1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ruhr Sieg Pulling Logs With The 143 In The Dark ....

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Jack O'Track, Nov 13, 2019.

  1. Jack O'Track

    Jack O'Track Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2019
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    35
    Ruhr Sieg Nord; And i Ilike the 143 loc and freight hauling ...

    BUT WHY in the complete dark, with even head lights barely enlightening my path. Besides the the loc seems to have a bug, cannot move it with wagons attached. Any tips welcome !

    Can it be that Auxiliary control has to do with it? Changing cabs, BR 143 drivers manual; this doesn't work:

    BR 143 manual.png
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2019
  2. Trenomarcus

    Trenomarcus Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    126
    No the lights on few locos are simply broken, do not project anything.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  3. Jack O'Track

    Jack O'Track Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2019
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    35
    I give up, money back LoL.
     
  4. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    1,704
    European trains do not have really bright headlights. They are mostly meant for the train to be seen.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
    • Downvote Downvote x 2
  5. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    1,704
    Did you put the brake into the “off” position?
     
  6. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    1,704
    The old British locomotives are supposed to be that way.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  7. Jeannot41

    Jeannot41 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    150
    Anthony, you run after the number of messages
     
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  8. theorganist

    theorganist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2018
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    699
    You down vote everytime he posts! Bit odd to be honest!
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 2
  9. Trenomarcus

    Trenomarcus Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    126
    A light does project on the surroundings, always, even a candle does. Few locos are just bugged. 143 in RSN is one example, the 185.2 is another one. As I've reported here, an unrelated bug made my game showing two apparently identical versions of the 185.2, but one had working lights (that cast on the ground), the other one had bugged lights. I think the bugged one is from MSB.

    Generally, my tests have shown evidence that's a problem related to the "cone of view" around the user or, more specifically, around the camera center. Everything was documented in the "fix the lighting issue" thread in the bug report section many months ago.
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2019
  10. Trenomarcus

    Trenomarcus Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    126
  11. Jack O'Track

    Jack O'Track Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2019
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    35
    Hi Anthony, I checked and double checked. Sometimes i found that (with (British locs?) you have to throttle to zero, release trainbrake, and only after that you can throttle up again. Some times even mess with the reverser. Not here.

    PS as i stated elsewhere: TSW 2020 is graphically quite an accomplishment, especially compared to TS 2020..
    But i really hate these Tombraider like puzzles as with Spessart, where i found accidentally that you have to take a virtual walk to another train 3km ahead and press buttons over some "drivers" shoulder to move it, and the "walk" back you your train, just to obtain a green light.

    With Tombraider, i only tried the first 2 versions years ago, when you buy it you know it's a puzzling game, and one needs cheatcode lists to get to the end.

    TSW i did not buy for that, and for a rookie it's hard to get used to all these hidden trick's, with no on screen guide, or (worse even) manual notes, to find these puzzle pieces.

    I get the feel that the game developers try to do their best for diehard railway fans in TSW, but bypass rookie players like me who just like trains in general and the nice game scenery..

    With TS 2020 the HUD is quite ' childish' , but all needed functions are present with a simplified pushbutton. Not a puzzle LoL.

    I just tried some NY commuter train, same thing, stuck at the first station. Again the Big Q: a bug or a deliberate puzzle?

    There should be a "GOD-mode" (select-able) HUD in TSW.
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2019
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  12. thearkerportian

    thearkerportian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    1,014
    Likes Received:
    1,598
    Old British locos, such as the DB BR 143?
     
  13. Trenomarcus

    Trenomarcus Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    126
    Don't waste your time, he already made jokes about our replies in the DTG discord club.
     
  14. thearkerportian

    thearkerportian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    1,014
    Likes Received:
    1,598
    Maybe he thinks DB means "Dang British!" and truth be told, the DB BR 143 is so ugly it might well be. :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2019
  15. Anthony Pecoraro

    Anthony Pecoraro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    1,704
    The 143’s headlights do cast light. You can see that when in tunnels and passing signs.
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  16. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    756
    British train drivers eat more carrots?
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
    • Downvote Downvote x 1
  17. hyperlord

    hyperlord Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2019
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    106
    Maybe your brighness is too dialed down in your monitor settings? I can't acknowledge that the lights don't illuminate the environment ...
     
  18. Jack O'Track

    Jack O'Track Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2019
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    35
    Meant ALSO for british locs. You an anti--brexiteer?

    As, as soon as i can move it at all i'll check the tunnel thing ...

    PS eating carrots, with cleaned glasses, and adjusting monitors. But TS 2020 looks fine, also in tunnels, the same loc is there too BTW
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2019
  19. Trenomarcus

    Trenomarcus Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    126
    A "spot the bug" challenge for you:
    20191115125344_1.jpg 20191115125347_1.jpg 20191115125628_1.jpg 20191115125631_1.jpg
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  20. Trenomarcus

    Trenomarcus Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    126
    "spot the bug" challenge, US edition:
    20191115114432_1.jpg 20191115114439_1.jpg 20191115114446_1.jpg 20191115114504_1.jpg
    Bonus challenge "where is my station?"
    20191115125025_1.jpg
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  21. Jack O'Track

    Jack O'Track Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2019
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    35
    Bugged by Bugs it seems .... remedy for the devs?

    flitsspuit.jpeg
     
  22. Jack O'Track

    Jack O'Track Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2019
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    35
    Basically i solved it in the dark, that Ruhr Sieg logging wood wagons 143 job, basically not seeing the nice graphics i bought TSW for . .... couldn't resist though.

    What it boils down to is with switching cabs: each time reverser to neutral fist, and train brake off, before you try to run the darn 143 from the other end cab. And a little patience with each new controller setting.

    Hooking up works best using the drivers brake, or you'll break your nose figure of speech bumping into the wagons. Time out for Harry then.

    IMO not really fun to do, this darn cab changing, with too many handling. But i like the 143 still. Bugs were on me i think. BTW just tried this loc in TS 2020, it's far easier there to get this143 going.I MO the HUD in TS 2020 is far better.
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2019
  23. Jack O'Track

    Jack O'Track Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2019
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    35
    I'll upvote Athony any time, he helped me out quite a few times ...;)
     
    • Upvote Upvote x 1
  24. LastTrainToClarksville

    LastTrainToClarksville Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    756
    Re: switching cabs in the BR Class 31: The Master Key must be turned off in the cab you are leaving -- I don't think that anyone has mentioned that in this thread, but it has become very muddled and I'm not going to look through it again. The manual also states: "All cab access doors and windows are closed, and interior lights are switched off when leaving the cab."
     

Share This Page