    997
    The OHLE and wires look horribly pixilated when zoomed in on those pictures. Perhaps DTG forgot to turn on the anti aliasing?
     
  38. pschlik

    pschlik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    1,536
    DTG didn’t take the screenshots, Elphaba did...or usually does in his articles. And his rig is not like a GTX1080ti and all. I imagine he does not have the kind of power to do 200% screen scale to reduce aliasing the most of all.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  39. NAYDOG

    NAYDOG Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    247
    [​IMG]

    I also spotted the issues highlighted in red - but yeah, seems like the game is being played on low/medium - not the best use for a PR article, but yano haha.
     
  40. NAYDOG

    NAYDOG Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    247
    [​IMG]

    I also noticed issues in the highlighted boxes - some distortion/blur on the trees, some blurred ground blending and again poor AA - CactusJuice also mentioned how the high speed inspection facility appears to be missing entirely
     
  41. Corvan

    Corvan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    709
    This is why Elphaba always states the pictures represent content still in development in his articles.

    That being said, the two AA choices in TSW aren't great in my opinion. I've bounced repeatedly between both and never been graphically satisfied.
     
  42. Typhomat

    Typhomat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    311
    I think this was played on a higher graphics setting than medium. I play with everything maxed out (GTX1070) and it looks very close to what I see in the other routes

    I also agree with the AA, I haven't found satisfaction with either.... Looks exciting though

    This can probably be in another thread, but what would screen scaling really buy? I haven't gone above 105%, but I don't notice much of any worthy improvement from it.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  43. pschlik

    pschlik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    1,536
    So, what screen scaling does is basically telling your graphics card to render more pixels, then to squish all those pixels into a smaller space. That's the most pure and effective form of anti aliasing, and all other AA filters are a cheaper, but less good, way to do it. (You tell the GPU to render 2x the pixels, it'll need to spend 2x the time processing. But you use an AA filter and it's more like 1.2x the time to render, but an effect that's close to rendering 2x the pixels)

    And as for setting it to 105% and noticing nothing, you shouldn't notice anything. 105% is like doing nothing, real results come from settings above 120%.
     
  44. Jeannot41

    Jeannot41 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    145
    Would it be better to increase the scaling to 120, for example, and remove the antialiasing?
     
  45. Sintbert

    Sintbert Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    214
    It gives better results than antialiasing, but uses massively more power.
    Antialiasings impact goes roughly linear to your resolution, while scaling goes up squared.
    So 120% Scaling uses roughly 150% GPU.

    In the end you have to just test what works best for you. Maybe even a combination of antialiasing with some scaling.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  46. NAYDOG

    NAYDOG Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    247
    [​IMG] yeah I use TAA with 135% scaling - im happy with how it looks and runs, 50+ if not raining.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  47. NAYDOG

    NAYDOG Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    247
    [​IMG]
    these 2 being my bet examples I still have on my PC.
     
  48. Jeannot41

    Jeannot41 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    145
    I am at 120% and TAA too.
    By cons, I put maxi 40 FPS to avoid lags when crossing with AI ..
    But I am satisfied also with the rendering.

    I have a 1060 3Go and an I7 - 7700 3.6 Ghz and 16 GB of ram
     
  49. NAYDOG

    NAYDOG Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    247
    the only issue I have graphic wise now is the insane OHLE flicker when you are stationary - i really hope that gets addressed at some point.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  50. Corvan

    Corvan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    709
    Some of the fences at stations do that as well.
     

Share This Page