1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Water/coal In Scenarios?

Discussion in 'Creation Centre' started by claggybob, Nov 22, 2020.

  1. claggybob

    claggybob New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi All,

    I haven't really driven steam in TS all that much, but have done a bit lately, and my dad's really getting into it. As subject -and it might be [/is probably] a stupid question- is there something that can be placed in a scenario -even if it's just a marker rather than an object with a visual presence- by which water and/or coal can be added?

    That is to say, is there a marker/object/whatever that might be placed (for example) on or near a platform in a modern route (which doesn't have troughs), that provides for water (and/or coal) in the tender to be replenished, so that long runs can be achieved?

    B
     
  2. JGRudnick

    JGRudnick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2019
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    2,882
    Some routes do have water filling and coaling stations for steam locomotives. Most diesel routes have fueling stations. Some routes also have loading stations for goods as well.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Reef

    Reef Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    543
    Fuel triggers can be placed below the surface to hide them if you so choose because the trigger functionality is dependent on the track link not the actual 3D model.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  4. claggybob

    claggybob New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks both for replies.

    Reef this sounds like what I was thinking about. Is a fuel trigger just a scenario instruction (e.g. the timetable list) or is there a marker/object which must also be placed? (i.e. something from the left-hand fly-out in the scenario editor.) Perhaps there's a link with info you could point me at? (So I don't keep pestering you!)

    B
     
  5. JGRudnick

    JGRudnick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2019
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    2,882
    Both actually. There are assets that must be placed that have markers. Then in the scenario designer, you have to add an instruction to perform the task at that marker.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  6. claggybob

    claggybob New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    5
    OK, that makes sense. So I assume I'm basically looking for a water tower and coal stage from a route which has them, and I can [if I understood the post above correctly] use the XYZ controls to place them 'underground' so as not to add strange/unlikely clutter to a (e.g.) platform when I'm making the scenario? (And pretend there's a tanker and a coal truck parked nearby.)

    Thanks,

    B
     

Share This Page