1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wheel Roll Effect Corrupted With Post Process

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting & Support' started by Guerra, Apr 4, 2018.

  1. Guerra

    Guerra New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    21
    When i use any post process effect other than "low", train wheels look glithchy
    but i don't want to use low setting because game looks bad. how can i resolve this problem?

    TS2Prototype-Win64-Shipping 2018-04-03 22-57-13-75.jpg
     
  2. Nuts

    Nuts Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    37
    It was said during a live stream that this problem "is intended behavior".

    The only way to fix it is to disable post processing.

    It apparently wont ever be fixed because it's not seen as a bug by the dev team.
     
    • Downvote Downvote x 2
  3. Shukal

    Shukal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    320
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2018
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  4. Guerra

    Guerra New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    21
    intended behavior? it doesn't look like motion blur, it looks like patched pixels over on each other. it looks like these parts are censored

    this is so bad because there is much difference between this option is off and on
     
  5. Corvan

    Corvan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    615
    Okay, first of all this is not intended behaviour at all. Motion blur is a feature of the Unreal 4 engine, as Shukal said, and has the unfortunate side effect of making the wheels look awful. As Shukal also pointed out, this is not unique to TSW; it happens in Fernbus as well. So this is an engine level bug rather than a TSW specific bug.

    This is also the reason it hasn't been fixed yet. DTG added the option to switch motion blur off completely as an interim solution as they'll probably have to wait for the developers of UE4 to fix it on their end.
     
  6. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    362
    Sorry, but your "problem" reminds me of an old joke: Patient: "It hurts when I do this!" Doctor: "Well, don't do that."
    More seriously, I'm just curious about why you are focusing on the trucks. Shouldn't you be driving the train?
     
    • Downvote Downvote x 3
  7. Guerra

    Guerra New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    21
    Because the trip is long and i sometimes get bored and want to look its amazing graphics, almost real. I think it would be shame if don't do this. Beside driving , I also like to watch trains. And i always like good graphics on every sim i play.

    If it is the case, why did they bother by doing exteriors? new game engine? Stunning graphics?
    they just could have made the interiors :)
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  8. darkage

    darkage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    35
    That makes no sense at all tbh
     
  9. Guerra

    Guerra New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    21
    so if there is a bug in game, i should not look at it. and that makes sense?
     
  10. darkage

    darkage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    35
    In makes no sense that you said to make model the exterior (although I've been told you were being sarcastic, which I didn't seem to recognise as many people just like to complain nowadays and srarts getting hard to differentiate).

    Also you have given given solutions which you downvoted just for the sake of downvoting
     
  11. Guerra

    Guerra New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    21
    doing some more tests.
    with the option "pp is off", there is another weird graphical glitch. Just check the pics


    1.jpg 2.jpg 3.jpg 1.jpg 2.jpg 3.jpg
     
  12. pschlik

    pschlik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    That is caused by temporal anti aliasing. Change that setting from TAA to FXAA if you don't want the funky "ghosting" effect.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  13. Guerra

    Guerra New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    21
    thanks i will try it asap
     
  14. Guerra

    Guerra New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    21
    fxaa doesn't cause ghosting effect yeah.
    but it looks very shimmering and aliased. can we increase this option by using nvidia cp?
     
  15. KMAC

    KMAC New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    WAIT!!!! you mean we are meant to drive these things, I thought it was a scenery screenshot simulator.. :D
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  16. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    486
    I have a solution that works for me...others might hate it but I think it looks good. In fact, I would say better than it did originally, mainly because it’s not bugged. This solution also gets rid of the weird blurred cab you got in the Shed when turning your head. You got the same effect in North Eastern Corridor too.

    The caveat to this is that I quite like the motion blur as it think it helps with the sense of speed. If you don’t like it then simply turn it off permanently, by entering the following in Documents/My Games/TS2Prototype/Saved/Config/WindowsNoEditor/Engine.ini

    [/script/Engine.renderersettings]
    r.DefaultFeature.MotionBlur=False

    Having turned off motion blur using the method above, I then used ReShade (https://reshade.me/) which is something I use for TS2018. This allows you to add a number of post-processing effects for virtually no FPS hit. One of the effects is called MotionBlur, turn that on and the game looks exactly as it did previously, you get better FPS and you get rid of the messed up wheels and blurred cab textures.

    Win win.

    The same effect also makes TS2018 look way better as you can turn down the in game AA and boost your framerate pretty significantly. My AA is currently set to FXAA + 8 x MSAA with reshade MotionBlur on.

    Trust me.
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2018
    • Useful Useful x 4
  17. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    994
    Hmmm. Interesting.
     
  18. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    486
    It works, genuinely!
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  19. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    994
    I think I will give that a try!
     
  20. hightower

    hightower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    486
    Let me know if you have any issue getting it to work correctly.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  21. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    994
    I will. I won’t be at my good pc for a while. I’ll keep that in mind though.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  22. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    362
    I just want to make sure whether I've understood you correctly: by "doing some more tests" you mean that instead of operating or riding trains, you prefer searching for glitches? Sanctus bos! This could open up an entire new sales campaign for DTG -- oh, wait, I temporarily forgot that the market already exists, as prominently displayed continually in these forums. Pardon me, but bought a train simulator and prefer using it as such while ignoring hunting for prizes, points, or perceived faults.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 4
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  23. KMAC

    KMAC New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    You're bonkers LT, why the hell would you be trying to drive trains in a train simulator when there are texture glitches to be found.. you're mad I tell you ;)

    put this in your game.ini r.stopdrivingthebloodytrains = 1
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2018

Share This Page