What Does Optimisation Actually Involve?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Djb1990, Jan 31, 2021.

1. Djb1990

Djb1990 Active Member

To any game programmers out there or perhaps a member of the dovetail team, or anyone with the knowledge - I was just curious as to what the optimisation process actually involved.

Going from what the team have said about it in streams, it's a LOT of work, but how do you go about it? How do you make a tree or a signal use less memory? Do you need to completely rewrite the code? Or just change the art model?

Bear in mind, my programming knowledge extends to 'hello, world!', and I have basic html knowledge from my teenage MySpace days, but that's about it. So you'll have to explain it to me like I'm ten, if that's even possible ;P

• Like Like x 3
  2. Clumsy Pacer

Clumsy Pacer Well-Known Member

Optimisation basically means 'making a piece of software run more efficiently with the end goal of increasing performance for the end user, or making processing time shorter, thereby improving the user experience'.

This means if you have a simple calculator that just quadruples a given value (I'll call it 'x'), you could set it up to do x+x 4 times. That's not very efficient. You can optimise the program by making it instead do x*4 (* meaning multiply).

In the context of a game, optimisation could mean, for example, reducing the size of textures, or reducing the number of polygons that make up a particular scenery item, as well as more sophisticated methods of doing stuff (like above, but much more advanced). In extreme cases, it could mean simply having less scenery (maybe have the scenery away from the play area be less detailed, or stop it earlier so it doesn't stretch out so far). It is a fair bit of work, especially on a project as big as TSW, as they have to check it doesn't detract from the gameplay, and doesn't make the game look much worse, and (most importantly) doesn't break anything.

I hope that makes a bit of sense :)