1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Winter Trees In Trans Pennine Have Leaves

Discussion in 'Known Issues & Bug Reports' started by JT_29O5, Dec 21, 2018.

  1. JT_29O5

    JT_29O5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    12
    This is a known issue but I thought I would submit a formal bug report supported with a screenshot and actual location evidence. The RSN route appears to be the only one where winter conditions are properly simulated by the Speedtree models.

    I have heard a rumour it something to do with the fictional temperature, perhaps suggesting Germany is set in the game to be the only area that gets cold enough for the leaves to fall. Clearly that's not the case and either way it makes no sense as the Service Mode set up screen tells you the simulated temperature, and Transpennine is just as cold as RSN.

    So in this example I selected to spawn on foot in service mode on the TransPennine route. My environment pre-selects were:
    Winter Clear
    11.50am
    Deighton Station

    The stated temperature was 13.1 degrees.

    You can see from the screen shot that the trees look like they would in late summer / early autumn. They look like they are all deciduous trees to me so they should be displayed as bare trunk and branch.

    [​IMG]
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 3
  2. londonmidland

    londonmidland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    475
    This is a TSW core issue and affects all routes. It is not confined to the TPE route.

    I can think of two issues which may be causing the strange behaviour:
    1.) For whatever reason, the ‘winter/autumn/spring tree's aren’t activating depending on season.
    2.) Perhaps DTG have only the ‘summer’ tree variant (though I think Speedtree comes with all variants by default?)
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  3. SamYeager270

    SamYeager270 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    248
    So the question is what did DTG do on RSN to get trees without leaves that they didn't do on TPE?
     
  4. Railfan722

    Railfan722 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    170
    If you look at that picture a bit longer, is seems to get stranger still - it seems like a few of the trees in the far left and the one on the right have the correct appearance like on RSN. I would go out on a limb here and say most routes have the feature, as the NEC route had barren trees in one of the GP38-2 tutorials. Would you mind doing the same experiment with the 'snow level' turned up? I'd be curious to see that.
     
  5. Pookeyhead

    Pookeyhead Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    34
    It's the same in the entire game. Kind of spoils it for me. In Winter, I choose lots of snow, as it hides this annoying problem to some extent.

    It looks like late summer.

    Here's a random spawn in Acton Yard in Great Western Express.

    Also... everyone seems to drive a red, or blue 6 series BMW :)
     

    Attached Files:

  6. SamYeager270

    SamYeager270 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    248
    It's just a reflection of the poor pay the staff receive. ;)
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  7. Daniel Bloch

    Daniel Bloch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    995
    It only has been fixed in RSN, this bug is since the GWE release.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  8. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    839
    The problem does not exist on RSN, however autumn doesn’t work on RSN, and spring doesn’t work anywhere.
     
  9. Pookeyhead

    Pookeyhead Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    34
    "
    Thank you for contacting us regarding Train Sim World.

    We are aware of the current limitation of the tree models within the game and are hoping to improve the model's functionality in future versions."


    It appears that no fix will be forthcoming.
     
  10. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    839
    Not necessarily.
     
  11. Pookeyhead

    Pookeyhead Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    34
    I hope you're correct. In the meantime, I only play Winter with snow, as it hides the problem to some extent. Ot just really bugs me that you can't have that bare branched winter look.
     

Share This Page