West Cornwall Local: Penzance - St. Austell & St Ives - The Definitive Feedback Thread

Discussion in 'PC Discussion' started by chieflongshin, Oct 15, 2021.

  1. RobSkip

    RobSkip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2018
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    455
    Moving brake/throttle or using AWS button won't cancel the alarm if it's already sounding, only the pedal will do that. It resets the timer if it isn't already sounding though.
     
  2. Cameron's Gaming

    Cameron's Gaming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2,423
    Likes Received:
    3,189
    Yes, and if you're braking for 60 seconds for some reason, it'll still go off.
     
  3. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    6,819
    Likes Received:
    6,344
    if(control-change-timer<>60){alarm=yes;}
    where control-change-timer doesn't check that all brakes are off
     
  4. ghawk2005

    ghawk2005 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2020
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    624
    Sorry I meant moving the brake lever should reset the 60 second cycle so the alarm shouldn’t even sound to begin with
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  5. martschuffing

    martschuffing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2020
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    487
    I'd be very surprised if Rivet actually took on board anything posted in this or other threads, they are only a small team, however, saying that Maik is a one or two-man band and he/they can smash a model technically compared to Rivet apparently.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. meridian#2659

    meridian#2659 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2021
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    833
    Well i dont want to point with the finger in rivets direction because they were not capable of creating a pro addon out of the class 150. Im sure they are good software programmers, and its just impossible to have in deepth knowlegde about trains to the same time.

    I just recommend rivet to work with somebody knows the train or has actually driven the real version of it of what they develope, so they get feedback before the product is released.

    Just trains has advanced addons selling them for 50 euro. Railjet for example. Im not expecting everything for free. Rivet could sell a class 150 Pro dlc, which includes advanced features, so people who like just to drive for fun have the version as it is now, and those who like the sim aspect get advanced features for additional 10 euros.

    I like many things rivet does, like the superb visual design of trains. Also the wcl route i actually enjoy. So i really hope they can create something nice out of the community feedback.

    The uk classic stock like the tvl 37, cl 20 , cl08 is heavy detailed, just dont get the point why rivet is happy with the state of the 150. Almost like a step back.

    Im sure for people who like advanced features on trains, the product of tsg will be interesting.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    1,893
    Likes Received:
    2,372
    What's tsg please? Is this a train sim world developer or train simulator?
     
  8. Cameron's Gaming

    Cameron's Gaming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2,423
    Likes Received:
    3,189
    Train-Sim Germany, making the G6, 420 and [something else] for TSW.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  9. martschuffing

    martschuffing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2020
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    487
    That'll be a BR232 Ludmilla too. I expect a lot from Maik, but if his TS offerings are anything to go by then we are in for a treat.
     
  10. junior hornet

    junior hornet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    1,545
    On a positive note, whilst the unit accelerates too fast, the same can’t be said of its deceleration, as my SPAD at St Erth today proves!
     
  11. warriorofrovac

    warriorofrovac New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Apologies if this has been mentioned before, but in the timetable mode is it possible to swap out the 101 with the 150 on Northern TransPennine/Tees Valley? I don't care much for the 101 so I don't play those routes often, but I probably would if I could use the 150 instead.
     
  12. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    1,893
    Likes Received:
    2,372
    I’d expect very little, they’re only just sorting a 1 year old dlc now in Arosa
     
  13. Cameron's Gaming

    Cameron's Gaming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2,423
    Likes Received:
    3,189
    That'd be a Dovetail job.

    It'd be very unlikely. The 150 is too new for Northern TransPennine, and wouldn't be area appropriate for Tees Valley (I don't thin they've ever ran up here - they're completely banned on a lot of lines in the area, so there'd be little point operating them here when there are trains like the pacer or 156 which can go everywhere).
     
  14. ghawk2005

    ghawk2005 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2020
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    624
    Why are the 150’s banned?
     
  15. Cameron's Gaming

    Cameron's Gaming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2,423
    Likes Received:
    3,189
    OK, I've looked it up again, and saying they're banned on a lot of lines is a bit much, however they are effectively banned from most routes up here because of how the service runs.

    It seems it's to do with clearance and the Tyne and Wear Metro, which would mean they can't be used on the Durham Coast Line, most Tyne Valley Line services (trains from the Durham Coast Line run straight onto the Tyne Valley Line in most cases) and most Esk Valley Line services (which were recently extended to Hexham). So theyd only be usable on the Tees Valley Line and the ECML locals in Northumberland - it'd be pointless allocating 150s to Geaton becuase 142s, 156s and 158s are all cleared for all routes from Heaton.

    Why the restriction specifically affects the 150 and not, say, the 142s which are of similar car length - don't know. Network Rail's track assessment 150, the Class 950, is restricted to 40mph between Monkwearmouth (presumably the old station, and not the new one at St Peter's) and East Boldon. Below is the only mention of it in the sectional appendix, the clearance idea has come from other people:
    upload_2021-11-30_23-9-54.png

    Bluntly, to run 150s on most services round here, you'd have to downgrade the service (from a connections perspective anyway) and then you could use it in most places. It's simply not worth it when other types can do the job well enough.
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2021
  16. rat7_mobile

    rat7_mobile Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2020
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    161
    Because the sound is wrong
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Dinosbacsi

    Dinosbacsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    2,532
    I don't have the route, but I've just seen this image on Rivet's facebook page. And I think those snow piles at the end of the platforms are a really great touch!
    [​IMG]

    We bash Rivet a lot because their add-ons always have many quality issues, but they have a good eye for small details like this, we've got to give them that. Like these snow piles, or the snowmen and chirstmas threes in the new Arose Line update.

    Even Matt himself had admitted that they've never used the snowpile feature yet on any route, even though it's implemented in the game. And yeah, other than the basic snow overlay, I've never seen anything special on their routes with winter setting either. It's a shame, because there are many hidden potantials in these, like clearly shown here by Rivet.

    Again, I don't have this route, as I'm not really interested in british stuff, but small touches like these are really nice!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. fanta1682002

    fanta1682002 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2019
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    506
    I have the route
     
  19. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    1,893
    Likes Received:
    2,372
    I don't want to be a dream killer but they are concrete blocks I believe which are painted white. I have the route and they are still there in the summer.
     
  20. ARuscoe

    ARuscoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    6,819
    Likes Received:
    6,344
    There may well be blocks, but I don't think they're that shape when "not snowed"

    I have had drives where those snow shapes are there with no other snow in sight...
     
  21. Dinosbacsi

    Dinosbacsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    2,532
    That's a bit lame, but I suppose a limitation of the game. If the snow setting is on, then these special snow models can appear, even if the temperature or lack of snowfall doesn't generate snow on the landscape.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  22. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    1,893
    Likes Received:
    2,372
    I might be wrong but I’m not convinced their snow piles. I don’t know why but I had it (and could well be wrong) these are just lumps of concrete painted white to mark end of a stations platform
     
  23. Dinosbacsi

    Dinosbacsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    2,532
    So they look like this even in non-snowy weather?
     
  24. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    1,893
    Likes Received:
    2,372
    I’m not entirely sure. I’m sure I’ve seen something like this before BUT Ive been looking, can’t see any similar pics so I’m questioning myself now
     
  25. Dinosbacsi

    Dinosbacsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    2,532
    Could someone who has the route screenshot this location is summer weather, please? lol
     
  26. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    1,893
    Likes Received:
    2,372
    I apologise, it's definitely a snow drift.

    Screenshot (52).png Screenshot (53).png
     
    • Like Like x 3
  27. Dinosbacsi

    Dinosbacsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    2,532
    Nice! Small details like this make the winter weather shine in the game, while otherwise it would be just white layered over everything. But unique assets and textures make a beautiful winter in the game that is worth driving in.
     
  28. londonmidland

    londonmidland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    2,325
    Likes Received:
    10,504
    A small nit-pick, but it would be nice to retain some snow on the platform after its been snowing, instead of it being totally clear.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  29. Dinosbacsi

    Dinosbacsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    2,532
    Yeah, that would also help a lot. Fortunatelly many routes do that quite well, though not this one.
     
  30. chieflongshin

    chieflongshin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    1,893
    Likes Received:
    2,372
    Which is odd as Matt picked up they are using a snow function DTG aren't on the last Arosa stream which was linked to drifts I believe.
     
  31. raretrack

    raretrack Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2020
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    168
    Played the Slow Ride scenario today and encountered this same issue at St Erth in the up direction. Colour-light distant was off (although I got an AWS horn instead of bell!), first two stop signals were off but the third (the platform starter) was on (as expected). So that's a wrong-side failure with that distant. For me, as a professional railwayman, that's immersion breaking.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  32. ghawk2005

    ghawk2005 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2020
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    624
    Cannot believe the 150 physics and errors have still not been fixed. What’s wrong with them?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  33. Mat_Jam_Ca

    Mat_Jam_Ca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Messages:
    3,819
    Likes Received:
    7,510
    I doubt they’ll ever be fixed. I’m certainly not expecting a fix.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  34. martschuffing

    martschuffing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2020
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    487
    Don't expect a sale then.
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page