1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PC Dynamic Brake Not Working

Discussion in 'Technical Reports' started by zrinkoklupica, Mar 5, 2021.

  1. zrinkoklupica

    zrinkoklupica New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    9
    Dynamic brake not working on gp38 and sd40 on Sand patch grade
     
    • Like Like x 9
  2. sequencer2k16

    sequencer2k16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    512
    T̶h̶e̶ ̶d̶y̶n̶a̶m̶i̶c̶ ̶b̶r̶a̶k̶e̶ ̶w̶o̶r̶k̶s̶ ̶f̶i̶n̶e̶,̶ ̶i̶t̶ ̶j̶u̶s̶t̶ ̶t̶a̶k̶e̶s̶ ̶t̶i̶m̶e̶ ̶u̶n̶t̶i̶l̶ ̶i̶t̶ ̶i̶s̶ ̶r̶e̶a̶d̶y̶ ̶f̶o̶r̶ ̶u̶s̶e̶ ̶a̶n̶d̶ ̶s̶t̶a̶r̶t̶s̶ ̶b̶r̶a̶k̶i̶n̶g̶.̶
    I̶ ̶r̶e̶c̶o̶m̶m̶e̶n̶d̶ ̶y̶o̶u̶ ̶w̶a̶t̶c̶h̶ ̶a̶ ̶f̶e̶w̶ ̶v̶i̶d̶e̶o̶s̶ ̶a̶b̶o̶u̶t̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶d̶y̶n̶a̶m̶i̶c̶ ̶b̶r̶a̶k̶e̶ ̶o̶n̶ ̶Y̶o̶u̶t̶u̶b̶e̶.̶

    Edit:
    He is right, the dynamic brakes on GP38 and SD40 are broken now.
    This must be related to the last update (2nd March).
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2021
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    3,077
    Right, the dynamic brakes work just fine on all the SPG locos except the AC4400CW. Make sure the throttle is idle for about 30-60 seconds, then set up and engage the dynamic brake. Some use of the auto brake might be needed on steeper downgrades.
     
  4. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    4,833
    Likes Received:
    6,928
    Note also the warning plaque on the control stand: CAUTION - DO NOT MOVE DYNAMIC BRAKE TO SET/UP UNTIL THROTTLE HAS BEEN IN IDLE FOR 10 SECONDS

    What this really means is to wait until the ammeter registers zero amps, which usually takes ~10 seconds. And as said above, there is still an appreciable delay before the braking kicks in (ammeter needle moves into the yellow)
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2021
  5. zrinkoklupica

    zrinkoklupica New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    9
    I now all of that and I try all but again same problem.
     
  6. Vinnie

    Vinnie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    335
    He's right, it's broken now
     
    • Like Like x 4
  7. met_cui98

    met_cui98 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2019
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    39
    I can confirm that dynamic brakes on the GP38 no longer work on Xbox, either.
     
  8. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    4,833
    Likes Received:
    6,928
    Holy smoke, you are right! Just tried a double-SD40 service, and the DB did nothing!

    So much for "complete patch notes." The 3/2 patch notes say nothing whatsoever about messing with dynamic braking.
     
  9. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    4,833
    Likes Received:
    6,928
    Did some testing: this bug, which just appeared, apparently affects EMD diesels, specifically. The SD40, the GP38 (both CSX and UP versions), and the F40PH. It does not affect the AC4400, which behaves just like it always did; and it doesn't affect German locos with separate DB controls like the BR 185.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2021
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Vinnie

    Vinnie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    335
    "Did some testing: this bug, which just appeared, apparently affects EMD diesels, specifically. The SD40, the GP38 (both CSX and UP versions), and the F40PH"

    DTG Natster, hello, could you please pass to the team about this issue? it's affecting multiple locos
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  11. GuitarMan

    GuitarMan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2020
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    520
    Could this be related to the pin they enabled for MU workings on US locos? (Meaning it broke the simugraph?) - Just a hypothesis of course...
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. hawks5896

    hawks5896 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2021
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    11
    On the Sand Patch Grade the only brakes that would stop the train in "Cumberland Charge" was putting the brakes in emergency

    I did so twice the downgrade and used the train brakes at 100% most of the way down and managed a silver medal. Every time the train approached 45=50 mph (Twice) I went into emergency and started again once stopped

    Not very realistic I'm afraid. Moving the dynamic lever from 1 to 8 had no appreciable effect and topped out at 127 amps in notch 8 after 2 minutes. I followed the setup routine and bailed off the independent brake all to no avail.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. stujoy

    stujoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2019
    Messages:
    4,029
    Likes Received:
    9,982
    That could be it. The locos don’t like the new pin. There was a reason that pesky pin was missing.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    4,833
    Likes Received:
    6,928
    I have a notion that they did something in the core in preparation for Clinchfield and its vintage EMDs, and that may be at the bottom of it.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  15. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    3,077
    I hope this is fixed pronto, otherwise how can we continue playing SPG? I fear that we will get the usual response.... "passed on.....can't give you a date...." etc. Oh, woe is me, I may have to run some other routes!:) (Actually, I played some HMA yesterday and quite enjoyed it.). But, seriously, this needs to be dealt with and soon.
     
  16. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    4,833
    Likes Received:
    6,928
    Well, you can still shunt......

    Seriously, since I believe this was caused by the Core team, it won't be devolved to Adam and his endless to-do list.

    It does make Peninsula Corridor completely useless to me, since the UP stuff is all that I find interesting on that route.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2021
  17. stujoy

    stujoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2019
    Messages:
    4,029
    Likes Received:
    9,982
    I tried the GP38 on SPG on PS4. Dynamic brake does not increase beyond the set-up stage. Broken indeed, wanted to see it myself, and now I have.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    3,077
    Yes, tried it myself on PC and the dynamic brakes do not work at all on the GP38 and SD40 locomotives. Should we press the panic button?
     
  19. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    4,833
    Likes Received:
    6,928
    Panic if you want to play PC, or any SPG service that isn't shunting.
     
  20. stujoy

    stujoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2019
    Messages:
    4,029
    Likes Received:
    9,982
    Do we think this has been picked up by DTG yet? It had slipped quite far down the list of technical reports (the gamble of reports posted at the weekend).

    The seat height in the Class 465 got a reply from a CM but this major problem hasn’t as yet. I’m reluctant to tag a member of staff.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  21. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    3,077
    Got to believe that at least one of the CM's has read this thread; it would be nice to see some kind of acknowledgment of the problem. It is a major roadblock for anyone who plays Sand Patch, Peninsula Corridor or even, potentially, Clinchfield.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  22. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    4,833
    Likes Received:
    6,928
    Filed a ticket as soon as it showed up.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  23. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    3,077
    Started a new thread on the PC forum just in case. I'm not sure anyone's looking in here.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  24. sequencer2k16

    sequencer2k16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    512
    It seems that today's patch (9th March) has fixed the dynamic brakes of the GP38 and SD40.
    I haven't tested the F40 yet but I assume that its dynamic brakes will also work again.
     
  25. stujoy

    stujoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2019
    Messages:
    4,029
    Likes Received:
    9,982
    That’s odd. I haven’t downloaded the patch yet but when I do I’ll give it a go. Adam may talk about it in the roadmap stream tonight, although it could be something he wasn’t aware of that another team broke and then sneaked a fix in for the patch.
     
  26. sequencer2k16

    sequencer2k16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    512
    Just tested the SFJ locos, UP GP38 and F40 are still broken, only the CSX locos are working again.
     
  27. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    4,833
    Likes Received:
    6,928
    Well at least Sand Patch is playable again. Either Adam didn't get the memo about PC, or it's a lower priority than SPG because it's DLC rather than base game.

    Still, I would have thought the problem was not loco-specific.

    PS- we got our custom liveries back!
     
  28. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    3,077
    I wondered about this when I saw the update which mentioned "pin 19". Is this related to the dynamic brake problem? Well, either way, if the problem is solved, incidentally or otherwise, it's cause for partial celebration. Penn Corridor still broken though? That is not good. I too thought this involved all EMD locomotives.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2021
  29. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    3,077
    I think this is very likely, since you only replied to him this morning. He would not have had time to address the problem.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  30. SHINO BAZ

    SHINO BAZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    949
    Yes the F40 still on the dynobroke list.funny the up 38 would be,unless the up38 and the csx 38 are some how totally different.What about the CN 38?
     
  31. sequencer2k16

    sequencer2k16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    512
    CN GP38 has no dynamic brakes. ;)
     
  32. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    4,833
    Likes Received:
    6,928
    OK, this is weird- in the stream Adam said he hadn't got to it yet; it's as if todays patch fixed it (for SPG) by accident.

    BUT- please take note DTGXXXX who reads this - The F40PH and the UP GP38 are still broken.
     
  33. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    4,833
    Likes Received:
    6,928
    Basically, they are. Two completely different models. As far as the game software is concerned, they are as different as the SD40-2 is from the Class 66
     
  34. stujoy

    stujoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2019
    Messages:
    4,029
    Likes Received:
    9,982
    Yes, it’s odd that. There must be something going on in core updates that’s affecting it. It could be the pins that are getting added to the cables. If lots of trains use those cables but differently, then they will react differently to them being changed. It’s the only thing I can think of because the routes and locos aren’t actually getting updates.
     
  35. Lamplight

    Lamplight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    2,243
    Just want to officially report that it still seems broken for me. I tried Q276 with an SD40-2 YN3B as lead and an SD40-2 YN2 as trail. The dynamic brakes produced no more than 16 Amps at 20 mph. I‘m playing on a basic PS4.
     
  36. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    4,833
    Likes Received:
    6,928
    How very strange. I just ran N542B with two GP-38s (on PC) and the dynamics worked great, 800-820 amps all the way down.
     
  37. Lamplight

    Lamplight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    2,243
    I just tried out a YN2 SD40-2 on the same service and then both (YN2 and YN3B) GP38-2s on Q352. Dynamics are not working on any of them. It would seem then, then, that something platform specific is going on here.
     
  38. sequencer2k16

    sequencer2k16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    512
    This is really strange.
    I'm running Q276 with two SD40 right now because i was curious, no issues on PC.
    I will test again as soon as it goes downhill but I don't think it makes any difference.
    20210309225237_1.jpg
     
  39. stujoy

    stujoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2019
    Messages:
    4,029
    Likes Received:
    9,982
    Still broken for me on PS4. Amps not increasing - SD-40s on Q008
     
    • Like Like x 1
  40. Lamplight

    Lamplight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    2,243
    • Like Like x 2
  41. hawks5896

    hawks5896 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2021
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    11
    Are the brakes still broken on the X Box Platform?
     
  42. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    3,077
    This is all very confusing. I'm going to run a thorough check on all the EMD locos on PC just to satisfy my curiosity. I heard on the stream that they're still tinkering with Clinchfield, whether it's the scenery or the locos who knows, but this could all get very messy.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  43. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    3,077
    I can confirm that the dynamic brakes work fine on the SD40-2 and GP38 but not on the C40-8W on SPG. On Penn Corridor, they do not work on either the F40PH or the GP38. This is on PC. I guess we have to keep pushing for a solution until there is a complete fix.

    Edit: I'll recheck the C40-8W, because it's a GE like the AC4400CW which works imperfectly as usual. I thought only EMD was affected.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2021
  44. solicitr

    solicitr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    4,833
    Likes Received:
    6,928
    JGRudnick made an interesting observation:

    So that's what all this talk about US Standard 27-pin connectors is- they need to add functionality for Clinchfield's ancient gear, and that might just have inadvertently screwed something up for existing locos. Hmmm.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  45. Lamplight

    Lamplight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    2,243
    If the C40 doesn‘t work on PC, that‘d be really odd. I did a full run in one during yesterday‘s stream and the dynamics worked perfectly (on basic PS4).
     
  46. sequencer2k16

    sequencer2k16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    512
    The C40 was never affected on PC, neither by 2nd March patch nor by yesterday's patch.
    I drive it a lot, I would have noticed immediately.
    20210310101628_1.jpg
     
  47. Lamplight

    Lamplight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    2,243
    I just tested SFJ to get PS4 feedback on that. The UP GP38-2 doesn’t work. Tested on UP3. The F40‘s dynamic brakes don‘t work. Tested on 142. But interestingly enough, the F40‘s blended brakes did work. The dynamics worked together with the auto brake as they should.

    I‘m updating my other thread accordingly.
     
  48. Crosstie

    Crosstie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    3,077
    Yes, my mistake, the dynamic brake on the C40-8W is working normally. So SPG seems to be fine, but, last I checked, the Penn Corridor EMD locos were problematic. This is all on PC. It appears that consoles are having different problems. Does anyone know why this would be?
     
  49. Ensor42

    Ensor42 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    248
    Yes, or at least they are for me. GP38 manifest run on SPG today - dynamic brakes wouldn't go higher in amps than Setup.
     
  50. Nick Y

    Nick Y Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2020
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    865
    Ok, I'm on PS4 but I can't seem to get the dynamic brakes to actually work on the SD40.
    I throttle back to idle, leave it and the amps build back up but when I turn on the dynamic brakes, it doesn't appear to do anything even in notch 8.
    I'm having to use the automatic brake even on gentle down grades.
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page