1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tsw: Spring Update Available Now!

Discussion in 'Dovetail Live Article Discussion' started by TrainSim-James, May 3, 2018.

  1. TrainSim-James

    TrainSim-James Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    [​IMG]

    In response to your important feedback, today we have released an update to Train Sim World on PC that addresses general and route-specific issues which you have raised with us.

    Please find full details HERE
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 11
  2. Daniel Bloch

    Daniel Bloch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    1,213
    "CSX Heavy Haul
    · Fixed an issue where the GP38-2 Auto Brake was not sitting in the ‘suppression’ notch"


    Wow that's everything you fixed on heavy haul? Still no fix for tunnel darkness and all the other bugs? And then posting a pic off an AC4400 for the spring update that i guess still has the buggy brakes?
    And still no PZB fix for RT? Seriously? Thats very sad...
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2018
    • Upvote Upvote x 4
  3. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    680
    It’s progress so credit where it’s due. I’m happy with that...keep it coming!!
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2018
    • Upvote Upvote x 7
  4. Daniel Bloch

    Daniel Bloch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    1,213
    hightower: allmost no fix for HH since half a year is progress for you?
     
  5. keksman

    keksman Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    205
    Nice!! Hope someone could report some of his experiences regarding the performance improvements back since Im currently not able to test it myself. Huge difference or rather small?
     
  6. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    680
    It’s a fair point but it’s probably the DLC I play least to be honest so I’m not particularly that bothered. I totally get why it would bother you though!
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  7. Challenger3985

    Challenger3985 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    119
    Seeing this update list means this may be an opportunity to see some better improvements to the core in the next add-on and afterward. Still, I don't blame them for not updating Heavy Haul as much as expected lately (They did say it was resource intensive). Let's just hope they really fixed the Safety System on the NEC this time. As well as other improvements and add-ons to the Xbox version in the near future.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  8. Daniel Bloch

    Daniel Bloch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    1,213
    hightower: its still my favorite route, sadly DTG seems to have forgoten it completly.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  9. Scorpion71

    Scorpion71 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    68
    Still no ATP for the HST? even though it apparently "just missed the release of GWE" back in September last year.

    Will we ever see it? :|
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  10. Daniel Bloch

    Daniel Bloch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    1,213
    First drive and first new bugs found with this new patch... dont you guys test drive your updates?

    So instead of fixing heavy haul with tunnel darkness you remove the tunnel darkness in NEC?
    There is a huge part where the tunnel darkness is now missing.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Here you can see where the dark part is missing and now the darkness beginns:
    [​IMG]
     
  11. pschlik

    pschlik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    1,515
    I completely forgot about ATP and the statements on it. Very interesting that we have ACSES now, which is really just a different way of doing exactly what ATP does. Surely it can’t be that outrageous to finish ATP now?
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  12. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    1,424
    It’s actually better because these tunnels are lit up in real life.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  13. Daniel Bloch

    Daniel Bloch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    1,213
    Anthony Pecoraro : read what i wrote... its only in one part bright... see the screenshots....

    DTG: locos and wagons in the waverly yard are still missing too.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2018
  14. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    1,424
    I see it now. They should bake the lighting in there like in Penn Station.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  15. londonmidland

    londonmidland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    888
    Not sure if this bug is from the update of whether it is pure coincidence but my 166 randomly applied the brakes with no AWS/DSD warning and I am unable to release them.

    Shortly after leaving Paddington, just short of Acton Mainline. TSW_Josh_1525378808_00.jpg
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2018
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  16. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    680
    I’ve been out but got a very quick go on a 166 service out of Reading to Paddington before I left. Exact same thing, no warnings of any type and it slams the brakes on about 2 minutes out of Reading. I thought it might just be the one service...please tell me this update hasn’t broken GWE. Pretty please.

    ps I couldn’t release them either.
     
  17. Corvan

    Corvan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    704
    I did a service in the Class 166 between Paddington and Old Oak, no issues whatsoever.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  18. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    680
    Good to hear. Worth reporting as a bug though I think, I’ll try tomorrow and see if it happens again.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2018
  19. Ian1991

    Ian1991 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    170
    No issues with the 166 for me, however still pretty lifeless.....train still sits in paddington for 20mins with doors closed as people gather around trains lol little basic realism tips....please look into it? If train doors are open.....ai passengers should be boarding it, apart from that havnt seen major changes but is smoother loading through the route good to see updates!
     
  20. londonmidland

    londonmidland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    888
    It seems to happen at random events and on random scenarios for me. I have just come to a halt outside Reading heading toward Paddington for no reason, with the brakes having been applied.

    No AWS/DSD warnings and clear aspects as well as under the line speed.

    It’s almost as if the TPWS has been placed/implemented in the wrong place and caused the train to apply its brakes automatically.
     
  21. Corvan

    Corvan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    704
    Can you put down the service numbers you're experiencing this on? I can give them a try over the weekend.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  22. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    680
    Just tried twice more and the 2P50 Oxford - Reading service is definitely broken...

    Just before you reach 60mph it throws the brakes on and the train comes to a halt. The fault board shows the WSP, Park Brake & general fault as being on although I can’t remember if that always was the case. After about 2/3 mins the brakes release & you can continue. Back up to about 50mph and it happens again.

    I’ve recorded a video of it happening but I refuse to sign up for a Google account to use YouTube. If anyone can recommend a good place to upload it I’ll do so.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2018
  23. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    680
    Just tried some randomly picked 166 services...

    1W00 Paddington - Hereford
    2P44 Oxford - Paddington
    2R31 Paddington - Reading

    All exactly the same thing. Videos of all 3.

    Congratulations DTG...you’ve comprehensively knackered the 166 service mode. Clearly, as is traditional, absolutely ZERO quality control.

    ps In addition, FWIW I’d say the FPS on GWE is actually slightly worse than it was before the update (it’s certainly no better or smoother), and I’m still getting the pausing and stuttering associated with brief but significant frame rate drops. Both things that were meant to have been improved.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2018
  24. TrainSim-Steve

    TrainSim-Steve Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    717
    Thanks everyone for the feedback, please keep it coming. I'm in the process of logging down the new issues posted in this thread so we can get them booked in with the Development Team.

    Best, Steve
     
  25. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    680
    I realise my ranting (bourne out of sheer frustration) isn’t particularly helpful or constructive. I’ll just say one last time that I hope you can see how infuriating it is for DTG to release either a patch or DLC and almost immediately game breaking bugs become apparent by just simply playing the game. This is normally followed by Jay, now you, noting down the bugs to be ‘passed back to the team’. To put it simply, something HAS to change...DTG can’t go on like this, for your sake and ours. I’ll do my best to leave the moaning at that.

    Are these videos of this emergency brake issue any use to you?
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2018
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  26. TrainSim-Steve

    TrainSim-Steve Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    717
    I do totally understand hightower, and I'll certainly relay your sentiments and feelings, and those of many others where it needs to be heard.

    The videos would be really useful, if you could share the links with me please, thank you.

    Best, Steve
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  27. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    680
    I don’t have a YouTube account, would Dropbox work for you?

    They’re just recorded using Radeon Relive and downscaled from QuadHD to 1080p but they’ll show you the issue well enough.

    Cheers and thanks.

    ps Thus far the signalling & ATC/ACSES on NEC is a vast improvement, although the cab signal aspect is only showing Clear. I don’t fully understand US signalling if I’m honest but I’m not sure that is right. Still, it is now useable at least.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2018
  28. TrainSim-Steve

    TrainSim-Steve Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    717
    Dropbox would be perfect, thanks hightower.

    Thanks also for the additional thoughts on the NEC route, I'll add the note on the cab signal aspect to my log.

    Many thanks, Steve
     
  29. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    680
    Just uploading them now, I’ll reply again with the link once they’re up so you get the notification.

    Cheers.
     
  30. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    680

    Hi Steve,

    Let me know if there's an issue,

    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/y4gmwairjafazvi/AAAn1wEqkyqOTB11pzoXFAIpa?dl=0

    On the 2P50 video if you watch it right through you’ll see the brakes eventually release, then it happening again less than a minute later.

    It also shows the weird lighting bug that you get going in and out of Reading station, where the cab goes pitch dark for no reason.

    Cheers,

    HT
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2018
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  31. TrainSim-Steve

    TrainSim-Steve Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    717
    Thanks Hightower, confirmed safely downloaded at this end. Thank you so much for all the time you've taken getting these together, they will be immensely useful to us.

    Many thanks, Steve
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  32. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    680
    No worries.

    FWIW, I ran an HST service from Reading - Paddington and that was fine, no random stops.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2018
  33. Jeannot41

    Jeannot41 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    137
    You do not try your games?
     
    • Downvote Downvote x 2
  34. Matthew Wilson

    Matthew Wilson Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    43
    Just to help out those trying to fault find what the issue light be, I have followed the steps hightower did for cab setup in his video of 2P50 and replicate the fault exactly. If I enable the AWS fuse and TPWS fucntions, but leave the DSD isolated, then I do not get the fault with the brake application.

    I hope this helps.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  35. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    680
    I wonder if it’s a sound bug then, the DSD is going off but we can’t hear it so it throws the brakes on. It would make sense.
     
  36. giogurto_grande

    giogurto_grande Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    69
    Yes, something seems to be wrong with DSD. I get the emergency braking thing only when DSD is enabled. With just AWS on or all safety systems off, everything seems to be OK. It might be that DSD alarm actually works but it isn't properly passed to the UI. So the player can't hear or see it (the yellow sign in the HUD doesn't light up too) and therefore turn it off in time, which causes the emergency brake to be applied.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2018
    • Upvote Upvote x 3
  37. Matthew Wilson

    Matthew Wilson Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    43
    I think it might be, I just reran under identical circumstances, but I was very rapidly pressing Q around the time the problem seems to occur and I was able to cruise on up to 70mph. So if anyone from DTG is reading, perhaps we are losing audio from the DSD/Vigilance for some reason and this is the cause of the issue.

    Thanks
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  38. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    635
    And this is how a support forum should work... Well done to all above who are diagnosing the issue :)
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 5
  39. Corvan

    Corvan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    704
    So, I ran service 2P50 twice between Reading and Twyford; the first time with DSD activated and the second with it deactivated.

    With it activated I got maybe a third of the way to Twyford before the brakes suddenly went into full application. Although I could move the throttle handle I wasn't able to release the brakes. The reverser handle refused to move. I also noticed the Brake Demand light on the TPWS panel had lit up.

    With DSD activated I was able to get to Twyford without any issues. DSD definitely appears to be the culprit. I wouldn't have caught that myself as I usually don't turn it on.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  40. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    680
    Yep, It’s definitely a bug with DSD itself or the audio for it. I’m doing that service right now with AWS and TPWSIS normal and DSD isolated and It works fine.

    On the downside, the train body shimmer when stationary is terrible, as it is in NEC.
     
  41. Kuu Lightwing

    Kuu Lightwing Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    131
    > We've not finished with Diesel-Electric!

    Sigh... Maybe some day...

    Also, ATC still doesn't seem to work for me. I do manage to apply brakes, see the Suppression light on, but it still applies emergency brake because it just feels like it. I appreciate the improved FPS and stuff, but this ATC thing make it really hard to enjoy. Maybe I'm doing something wrong?

    As for GWE bugs, I haven't tested in the new version yet, but there was some TPWS bug with HST right at the Reading platform where it applies brakes regardless of your speed or something. It's not DSD or AWS, as spamming "ack" button really doesn nothing.
     
  42. Shaun123

    Shaun123 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    17
    Can confirm the DSD issue on the class 166 as well. Played 2N40 - 13:27 out of Paddington, the timing of it which was a brake application, I felt should have been a DSD alarm.

    Turned ‘Safety Systems’ to off and had no issues, so clear that it’s definitely a DSD issue.
     
  43. keksman

    keksman Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    205
    How come nobody is talking about the performance improvements? I have a lot more Fps now with the new patch, around 15-20 more. 60+ Fps on Ultra feels sooo goood and the game looks absolutely great, thanks for the patch.
    Fps still drop when a train passes by and the mission "Down The Line" in GWE still kills my fps at the beginning until some trains leave the station but else it feels really good.

    Further, "Improvements to passenger navigation on station platforms" didnt fix them refusing to get in the train unluckily. I still have this issue:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  44. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    680
    To be honest, I’m not seeing any FPS improvement at all. NEC is better than GWE, HH is still the worst by far & haven’t tried RT yet.

    What resolution are you using? I’ve tried upping mine from QuadHD (which was giving 35-45fps on ultra) to 3200x1800 and although the FPS counter is showing 10-15 less the game is much much smoother, and looks even better. Go figure. In the higher resolution the train body shimmer when stationary pretty much goes away too.

    The not so good though is that I’m playing an HST service and have just loaded from a save. The brake line bug is there and as someone else also pointed out, the wheels on the HST power car don’t rotate. When I restart the scenario from fresh it all works fine which would suggest the save game feature is sadly still broken.

    Sadly in my experience as far as GWE is concerned, this update has broken way more than it’s fixed.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2018
  45. keksman

    keksman Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    205
    Im playing on 1920 (ultra) and the issue my system always had with TSW is the cpu usage. My cpu usage was and still is pretty low while playing Tsw and yet the game didnt run on straight 60Fps.
    The patch notes said: "Improvements to physics on multi-core CPUs for performance improvements"

    So Id guess thats the reason I got more out of those improvements in contrast to you. Increasing the resolution affects to my knowledge only the gpu usage
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  46. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    530
    I just ran TSW for the first time since this update downloaded, selected NEC, and looked at both a freight and a passenger session. The FPS counter showed rates much better than those I remember experiencing before in both cases. The number now hovers around 71, which is very much appreciated. I'll take a look at other routes as soon as possible (spring has arrived and I've returned to lawn & garden duties), but I expect the same kind of improvement there.

    Slight edit: while running CSX route yesterday, especially the excellent switching scenario that comes with the CSX GP40-2 add-on, I found that performance looks about the same: as I've reported before, FPS rates are rather "low", but that seldom affects the overall experience.
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2018
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  47. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    530
    I'm quite sure that they do, but the point here is that they are asking forum members to provide comments about the latest update. Good grief!
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  48. Daniel Bloch

    Daniel Bloch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    1,213
    DTG : instead of using this picture for your spring update
    [​IMG]

    You should use this
    [​IMG]

    Known issue since 2,5 years and still not fixed! And the brakes of the AC4400 are still buggy, FIX THAT!
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2018
    • Upvote Upvote x 3
    • Downvote Downvote x 2
  49. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    1,424
    In the update, they said that we are not finished with Diesel-Electrics, stay tuned in this month.
     
    • Downvote Downvote x 2
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  50. Mephrite

    Mephrite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    12
    1,5 gb update, mostly for NEC. Why do I need to download everything, even if I don't own every DLC? This is killing my monthly data transfer. Could it be done in future, that there are separate patches for main game and separate for DLCs?

    Because in couple years, when there will be dozens of DLC, you will need download huge patches, even if they do nothing for content that you own...
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1

Share This Page